We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Makadi Palace made our anniversary fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Makadi Palace made our anniversary fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Being long haul tourers normally, beach holidays aren't normally our thing, the Makadi however gave us such a great holiday that we'll always try and do an early week every year!

We're hot on service and this is an area that the Makadi excels in......we dropped the hotel an email to advise we would be celebrating our anniversary there and all of the staff really made sure that we were given a holiday to remember. Celebration cakes, flower decorated tables, fruit and chocolate in our rooms and lots of little touches that made our time special.

We had a room on the top floor in block three overlooking the pool and sea and I would recommend these, quiet and lovely views. The rooms are spacious and were kept beautifully clean throughout our whole stay.....I've seen many bed decorations made from towels but the 'elephant' we came back to one day was the best I've ever seen!!

We ate at all the hotel restaurants and all offered good food, would really recommend the Botanical Gardens and the Thai restaurant. We also tried the Lebanese restaurant at the neighbouring hotel and the food was good but was very hurried and we felt a bit hassled to eat as quickly as possible. The restaurants in the Mall are reasonable but a bit soul less, not as good as those at the Makadi itself.

Snorkelling was great, fantastic amount of fish and lovely clear waters, no need to say more on that!

If you feel like some pampering do try the Cleopatra Massage that are on offer in the white tents on the beach - pay around half of the price shown and you will have a great 75 minutes of massage.

We never set foot out of the complex and for two people who like exploring that says it all - if you need a week to recharge this is a good bet.

Finally, I must say a word of special thanks to Anna in customer relations. Anna, it was great meeting you and thank you so much for all of the things you did to make our holiday so special, you are a real asset to this hotel and show customer service at it's best.

Thanks also to all of the other staff who do a fab job, especially Mohammed who kept our drinks
flowing all day by the pool!!

We'll be back :)

Room Tip: We had room top floor in block 3 overlooking pool and sea to the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    591
    203
    83
    43
See reviews for
544
1,117
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We travelled to the Makadi Palace to celebrate our wedding anniversary and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Our room was a little tired but very clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. The resort itself is very attractive and the gardeners do an excellent job. The restaurants provide a good mix of all inclusive plus pay extra options, and the buffet has a really good selection to choose from. We also went to the Egyptian BBQ night at Rendez-vous bar which was excellent! The staff are all very helpful and friendly, particularly the staff serving drinks around the pool - they kept us well watered in the hot conditions! Overall, we had a great week and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dior79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This will be short and sweet. Room large and always clean. Restaurants on site good especially the Botanical (dome echo's a bit) Makadi Grand has excellent Lebanese. Would avoid the restaurants in the Mall except maybe the French. Pools chilly but very clean, always available sun beds and the waiters are spot on. Evening entertainment - if you go on holiday for this you may be a little disappointed! Trips- We did the desert with quad bikes which was a hoot also the trip to paradise beach which was a fabulous day out. Beach is good a few hundred yards around the corner with excellent snorkelling.
Want a relaxing, warm, well fed and watered holiday then go to the Makadi Palace. 'Simples'

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with sun and were very happy. Most rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently went to Makadi Palace, Hurghada, Egypt. The room was big but full of faults
Shower head broken, Shelf broken, Very bad odor coming from the bathroom.
Despite asking them to change our room , we did not get any Joy!
The hotel is over rated 5*, the rest of our stay was OK!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at The Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your comment with us.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.


We do hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future to exceed your expectation.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our third visit to Makadi Palace to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and as before we had a wonderful holiday, special thanks and excellent service from front office, Mohamed Helmy & Adel, Guest Relations Anna, Rooms Coordinator Viktoria, Food & Beverage Manager Serge, Bars Manager Hassan and all other Palace Staff who couldnt do enough to ensure our stay was perfect. This is a must visit hotel to anyone wishing to visit Egypt. We are already looking forward to our next visit :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeandMandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We travelled to the Makadi Palace as a family of two adults and one near-two year old in April 2014. We had a lovely week in the resort, I would rate this hotel very highly and recommend it for people considering visiting.

Firstly, unrelated to the hotel, is the often-mentioned visa 'scam' at the airport. As others have mentioned, you are corralled by the holiday company reps to their queue to get their visas which we found were $8 more per person than the airport employed visa booth. Just be firm with the reps and tell them that you want to pay the $15 visa price from that booth. I was generally impressed with the holiday company so am disappointed that this practise is happening. Be aware also that it's a visa per passport no matter what age the traveller: we paid the full amount for our toddler. After that, I can only say good things about the holiday company and their reps.

The journey to the resort is just 30 minutes on an air-conditioned coach. On arrival, check in was fairly quick and we were happy with our room (4306) which overlooked the Rendez-vouz restaurant and main part of the hotel. We didn't find the location too noisy at all, but we were on the 2nd floor.

The room was a great size which happily accommodated our travel cot (the cot they provided was adequate but filled with lots of sheets which I could imagine was particular comfortable or cool). I didn't find the decor outdated at all, but maybe I'm not as accustomed as others to the fashion of hotel rooms! I would agree that the bathroom fell short of the expected standard though - the shower was just pathetic unfortunately. Other than that, I can't complain at all about the room: functioning air-con, fridge, GIANT comfortable bed, clean and lovely balcony.

With regards to food, we had generally good experiences. However, the first evening, due to arriving later in the day, we had no choice but to eat in the Dome buffet restaurant. To put it bluntly, we were horrified and quite concerned about our week ahead, asking ourselves, 'what have we done?!' However, as the week went on, we realised that this was as bad as it gets. Basically, when it's busy, it's noisy, short of space, short of attentive staff, short of decent food, short of children's seats and short of any dining enjoyment whatsoever. I'm really not a fussy eater - I'm genuinely easily impressed - and I was sadly so disappointed by this first meal, we all went to bed hungry. When busy there just isn't enough staff for them to be meaningfully attentive to you either.
So...the next day, we made every effort to make the most of the various dining facilities on offer. For breakfast, we went to either of the buffet restaurants (Dome was preferable) and were always pleased with the food and service, for lunch we enjoyed the Rendez-vous snack bar, Dome restaurant and Sunset BBQ burger bar - we never had problems with seating or crowds as lunch was more staggered than dinner time. Also - try the lesser visited Melange - this always seemed empty and disappointingly so - the meat they cooked on the BBQ there was fabulous - well recommended.
For our evening meals we ate at the Thai, Botantical Gardens and the Italian and Lebanese at the neighbouring Grand. We generally had no problems with getting a table because we ate at the earlier sittings due to our toddler. The food and service was excellent at all of them - it was hard to pick a favourite, but we chose the Lebanese for our last evening on a second visit - so that should be telling! There is this second menu for extra cost but all of them had a more than adequate choice and there was no need to spend any extra money if you didn't want to.
We didn't get a chance to eat at the Makadi Mall restaurants, but reviews from other guests suggest that they weren't up to the same sort of standard. We did visit the sports bar (drinks were extra) though as they play all of the european sport which was nice enough.

The pool area was amply big, my son enjoyed the children's pool, but there wasn't much else to do at this hotel. So we went to the neighbouring Sunwing for a day and I'd say this was well worth the extra 10 euro for an adult/4 euro for a child. The day pass included food and drinks at selected outlets there and there was far more to entertain a family here included water slides, a 'wet play park', wave pool, infinity pool and generally a more of a 'buzz' in atmosphere. Coming back to the Palace it made me realise how much more serene and adult it was.
There was also a children's play park at the front of the Palace and in the neighbouring Grand Makadi.
We didn't really have a problem with sunbed availability, but as the week went on, it was alarming how many umbrellas were out of action (I'd say about half!) which I think will have to be addressed ready for the influx of families who'll need shade in the school holidays. The pool area attendants were the most attentive staff in the whole hotel and worked really hard for you all day, bringing drinks to you on at least an hourly basis, if not more frequently.
My only main feedback for the pool area would be PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE change the CD at the Rendez-vous bar - they played the same one on repeat about 6 times a day, every day, and if you really liked being in the same location for the week, this got unbearable towards the end of it.

The beach seemed nice enough, but we didn't spend any long amount of time there as the sand was quite coarse and drop off to the sea quite severe over rocks. The beach at the front of the Sunwing was far more pleasant with watersports and again, more of a general buzz.
There never seemed to be a shortage of available sun beds on the beach either.
We did however snorkel off the end of the nearby pier a couple of times though and this was excellent and highly recommended - the sea life is superb!

So, thanks for a great time Makadi Palace. We'd happily return to this hotel and resort area. I'm sure you'll have a great time too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannahspencer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

As always for the third time in makadi palace,,, first of all i want to thank every one worked their to make it nice holiday......

1:- Front office team .. mr haitham ,, bahaa,, khaled ... special thanks for bahaa very friendly and really helpful ., thanks to all front office team

2:- Food and beverage:-
*really special thanks for f&b manager and beverage manger
lets say its really best service although melange restaurant was not open because of renewing it ,, we didn't feel any thing like problems or some thing,, absolutely not every restaurant was really ready for the operation ...
i have to say food and beverage team is the best team i have ever seen in makadi palace,,
* and for manager of joker club a lot of thanks he is extremely helpful and so friendly and also his team in joker club...
* mr mohamed el said manager of Botanical Garden he is just perfect restaurant manager he make the dinner really easy like it has to be in alla karte restaurants ,, friendly and service their is amazing''

3:- kitchen:- thanks alot for every chef cooked very good to make it so tasty really the food was so good.

4:- recreation manger :- so friendly its so nice to give the kids some thing like small piece of pizza or some fruits i saw kids was really happy,..

5:- animation team :-***and for this point i have to say please thats not animation team like last november in november it was really good ,, but in april it wasn't good ,, water sport so boring lazy no active music during the day really bad kind of music.. please take care of that i heard many guests said animation is really bad..

6:- house keeping :- thanks a lot the room was always clean and smells good..

7:- guest relations :- we want to see you asking the guest about the holiday is any problems in the hotel ,, or any thing you can help your guests in many hotels i saw them walking during the day on the pool and on the beach asking and working.. but in april i didn't see any guest relation..

Finally again we want really to thanks every one made it a wonderful holiday,, we will coming again soon.

Room numbers was : 3464,, 3465,,3466,,3467

abdelaleem mohamed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mohamed549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Mr. Mohamed Abd Elaleem,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 29 in Makadi Bay
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 29 in Makadi Bay
1,245 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing