We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“makadi palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Makadi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“makadi palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Makadi Palace and again was wonderfull beautifull gardens and pool areas excellent resturants and good choice of food .What makes this hotel stand out is the amazing staff through out the hotel nothing is too much trouble A speccial mention to the Guest Relations Amanda Anna and Victoria they do a fantastic job extremly professional ,caring and make everyone feel so welcome a credit to the makadi palace we cant wait to return Thankyou

Room Tip: pool view room are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarieSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our guest relation team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    586
    199
    83
    42
See reviews for
533
1,103
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Can you please help me who I can contact, I need some information on this hotel even though I have been there twice and to the Spa twice, this time I am planning on going in May and wanted to know if the junior suites sleep 2 adults a 16 ear old and a 9 yr od as the 16 yr old is classed as an adult, and what is the dining policy on the Palace can you eat at some of the restaurants in the other hotels too, I was at the spa in October and wanted to now about the Sunwing, What I got in October from the sunwing said you can eat at tai gardens, what dine around policy is there when you stay there, can you eat at the palace at all and can you get drinks at the palace during the day if you wanted to sit by the palaces pool, I love all the hotels and also do you have an upgrade package so you can eat and drink anywhere apart from the spa as I will have my children with me.

thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace before and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you are planning to visit Makadi Palace soon.

Kindly please send me all your questions and wishes to this email address; fo.palace@redseahotels.com and i will be happy answering you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a fantastic week at this great hotel, however, parts of it are a bit dated and in need of upgrading. More 4 star than 5.

The room was spacious, very clean and the bed is enormous with towels and bedding changed regularly. Only problem with the room is the air con, it was close to useless. It was between 80 and 90 degrees when we were there and you needed a coat or cardigan for the night but the bedroom stayed very warm. We had the air con on its coldest setting but it didn’t make much difference. Dread to think what the rooms would be like at the height of summer!

Food is very good quality and there is something for everyone, but not everything is all inclusive. It is clear on the menu what the supplement is but this is supposed to be an AI hotel.

There are 2 buffet restaurants on site, The Dome & Discovery and 2 seated restaurants, the Thai and Botanical Garden. The seated ones must be booked in advance and you book them direct with the restaurant after 3pm on any day.

The other 5 in the Mall are, Italian, Chinese, French, Egyptian & Indian and also have to be booked in advance in the most unfair system I have ever come across. There is a guy who sits at a desk near reception from 3.30 to 5.00 and people start queuing for this around 2.45pm. You can only make a reservation for that evening or the following so if you pop up a bit later all the restaurants are full.

We only got into 1 restaurant in the whole week (Chinese, it was very good) and that’s because we queued for 25 minutes. He also asks you to pop back in an hour if you are booking for the following night but when you do they are all inevitably full!

The menus are limited for AI but there is plenty of choice unless of course you want to pay the supplement.

Drinks and most cocktails are covered by the AI but you guessed it, if you want a Mojito, there is a supplement.

The staff are lovely and work very hard and the pool attendants bring your drinks to your sun lounger for you. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and there is an excellent promenade at the beach where you can enjoy a stroll.

All in all a great hotel and I would go back and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at the makadi palace and can't recommend it enough. It's spotlessly clean and the hotel and extensive grounds were immaculate. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool too. If you want a sandy beach walk along the seafront towards the makadi spa and you'll find a beautiful sandy beach that you can walk into without walking on stones and rocks. Although a bit noisy but you get used to the loud Russian s
My room was a junior suite on the third floor with a view of the pool. A lovely huge bed and sitting room. The staff are mostly friendly and there to help apart from the odd one or two who are not. A very peaceful relaxing week.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Food great service great rooms great only negative bathrooms need updating would return to this hotel overall great holiday waiter service by pool s on the beach in fact everywhere fab holiday Thai restaurant was excellent beer was great spirits were local and like drinking petrol but that was expected overall 5 out of 5

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murchys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Makadi Palace 14th-21st March, and had a great time. We booked our holiday through Voyager Travel Direct (as part of a Red Sea Holidays package), who were very helpful and got us a good deal (sub £500 ea). Flying with Monarch was fine (apart from a bumpy landing at Gatwick on the way back!), no delays and a meal was provided on board. When we got off the plane, we noticed people being shepherded by 'reps' into getting a visa. DO NOT FOLLOW THEM!! As you enter the terminal, just go left and buy a visa from the 4 bank kiosks and save yourself some money (and time). Transfer time to the Palace was 35 mins.

When we got to the hotel, we were sat down and given a drink and the check in was straight forward. Our room was a junior suite (4327), which was close to the lobby. The room was large and 'shabby chic'. The Egyptian carpentry left a little to be desired with some of the cupboards not closing, and a few lights etc not working but all in all things were in good order. We had a nice balcony and our housekeeper kept things spotless and a small daily tip (£1) provided us with some great towel creations, including a monkey hanging from the roof! The bed was nice and big and I slept excellently. Although we rarely watched the TV, there were a few English/American channels in case you want to keep up with the news and there is Fox Movies. A small annoyance was on our first night, no water came out of our taps at all for a period, but this never happened again during our stay.

Breakfast was good with a wide selection of pastries etc and there were always plenty of tables. We ate at both the Sunset bar (which served burgers) and Rendezvous bar (a wider selection of food) for lunch usually. The staff at Rendezvous were great, with the food being ok. Sunset bar had better food, but the staff seemed slightly more hostile for some reason and were a lot less welcoming. We ate at both the Botanical and Thai twice, which had excellent service and the food at the Botanical was actually very good. The buffet was slightly confusing as you had to wait for staff members to prepare and serve your food - whilst this was good as it meant that the food was freshly prepared in front of you, it was slightly impractical as you had to queue. From a drinks perspective, water was available at all the bars, although if you are on the beach, this is a bit of a walk! The beer was ok and the cocktails were as you'd expect from an all inclusive. As people have mentioned, the small plastic cups served at the beach are a little annoying, but it was nice to be served at your lounger! The coffee was Turkish style (nice and strong!) which I enjoyed. We did try to book the Makadi Mall restaurants but the strange man doing the bookings never seemed to have any spaces, even though we turned up at half three which is the earliest you can for booking. We had zero stomach upsets, although we did ensure that we had anti bac wipes before eating.

Service overall was very good, much better than expected, and this was the case regardless of whether you tipped or not. Some staff did like to make it known that they expected a tip for doing even the smallest of jobs although this was rare - we did not tip in these instances and only tipped when the service was worthy. The fresh towels (beach and bath) for your room would often be delivered later on in the afternoon/evening - you didn't know whether this was because of the laundry service or because people were after another tip. This would be slightly annoying if you wanted to have an early shower, or you were getting ready to go out.

The resort itself was huge and had both a pool and beach area. Sunloungers were always available and the beach had wind shelters which was nice. Weather was consistenly hot at 25-30c although slightly windy on days. As mentioned, this is a coral beach so bring your water shoes! The reef was spectacular and the snorkelling was amazing. On the beach you were asked daily whether you were interested in diving/spa treatments/dining somewhere but these people accepted 'not interested' and would not harass you, and usually remember that you weren't interested from the days before and not bother you again. The Wi-Fi in the bar was slow. We weren't really interested in the entertainment offerings or daily shows as it's not our thing but there was something usually every night.

All in all, an excellent holiday with a few minor niggles that need ironing out for this to be a five star. However, even with these small annoyances, we would still definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnorkelSteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.


Best Regards,
Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having just returned from 10 days at the Makadi Place .The room was very clean, the shower was not great in the evening when everybody was having a shower it was just dribble. The restaurants were good but in some you had to pay for some of the food which was a surprise when you thought it was A/I , The French restaurant you could of had 3 courses in 15 mins, has they were bring the food out as you were finishing the previous course. The staff were really friendly and very helpful.The hotel grounds were beautiful and really well look after. The sea was amazing (coral shoes a must) the colours of the fish were stunning like being in a fish tank.I wil be going back to this hotel again without dought.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.


Best Regards,
Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing