We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab, fab, fab” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Makadi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab, fab, fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing break, thankyou voyager travel for recommending, super choice.
Bit dated bathroom but our junior suite was roomy and had a separate lounge and balcony area.
We ate all our meals alfresco,no mosquitoes- normally eaten to bits.....
No probs getting sun beds on beach or poolside, staff very friendly, found male toilet assistants unnerving, otherwise loved our week at the Makadi very much.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksonsontour5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    587
    199
    83
    42
See reviews for
534
1,105
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th time at this resort it has come up in standard from the last two times we have been,
Management / guest relations are excellent, nothing is too much trouble, the restaurants were good, especially botanical gardens which I consider an excellent fine dining experience, with matching service.

The pool boys still not up to scratch you tend to see more of them on the last couple of days when they want a tip, although that is a generalisation there are a still a few good ones it's just we did not get good ones this time, not a problem it gave me an excuse to stretch my legs and go to the bar myself.

Had a few massages on the beach spas this time but be sure to haggle the price don't pay the price you see, you can get them to about half price, which is about right, a nice experience.

The rooms I've heard people say are dated and tired,
I think they are quite luxurious myself compared with Turkish or Spanish hotels.

Overall we had a great time relaxing with plenty going on in the evenings if you want it, or there is plenty of space with places within the resort to go for a stroll.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent a week at the Makadi Palace 21-28 March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Travelled with Red Sea holidays and to be honest for less than £1000 for the two of us this represented hard to beat value for money.
Have previously stayed at the Grand but preferred the Palace and didn't venture further than the Mall.
Weather was great, 30* in the daytime but a cool breeze in the evening. Never struggled to get beds by the pool. Waiters were great and looked after us all week.
Rooms large, spotlessly clean. Bathrooms tired and water pressure poor, used the bath more than the shower. Air con fine.
Didn't care for any the buffet restaurants, food OK but waiters very slow to clear tables and re set them, found ourselves looking for cutlery, napkins etc. I would say this is an area for improvement.
Lunchtime at the Rendezvous bar was great, they serve the best kebabs I've tasted for a long time...how anyone can say these are tasteless is beyond me. Waiters in here are fantastic.
We really enjoyed the on site Botanical and Thai restaurants and visited the French and the Chinese at the mall which were really good. Booking system for the Mall is a pain!
Beer and rose wine were fine, vodka very drinkable, tried a couple of cocktails that were 'interesting' to say the least.
In terms of entertainment, we spent time in the joker bar, the piano bar and watched the football in the sports bar - we enjoyed the entertainment we watched.
As others have said staff were great, sociable, friendly and professional. We tipped little and often, in small dollar bills, a lot of guests tip in pound and euro coins which the staff can't bank - we came back with lots of these after changing them for notes!
There were a few niggles but for the price we paid we have no complaints at all and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in room 3270, this had a pool view and was generally quiet. Bed was firm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manda2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.


We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgenland, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel is great, stuff is friendly and helpful.Beach and pools very nice, evening entertainment in Joker bar very good. Food and staff in Dome and Discovery very nice. Room is nice, our room boy makes good job. Anna guest relation and Wael from reception make good job and are very friendly. We will back soon !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Following my most recent stay at the Makadi Palace (21st to 28th March), I am compelled to write about this amazing hotel with it's genuinely friendly staff, fantastic facilities & wonderful food options.

We first visited the Makadi Palace in 2007. At that time there were only two hotels on site - Palace and Grand Makadi. Now there are a further 2 hotels - the adult only Makadi Spa & the family friendly Sunwing with waterslides galore. In addition they have the Makadi Mall area where we could use 5 more All Inclusive restaurants & look around the shops. In my opinion the expansion of this complex has contributed to give even more enjoyment this time around.

There is now a lovely long pier over the coral at the beach, which has large steps down into the warm waters of the Red Sea - perfect for snorkelling.

The pools are huge and felt cold when getting into them with the outside air temperature around 28-30 degrees Celsius, however I swam at least 3 times a day for around half an hour a time & there were many others in the pools also. The Grand Makadi has a heated pool & for 10 euros you can also use the heated pools & flumes in the Sunwing.

Food here is excellent - loads & loads of choices with buffet, a la carte restaurants & snack bars plus restaurants in Makadi Mall & Grand.

Rooms are fine: kept spotlessly clean; towel origami; huge comfy beds; lots of wardrobe space & digital safe (free of charge).

What makes this hotel stand out though, is the fantastic welcome, the attentiveness, friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff. Special mentions to Anna & Viktoria at guest relations who are both totally awesome! Also entertainment & waiting staff are brilliant.

All in all, a wonderful week (need to go for longer next time) & can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lovely shaded balconies but if you pay for a sea view room you will probably only g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanlica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our guest relation team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We returned from this hotel a few days ago, having taken all the recent reviews into account before booking. Please, please, please be warned that the food is beyond bland, unbelievably repetitive and totally unacceptable. The only decent meal we had was at the Makadi Spa (fish) which cost us about £35. This is not a 5 star hotel. I can't understand the reviews which say anything other about the food...what do these people eat at home ??? lol
Do yourself a favour and pay a bit more for food you can actually taste ! (The Makadi Spa Hotel is lovely and all inclusive serves up lovely food)
If we had read just one review about how bad the food actually is, we would not have booked. Here's hoping we save some of you who read reviews from believing all the others ! Have a great holiday....somewhere else !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artietripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Makadi Palace and again was wonderfull beautifull gardens and pool areas excellent resturants and good choice of food .What makes this hotel stand out is the amazing staff through out the hotel nothing is too much trouble A speccial mention to the Guest Relations Amanda Anna and Victoria they do a fantastic job extremly professional ,caring and make everyone feel so welcome a credit to the makadi palace we cant wait to return Thankyou

Room Tip: pool view room are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemarieSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our guest relation team. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing