We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at this beautiful resort. The weather was fabulous the whole week. We had a junior suite as before, but I was not impressed with the bath which was badly chipped, I expected better as this sort of refurbishment should be mandatory in a quality hotel. The room was kept spotless by the cleaner as always. The view from the balcony was lovely and quite breathtaking at night with the carefully lit areas. Staff and management work tirelessly to give superb service and do so with a smile always. The food in the dome and discovery could do with a more varied overhaul, but we always managed to find something we liked to eat. We dined at the Thai one night as this is our favourite, delicious food, and excellent service as expected. There are fountains that are not working, one on the beach and the other in the dome that are feature fountains, they were not working at Christmas either, they should be functioning. Showers on the beach by the massage huts were also not working. These are things that irritate as they are things people remember and detract from the ambience of the whole experience. We are going back in September and hope that things of a maintenance nature have been taken care of. We love this resort!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    602
    203
    84
    47
See reviews for
555
1,134
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The real jewel in the crown at Makadi Palace is the staff. We were treated like royalty by the catering manager Serge and the guest relations staff (Anna, Victoria and Marvin) were extremely helpful. They treated us to exclusive dinners, breakfast in bed and bbqs on the beach.

The reef is beautiful and you can walk right on to this on a pier just outside the sister hotel the Grand Makadi. The pool staff were incredibly attentive, especially when tipped and would bring drinks to you all day long. The cleaners were also superb taking extra care to ensure your stay is special with different arrangements on the beds and fruit baskets. The grounds are kept in immaculate condition and there are even tortoises!

Ensure you book in to restaurants in advance for the best food. Some fantastic food available at the Rendezvous bar at lunch times and the best evening meals are at the Botanical Gardens.

Perhaps more 4* than 5* but a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Cannot rate this hotel highly enough.
The beds in the jr suite are huge and private balconys are lovely. Staff grounds and food are amazing. The swimming pools are some of the biggest I have ever seen.
The jeti out into the sea was brilliant
Thanks, will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thehungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my bf have just came back from makadi palace after booking it less than 24hrs before without reading any reviews and going by what the travel agent said and we was pleasantly surprised for a last min get away. It is the most beautiful hotel we've stayed in the grounds were amazing and so grown up and pretty. We had a junior sweet over looking the pool with its own terrace which was amazing so peaceful and quiet and only a handful of children. The only thing that let this hotel down was the Buffett restaurants, where some food was uncooked and could tell that some stuff was reheated from the previous day, but can't rate the alacarte dining in the makadi palace and the grand makadi enough it was amazing the food and service was unreal and you could dine alacarte every night, I would personally stay away from the restaurants in the makadi mall where me and bf both had bad stomachs from. The beach is really nice to and has its own private jetty for you to jump off and snorkel off of which was amazing so many beautiful fish to look and they even give you life jackets if your not a strong swimmer. Overall we had a brilliant time at the Makadi Palace but wouldn't return in a hurry.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had yet another great holiday, the hotel is amazing and the staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome, especially Amanda and Kirk they made our stay out of this world and as long as they contine to be at the Makadi then we will contine to return and recommend to our friends and family, thank you and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.


We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fantastic hotel, was very relaxing and staff were friendly and helpful, enjoyed my holiday so much. Good choice of resteraunts and the food was excellent stayed for 11 nights from 25th April to 6th May. Had a fantastic room facing the pool with its own terrace. loved the entertainment. will definatley return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed there for one week from 12 April - 20 April. The first two days it was cool in the evenings, the water in the swimmingpools was cold and the sea too. But then it was okay.There are some minor things which should be changed. Sometimes there are too less plates or cups or spoons. We had a nice room on the second floor. The problem was the water tap in the shower because there was too less water. So it took a long time to take a shower. The fan didn't work but they repaired it quickly and there were no towels in our room when we arrived. It would be necessary to put up a sunshade over the restaurant Rendez-vous. We and a lot of other guests asked for it but they didn't put up one. There is another thing I didn't like - when we arrived we had to wait for our luggage for more than half an hour. But there are also many positiv facts like the lovely garden, the excellent food and the closeness to the fantastic sea with its wonderful underwater world. You will find enough sunbeds around the pools even when you are looking for them in the afternoon. Alltogether it was a really relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mara05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you enjoyed the stay at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing