We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makadi Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Makadi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Rufford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Makadi Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Admittedly not a five star, but we got five star plus service from the staff.
We went to celebrate my wifes birthday and our Silver wedding.
Guest relations couldnt have been any more helpful in making our stay thoroughly enjoyable.
I complained about the fact that the food in the dome was, as is often the case in Egyptian hotels, geared towards the far more numerous German &Russian guests. I must admit that its probably my fault I didnt enjoy breakfasts as I can't eat eggs, and that along with cereal was the only recognizable English fare in the morning. We understood from speaking to the staff that provision of brewing up facilities in rooms is being addressed. Tipping is expected all over in Egypt, and the resort was no different. We were never pressured into tipping, but happily gave them where deserved and had no problems.
I would happily visit again, and plan to later in the year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    586
    199
    83
    42
See reviews for
533
1,103
36
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited Makadi Palace from 24th June- 8th July 2014. It was our Honeymoon. I have never been so ill, and I'm still Ill now! I've tried to leave this negative comment in hope I calm down but I can't. Don't know whether we have just been really unlucky or the place is just a joke. Firstly, the hotel itself is amazing, so beautiful, perfect in fact... To look at. First day- brilliant, relaxed by the pool no issues, apart from everyone wakes up at 6am to reserve the sunbeds and don't turn up to use them till lunch time. This is not allowed. Second day, so ill with a 'Deli Belly' eating in the 'Dome' - this restaurant is absolutely disgusting, full of flies and the same food all the time... Chicken, chicken and more chicken. I'm 3 months pregnant and there was nothing safe for me to eat at all. We tried the Thai Garden- sickness had just gone, next day it was back. Cleaner knocks on your door at 7:30-8:00am in a morning. I'm on holiday I do not appreciate being woken at that time. Laid by the pool and the 'pool boys' one day came round only 3 times all day to get drinks... Had to get them yourselves. The Egyptians expect a tip for absolutely EVERYTHING, they must think we are millionaires. There was one waiter inparticular in the Italian who when u left your table, followed u out on the street and kept repeating 'tip, give me tip'. We had to move rooms twice first time as a problem at home with the booking, second time coz our balcony was just a bush which held Mosquitos, must have received 40 bites in one night and spent most of the night squatting them. Third room was second floor above discovery- lovely view! Must have been situated in the drains- stank! Entertainment is ok- cannot get a seat to watch it though- if your not seated and your just stood watching, your 'all inclusive' obviously doesn't count, they won't serve you. I couldn't drink so I was on cocktails as too much fizzy is bad for baby, these cocktails were to pay for (pure orange) and they weren't cheap, I thought this was disgusting so I complained and sure enough they were free to me the rest of the holiday. Anything decent on the al O cart menus were extra- all special restaurants has to be booked a day in advance and you can never get in! Bought a lilo in the On site shop near the Piano bar, he blew it up for us, took it to the poor and it just burst... Wouldn't refund it... Bought an underwater camera 3 days later- went down to the beach to take photos of the fish and coral (amazing) came up... Camera was full of water and all pictures ruined. They are just serious con artists who only care about money. The pool on a night is full of frogs- mating season, which means that during the day you're swimming about with frogspawn. There's so much more I could write, like all the hairs in food and bits of plastic and grit we found in the 2 week stay etc etc. So disappointed, we go on Holiday every year for two weeks and travel about, and always have a lovely holiday, I have never ever had such a poor holiday! Will never be back, not to Makadi and definitely not to Egypt, the whole country is a money making con. Trips are set up for the public, they're idea of a dessert is NOT a dessert.. Tutankhamen is not the original, everything is fake to make money. I really hope people think twice about choosing this hotel! Mrs Williams, England

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Meximoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We write this review with credibility given that this is our 10th trip to Egypt and with a number of hotels and resorts under our belt

We travelled with Red Sea Holidays which on the whole was ok however they really do need to review their hotel star rating. They have the Makadi Palace rated 5* which it most certainly is not. In my opinion this hotel is no more than a good 3*. My reasons for this rating are detailed below under the not so good section.

The Good
Good hotel for a cheap basic holiday to Egypt
A good range of a la carte restaurants Inc. Egyptian, Chinese, Indian & Italian which you can use as part of your all inclusive, also have a French restaurant which you have to pay to eat in
Reliable shuttle service to nearby Hurgarda
Comfortable bed
Great Beach with plenty of sunbeds and parasols
Great snorkelling either from the beach or the hotel jetty

The not so Good

Reception - The reception area is very dark and the hotel reception staff speak very poor English, if you want a drink in the reception area you will have to haggle for a glass instead of a tiny plastic cup. The staff on the reception bar i have to say are the rudest people i have ever had the misfortune of dealing with especially so if you are a woman, they will completely blank you and serve a man even though you were in the queue first!

The pools - They are in serious need of some maintenance with missing tiles all over the place and even algae is growing on the artificial rocks which possibly indicates that the pump is in poor working order, This is also the first hotel i have ever been in anywhere where frogs swim in the pools.

The rooms - Whilst the room was clean it was very tired and old fashioned especially so the bathroom in which we had a normal shower over the bath and not a power shower as you normally get in better quality hotels. The view from the room was non-existent given that we had a tree immediately in front of the balcony.

Equipment - You will not get an iron in your room you can instead either get ripped off by the shops in the hotel (more about them later) or use the hotel laundry service which whilst cheap is not something i would expect to have to do in a 5* hotel. I would recommend using the increased luggage allowance to take your own iron with you however in a 5* i would expect them to provide an iron.

Tea & Coff making facilities - Non-existent. You can hire them if you want from the reception bar but its very expensive and again in a 5* hotel i would expect this to be part of the service
Lighting around the hotel - Very very Poor. If you struggle with seeing in the dark then i would definitely recommend that you look elsewhere as this hotel is not for you. Most of the bulbs (and that is no exaggeration) around the grounds are missing. Its very dark at night so take care.

Food - Where do we start on this? Awful, just awful. The a la carte restaurants were ok but the potion size was what we would present a child with in England. You can have a bigger potion size but you have to pay for that. We ate in the a la carte then went to one of the buffet restaurants for desert so that we would end the evening full instead of hungry. The buffet restaurants are very much geared towards the Russian and German guests and whilst i like to try other countries dishes it would have been nice to have something which a British guest would like as well. Even the basics of fruit salad had to be specifically requested through the rep.

The Rep – Well we went to see our rep as we wanted a room with a better view, as stated earlier there was a tree immediately in front of our balcony completely blocking the view and any light from the balcony, we also wanted to speak to him about the quality of the food in the buffet restaurants and to ask for an iron. Whilst it would be fair to say that the hotel did try to resolve our complaints i.e. we were invited to view rooms after 22:30hrs (yes at night!!) and the hotel manager did lend us an iron and they did look at the hotel food although this didn’t improve other than fruit salad being made available the rep himself was very poor. His idea of resolving an issue for a guest is to leave them to the mercy of the hotel management staff who struggle with the English language. In the end we gave up.

The hotel shop – We visited the hotel shop and for 2 bags of crisp (Egyptian crisp) a bottle of Sprite and a bottle of Coke they wanted over £11 (1,100LE) needless to say we put them back, We don’t mind paying a bit more but we object to being ripped off. For a small travelling iron he wanted £22 (2200LE) so take care if you visit him.

In Summary – Overall we wanted a relaxing break in the sun and that’s what we got, we were happy with what we paid to Red Sea Holiday and had they said the hotel was a 3* we would have been happy however we were expecting a 5* and that is what we most certainly didn’t get. Goes to prove you get what you pay for. Pay a little bit more and stick with Thomas Cook in future at least you know what you are paying for and if you have a problem the rep with take ownership and sort it out for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no trees directly in front of the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at The Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your comment with us.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We do hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future to exceed your expectation.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

It was an incredible trip, we were lucky as we stayed there in this wonderful hotel, it deserves to be the best i tried ever, me & my family really enjoyed our holiday there. so nice & kind front office staff specially Mohamed Gazzar in reception, F&B, animation, room service and also house keeping...as a summery, i do recommend all of you try this palace; Makadi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmadAhameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at another Red Sea Hotels property last year in Sharm el Sheikh we didn't hesitate to book this when presented at a very reasonable price in July this year. We knew what to expect in terms of quality and similarly to our stay in The Grand Hotel last year it met most expectations, and even surpassed a few.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful, food in the al a carte restaurants generally good and cleanliness throughout spot on.
There are some small question marks over the condition of the rooms and swimming pools but nothing that would ruin your holiday. The pools are made up of small mosaic type tiles and in two of the three main pools there are numerous tiles missing from the bottom. This wasn't dangerous but it just made you think that there is some penny pinching going on when it comes to the maintenance budget. Similarly the bedrooms could do with a little TLC in places but again nothing that would put you off staying in them.
Overall this is a 4* hotel in terms of quality whereas the more expensive Makadi Spa next door offers real luxury and looks worthy of its 5* status.
Special thanks to Anna on Guest Relations who assisted me perfectly on a couple of occasions. Nothing appeared too much trouble for her and when others would have dismissed my requests she went out of her way with a few small things to enhance our holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank o1dg0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just back from one weeks break at the Makadi Palace resort.
I booked this Holiday as a late deal and was not expecting to much from the all inclusive package as I've been to Spain on a similar deal and did not really rate it.
Before leaving travelers need read up on what to expect at Hurghada airport as this is the only unpleasant part of the holiday but definitely not a show stopper .
On arrival the Hotel is part of a large complex and very nice. We arrived late evening, where we were taken straight to a comfortable seating area and given drinks to welcome us. we were then escorted to a dining room where again they had food prepared for us after our long journey. When you are finished eating you returned to the reception desk where your room key was waiting for you. Nice touch and beats standing in a line waiting to be attended too.
We were upgraded to a double suite, but the room was at the rear of the hotel with no view. The rooms are big and the beds huge and comfortable. Rooms are air conditioned and have a mini bar fridge. Our air conditioning was noisy(in one room so just turned it off) and the fridge not as cold as I'd liked but again it was comfortable. The shower and the toilet worked well so we soon settled. Overall the rooms are a bit tired but spotlessly clean with fresh bath and beach towels every day.
I read before going various reports on the food and was a little worried. The breakfast buffet was as expected and most people should easily find something to eat. at lunch time we tended to avoid the buffet and spent most days in one of the restaurants next to the pools where we had fish and chips, cheese burgers or crepe wraps all of which were excellent. In the evenings we tried all of the themed restaurants and found them to be of high standard. From fillet beef with mash potato's to the Caribbean lamb curry. Usually on holiday eating out is how we like to spend our evenings. Here we felt like we did this but without having to spent loads of cash paying for the meal.
At night the gardens and lighting around the restaurants make a lovely place to spend time.
During the day plenty of sunbeds available and loads of nice spots to enjoy the sun (although to many of the sun parasols are broken) The pools are huge and warm. We took snorkeling gear with us and bought footwear in the hotel shop for 50LE (4 quid) this was our first experience snorkeling and well worth doing. The beach and water front area is also excellent.
At night there was entertainment and plenty chill out areas where the beer is cold and cocktails nice.
We spent our evenings eating then had a couple of drinks while enjoying the entertainment before retiring to our room where Fox movies was on telly.
The Hotel staff were all really nice, we tipped using pound coins which they seemed happy with this and were always then a bit more attentive.
We had no issues with Egyptian tummy. The reps gave good advice on this on arrival and we also used sterile hand wash regularly before eating.
Lastly Red sea holiday reps were really helpful offered good excursions at reasonable prices and were not over pushy.
Overall I would return to this Hotel and recommend it to anyone who wants value for money and a chill out place to recharge your batteries. But be aware there is not a lot else around other than the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mthazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be aware that we offer our guests a free shuttle service 3 times a day to Hurghada.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went to Makadi Palace in February 2014, came home and booked again for next year, temperature is perfect this time of year for children, no problem with sunbeds and the hotel was lovely and quiet, not too busy but there was a lovely atmosphere with several people around. Room and staff were amazing, always willing to help.
Would reccommend this hotel to anyone with children

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateTud17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing