We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday-will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent a week at the Makadi Palace 21-28 March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Travelled with Red Sea holidays and to be honest for less than £1000 for the two of us this represented hard to beat value for money.
Have previously stayed at the Grand but preferred the Palace and didn't venture further than the Mall.
Weather was great, 30* in the daytime but a cool breeze in the evening. Never struggled to get beds by the pool. Waiters were great and looked after us all week.
Rooms large, spotlessly clean. Bathrooms tired and water pressure poor, used the bath more than the shower. Air con fine.
Didn't care for any the buffet restaurants, food OK but waiters very slow to clear tables and re set them, found ourselves looking for cutlery, napkins etc. I would say this is an area for improvement.
Lunchtime at the Rendezvous bar was great, they serve the best kebabs I've tasted for a long time...how anyone can say these are tasteless is beyond me. Waiters in here are fantastic.
We really enjoyed the on site Botanical and Thai restaurants and visited the French and the Chinese at the mall which were really good. Booking system for the Mall is a pain!
Beer and rose wine were fine, vodka very drinkable, tried a couple of cocktails that were 'interesting' to say the least.
In terms of entertainment, we spent time in the joker bar, the piano bar and watched the football in the sports bar - we enjoyed the entertainment we watched.
As others have said staff were great, sociable, friendly and professional. We tipped little and often, in small dollar bills, a lot of guests tip in pound and euro coins which the staff can't bank - we came back with lots of these after changing them for notes!
There were a few niggles but for the price we paid we have no complaints at all and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in room 3270, this had a pool view and was generally quiet. Bed was firm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manda2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.


We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel is great, stuff is friendly and helpful.Beach and pools very nice, evening entertainment in Joker bar very good. Food and staff in Dome and Discovery very nice. Room is nice, our room boy makes good job. Anna guest relation and Wael from reception make good job and are very friendly. We will back soon !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Following my most recent stay at the Makadi Palace (21st to 28th March), I am compelled to write about this amazing hotel with it's genuinely friendly staff, fantastic facilities & wonderful food options.

We first visited the Makadi Palace in 2007. At that time there were only two hotels on site - Palace and Grand Makadi. Now there are a further 2 hotels - the adult only Makadi Spa & the family friendly Sunwing with waterslides galore. In addition they have the Makadi Mall area where we could use 5 more All Inclusive restaurants & look around the shops. In my opinion the expansion of this complex has contributed to give even more enjoyment this time around.

There is now a lovely long pier over the coral at the beach, which has large steps down into the warm waters of the Red Sea - perfect for snorkelling.

The pools are huge and felt cold when getting into them with the outside air temperature around 28-30 degrees Celsius, however I swam at least 3 times a day for around half an hour a time & there were many others in the pools also. The Grand Makadi has a heated pool & for 10 euros you can also use the heated pools & flumes in the Sunwing.

Food here is excellent - loads & loads of choices with buffet, a la carte restaurants & snack bars plus restaurants in Makadi Mall & Grand.

Rooms are fine: kept spotlessly clean; towel origami; huge comfy beds; lots of wardrobe space & digital safe (free of charge).

What makes this hotel stand out though, is the fantastic welcome, the attentiveness, friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff. Special mentions to Anna & Viktoria at guest relations who are both totally awesome! Also entertainment & waiting staff are brilliant.

All in all, a wonderful week (need to go for longer next time) & can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lovely shaded balconies but if you pay for a sea view room you will probably only g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanlica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our guest relation team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We returned from this hotel a few days ago, having taken all the recent reviews into account before booking. Please, please, please be warned that the food is beyond bland, unbelievably repetitive and totally unacceptable. The only decent meal we had was at the Makadi Spa (fish) which cost us about £35. This is not a 5 star hotel. I can't understand the reviews which say anything other about the food...what do these people eat at home ??? lol
Do yourself a favour and pay a bit more for food you can actually taste ! (The Makadi Spa Hotel is lovely and all inclusive serves up lovely food)
If we had read just one review about how bad the food actually is, we would not have booked. Here's hoping we save some of you who read reviews from believing all the others ! Have a great holiday....somewhere else !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artietripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Makadi Palace and again was wonderfull beautifull gardens and pool areas excellent resturants and good choice of food .What makes this hotel stand out is the amazing staff through out the hotel nothing is too much trouble A speccial mention to the Guest Relations Amanda Anna and Victoria they do a fantastic job extremly professional ,caring and make everyone feel so welcome a credit to the makadi palace we cant wait to return Thankyou

Room Tip: pool view room are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annemarieSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 April 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our guest relation team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Can you please help me who I can contact, I need some information on this hotel even though I have been there twice and to the Spa twice, this time I am planning on going in May and wanted to know if the junior suites sleep 2 adults a 16 ear old and a 9 yr od as the 16 yr old is classed as an adult, and what is the dining policy on the Palace can you eat at some of the restaurants in the other hotels too, I was at the spa in October and wanted to now about the Sunwing, What I got in October from the sunwing said you can eat at tai gardens, what dine around policy is there when you stay there, can you eat at the palace at all and can you get drinks at the palace during the day if you wanted to sit by the palaces pool, I love all the hotels and also do you have an upgrade package so you can eat and drink anywhere apart from the spa as I will have my children with me.

thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace before and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you are planning to visit Makadi Palace soon.

Kindly please send me all your questions and wishes to this email address; fo.palace@redseahotels.com and i will be happy answering you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Makadi Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a fantastic week at this great hotel, however, parts of it are a bit dated and in need of upgrading. More 4 star than 5.

The room was spacious, very clean and the bed is enormous with towels and bedding changed regularly. Only problem with the room is the air con, it was close to useless. It was between 80 and 90 degrees when we were there and you needed a coat or cardigan for the night but the bedroom stayed very warm. We had the air con on its coldest setting but it didn’t make much difference. Dread to think what the rooms would be like at the height of summer!

Food is very good quality and there is something for everyone, but not everything is all inclusive. It is clear on the menu what the supplement is but this is supposed to be an AI hotel.

There are 2 buffet restaurants on site, The Dome & Discovery and 2 seated restaurants, the Thai and Botanical Garden. The seated ones must be booked in advance and you book them direct with the restaurant after 3pm on any day.

The other 5 in the Mall are, Italian, Chinese, French, Egyptian & Indian and also have to be booked in advance in the most unfair system I have ever come across. There is a guy who sits at a desk near reception from 3.30 to 5.00 and people start queuing for this around 2.45pm. You can only make a reservation for that evening or the following so if you pop up a bit later all the restaurants are full.

We only got into 1 restaurant in the whole week (Chinese, it was very good) and that’s because we queued for 25 minutes. He also asks you to pop back in an hour if you are booking for the following night but when you do they are all inevitably full!

The menus are limited for AI but there is plenty of choice unless of course you want to pay the supplement.

Drinks and most cocktails are covered by the AI but you guessed it, if you want a Mojito, there is a supplement.

The staff are lovely and work very hard and the pool attendants bring your drinks to your sun lounger for you. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and there is an excellent promenade at the beach where you can enjoy a stroll.

All in all a great hotel and I would go back and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#14 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing