We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I wont go on about this hotel but its not 5 star not even Egyptian 5 star.
Rooms tired and dirty shower curtains (5 star)
Restaurants very poor shut at 2100 (5 star )
Soft plastic drinks glasses round pool areas they collapse when you pick them up ( 5 star )
Not a very good holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear guest
The team at Makadi Palace is sorry to read you were not able to find a pleasant beach resort experience this holiday. We would look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future and show the true beauty and enjoyment of a Red Sea beach holiday. We feel confident that you will enjoy the experience in total. Please except our commitment to your satisfaction. We appreciate all comments and strive to exceed all expectations.
Best Regards
Makadi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
There are newer reviews for The Makadi Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel was recommended to me by a friend, we were not disappointed! We wanted a complete break, doing nothing, so eschewed all the trips etc and simply lazed by the pool or sea all day long.

Good food, good choice of food, very friendly, helpful and patient staff, plenty of space, rooms a little dated (but not an issue) and a bed big enough to get lost in. TVs are CRT, so no HDMI inputs, take a jack plug lead if you want to plug into them.

3 hotels on one complex, freedom to roam between them, no security issues at all. We went all inclusive, well worth it.

Will definitely be returning, as the friend has done!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nameattempt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was my first all inclusive holiday and my first package holiday for 10 years so I was slightly apprehensive . The resort itself is an oasis of greenery with amazingly kept grounds and only a 5 min swim to great snorkelling. Also has a great long safe seaside promenade , but be warned sometimes this has a slight cool evening breeze in February . The food was fantastic for the volumes they serve especially the thai restaurant for dinner (6 more cuisine options all good)which gives you a real quality evening dinning service which is free if you stick to the plentiful inclusive options . The inclusive rose wine is great and all other free drink options are of a high standard , mine being gin tonic and brandy . The room is showing signs of age but ours had a fantastic balcony and was spotlessly clean with new towels and sheets daily . Hotel was full but we never experienced overcrowding , actually the complete opposite as we had the relaxing 11 night winter sunshine break we intended . Anna from hotel relations is very efficient and extremely helpful and situated next to the reception if you need any help .We went on the snorkeling trip £30 each which was very good but the coral and fish near the hotel is very good anyway. We tipped after meals in US dollars (60p) either 1 or 2 depending on service as English coins are of no use to the waiters obviously optional .

Room Tip: We had room 3270 but I believe all rooms have good balconies and of same standard . We tipped 1 US d...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cairnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.


We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace and you enjoyed a fantastic sunshine winter break with us :-)

Thank you for your kind words for our guest relation member. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Okay the first thing I can report is that the rooms as reported before are quite tired and furniture is a bit dated. However the staff I have to say are excellent nothing is to much trouble, infact they are paranoid that you will make a complaint to reception!! We had some issues with the restaurant and our room but without going into it we had a meeting with ADEL ABDEL HAMEED the front office manager who was absolutely fantastic he solved all our issues. Please contact him before you travel he is an absolute diamond and really sincere about solving any problems.email at fo.palce@redseahotels.com

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentCovgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

Thank you for your kind words for one member of Makadi Palace management team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have two different recommendations for anyone thinking of visiting the Makadi Palace, depending on whether you like using the pools/sea or not.
If you are water based then I could not recommend the Palace. The pools, though beautiful are icy cold, much colder than the sea. There is no beach here that leads into the sea. Some sort of sea defence has been built so the beach ends at a foot high wall with large stones at the base. There are several sets of steps to allow you into the water. Once in the sea you have to walk over bumpy, rocky, ground until you reach something more comfortable.
We tried the sea once and then every other day walked the 3 minutes down the promenade to the beach outside the Fort Arabesque. The beach here is lovely and the walk into the sea, pleasant.
If you are not going to use the water then I would highly recommend the hotel. The architecture is stunning, the food, at mealtimes is plentiful and tasty. The AI drinks are fine in the bars and restaurants (the wine is the best I have tried on any AI). The AI drinks on the beach are a joke. Tiny cups of pepsi or beer, that are offered very occasionally. There is not much of a snack service and what there is, is sullied by birds flocking all over the bread products.
The rooms are large and comfortable. Maybe they could do with a bit of refurbishment but they were fine for me and better than many I have stayed in.
There is some entertainment at night, starting at 9pm. If you want to view the shows I would recommend getting to the Joker bar early to get a seat
What I missed most was somewhere light and airy, but protected from the elements, where we could play cards or scrabble. The only place that is suitable was the lobby bar and you have to pay for all drinks there. Whilst we were there at the end of Feb there were several very windy days that meant we were cold but there was no where for us to sit and enjoy a drink.
When we arrived there was the standard, sit and have a drink, check-in and then the bags get taken to your rooms. As we arrived with about 20 other people this took an age and our bags got to our room 1.5 hours after we did. Annoying, especially as the porter who brought our bags had a face like a smacked bum when we gave him our one dollar tip.
The staff were variable. Some friendly some not so.
Weather in Feb: Everyday the weather was hot from 8am to 3pm. After that it got chilly

Room Tip: We asked for a high room. You get good views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTCRAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We returned from the Makadi Palace hotel on 21 Feb after a fantastic week there. The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable holiday, they were all extremely polite, helpful and good fun. The hotel, grounds and facilities were excellent as was the weather and the snorkelling was outstanding. Some of the restaurants were better than others and we did experience problems trying to book some but that said there was plenty of choice. Our suite was very spacious and clean, the bathroom could do with a bit of a refurb, it was a bit tired but all very functional, clean and well equipped. Morad, who looked after our room went out of his way to leave a different type of towel sculpture to amaze us each day. From crocodiles to monkeys, flowers with real petals - boats on waves - absolutely amazing. Even the beach staff were fantastic. We would definitely return, excellent value for money and a really relaxing and enjoyable time was had by the 5 of us (included 2 teenagers - 18 and 16)in our party Thank you to all the staff at the Makadi - a really memorable holiday.

The Red Sea holiday staff were all very experienced, informative and good fun. It's unusual to go on an excursion with such knowledgeable guides, able to explain about culture, history, sea-life. What else can we say, except - when can we go back?

Room Tip: If you're visiting with young children and don't want to be affected by music later in the e...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greggling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our Room attendant. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just had the most amazing week at Makadi Palace for the third time.
We have been to Egypt 12 times but go back to the Palace because it is unbeatable.
All the staff from managers, bar staff, housekeeping and restaurant staff were wonderful.
The food is delicious, the grounds are beautiful and the pools glorious.
I cannot fault this complex and we are planning number 4 visit around Oct/Nov.

Room Tip: I prefer the high rooms because then at night you can see just how beautiful the complex is.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,
Makadi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: £70 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing