We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Makadi Palace....another fabulous stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Thanks Makadi Palace....another fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We usually like to try new places, but had such a good time here in November '13, that we welcomed the opportunity of another weeks stay at the end of June. Wasn't disappointed:) ...
of - course not the same wonder and joy of discovery as first sight of the spectacular Makadi Palace, which was so romantic in the moonlight and a delightful surprise in the first light of day. This is a great no brainier of a holiday, with the best of everything just waiting to be discovered. Could have done with more sun shades at loungers round the pool to shelter from the sweltering heat. But Loved the snorkelling, and to catch the last of the day in the Sunset Bar as the sun went down, then relax in the chilled and easy ambiance of Piano Bar for a pre dinner drink while we pondered on where to eat at night. A special thanks to Mohamed the catering manager, who again made us feel so special! He offers fantastic customer service and his staff are well trained and attentive from the superb intimate restaurants that require pre booking, down to larger self service buffet & BBQ with a tempting international selection. The adjoining Makadi Spa looks finished now and perfect for couples, so would urge young lovers to consider this as a romantic honeymoon destination, as they get the best of both worlds by being able to use the Makadi Palace facilities too. I'll certainly be recommending this to our soon to be newly weds! Thanks again to all the staff that made our stay quiet special! Lydia & Chris from Scotland

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyMe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    606
    204
    85
    46
See reviews for
558
1,145
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Five of us stayed here for a week 2nd week of July. Family with 3 young people aged 16 to 21. We had 2 Junior suites. Excellent service and facilities on this all inclusive holiday. it was very hot but swimming pools and the sea made it quite bearable. Much snorkelling done every day which should not be missed. No need to go further than the beach and walk in a few yards to see many fish. Need rubber shoes which can be purchased in one of the beach shops. Food was excellent with plenty of choice for all tastes. Just be wary of trying too much in the way of different food too soon. Depends on your individual digestive abilities. When so much is all laid out in front of you on a eat as much as you like basis it is difficult to restrain yourself!
All staff were really friendly with good senses of humour.Drink refills were never slow to appear. A small tip here and there helped things along. We took one dollar bills as apparently paper money is easier to change. As the week went on we started to gather low denomination Egyptian Pounds which were useful.
Despite the fact that we were prepared to barter for everything, it did drive us mad having to haggle over a packet of biscuits or packet of crisps every time! Aim for at least half of the asking price. If you don't haggle then prices will just climb!
Rooms and beds were very comfortable with good air con!
Highly recommended. Relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ideally not ground floor but not terribly important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djlaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile


I know when you go all inclusive you don't expect the very best but I don't expect to be served poor quality food,which is repetitive and bland.
Rooms are disgusting, bedding is so over used.
Bathrooms are old and need replaced.
My room was never cleaned properly once as he never brushed or mopped the floor.
Staff are only happy when you tip them, that's when you get service.
I should have expected this as it was a cheap holiday .and you get what you pay for.
I don't know if have of these reviews actually went to the same place that I did, as giving this hotel 5 stars is a joke.
My final word please give this place a miss if your looking for edible food and clean accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at The Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your comment with us.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We do hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future to exceed your expectation.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the Makadi Palace. This was the 2nd time this year we have visited the hotel and I can't praise it highly enough. The rooms are spacious and clean with a huge bed. The pool areas are beautiful and clean and the snorkeling is just incredible. The food at the dicovery and dome buffet restaurants is great and in the evenings you have the choice of at least 7 a la carte restaurants, all as part of the all inclusive deal. These have to be booked in advance, but are well worth it. Also, the staff are brilliant. Mohammed and his crew at the Sunset bar and all the other pool staff, really made our holiday. Finally a special thank you to Anna (guest relations), who treated us like royalty and made our stay so special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Been March this year and just got back 19th July, cannot wait to return again in November. The staff at this hotel are excellent really helpful and happy. The sunset bar staff are the best and Anna guest relations at the hotel will do anything to make your stay even better. Cannot find a bad word to say about Makadi Palace .If you enjoy snorkelling will be great for you .

Room Tip: All rooms are the same lay out but 3rd floor gives better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Makadi Palace for the first time, returning at the end of June 2014 and had a fabulous time! This is the largest all inclusive resort we have ever stayed in, and we've been to lots across the world. We were really impressed by that hotel, its much better in real life and photos don't do it justice. I will try to upload a few of our with this review, because the scale of the complex is difficult to comprehend until you visit!

Every member of staff at the hotel, cannot do enough to please you. Special thanks goes to Ana and colleagues at guest relations/front desk, Ana was so attentive nothing was too much trouble for her. She is a real credit to the hotel! Jabba and the entertainment team are great and they made our holiday, thank you for your exceptional work!

The hotel complex is set on a large private beach area with lush tropical gardens which are well maintained. The complex is spacious and well planned, meaning that over our 14 night stay we could chose a different pool and area to sunbath by! Although the hotel was full to capacity when we stayed, we were always able to find sun loungers (the wooden steamer kind) at any time of the day. You have a choice of quiet areas or areas where the entertainment team run the daily activity programme - there is something for everyone. The scale of the hotel is such that even at full capacity, it dosent feel full, which makes for a very relaxing holiday. You then also have the option of using the facilities of The Grand Makadi Hotel throughout the day, but we much preferred the Palace facilities.

The waiters around the pool area are amazing! The first week of our stay was a heatwave, touching 50 degrees, every 10 minutes they were delivering drinks to us, which was a god send.

Food wise, you can't go wrong! The hotel has two fabulous a la carte; 'Thai Garden' and 'Botanical Garden', both of which are excellent in their own right. In addition you then have 7 or so more all inclusive a la cartes to choose from in 'The Mall'; Chinese, Indian, French, Italian, Egyptian, Sea Food, Steak, we ate in most but didn't get round to Sea Food or Egyptian. The Mall is a purpose built area with gift shops including a general store and a pharmacy, where they have some live music in the evenings. The Mall is directly in front of the hotel reception, literally 200 metres! You also then have the option of using the restaurants in the Grand Makadi Hotel, which is the hotel next door to the Palace; Italian, Lebanese. We ate in a la carte restaurants most evenings during our 14 night stay, and never had a bad meal! Throughout the day there is a variety of food options; Discovery Restaurant does stir fry, Dome Restaurant does all the buffet options (which vary most days), The Malange area has a daily BBQ and cold salad options, The Sunset Bar & Grill does burgers, chips etc and then the Rendevous has hot meat kebabs and salad options.

Entertainment wise there are a variety of shows each day of the week, we caught a few of these. However because of the scale of the place, you dont have to go to The Joker Bar for the entertainment every night, we often went down to the piano bar and also the Grand Makadi Square is good to sit out for a drink in the evening, they also have entertainment. But of course we were there for the World Cup, so the hotel sorted a massive screen set-up on the beach with comfy seats and an all inclusive bar to boot - couldn't fault it! There is also the option of the Sports Bar in The Mall, but it's a bit pricey.

The junior suites are a good size and we had a fabulous sea view room! The cleaners are very good and each day upon return to your room it had a very clean disinfected smell, as well as a variety of towel animals - thank you Abdullah! The beds are enormous and very comfy and they are well proportioned with a lounge area and good sized balconies. Fresh beach towels are provided every day these are collected from your room early evening, or you leave them outside your room.

The hotel location is great, about half an hour transfer from the airport and also Hurghada Town. We did a day in the town, taking the free shuttle bus from outside the hotel reception returning early evening. Its definitely worth doing and there are some great bargains to be had, just remember your bataring skills! We didnt feel intimidated at all, and found all locals pleasant - especially when they realise you are British! We were recommended to go to the new marina area for a meal of an evening, but didn't get round to it! Apparently you can also take a 20 minute stroll just along the beach to a few bars outside of the Palace hotel, for a change if you like. There are a few other trips that we would like to have gone on, but we were having such a great time with the friends we had made there, that we ran out of time!

Which means we will be back in September for a cheeky week :)

I really would recommend this hotel, you will struggle to beat it value for money wise, but not just that it is a quality hotel and the staff know how to look after you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited the Makadi Palace in March 2014 and again from the 04th July 2014 to the 18th July 2014, Both times the holiday has been fantastic with the last visit being exceptional, All the staff are so attentive and very helpful in every area of the hotel. we found the room to be clean and very comfortable with a great view over the complex and the sea.
We visited nearly every restaurant and was able to book them with no issues, the food quality and portion sizes are very good and in some cases to much at some al'carte restaurants, the restaurant booking process was simple and every time I managed to book the restaurant I wanted first time.
We visited the Piano bar every evening prior to going to the restaurant and by the 2nd night the staff in the Piano bar knew who we were and what drinks we liked without even having to ask them. the atmosphere at the Piano bar was very relaxing.
Most days we stayed by the pool and found no issues getting sunbeds, the pool staff are very helpful putting up the umbrella and regularly asking if we would like a drink from the bar, it was like nothing was to much trouble for them even when the temperature was 43 degrees.
On our holiday we meet some very nice and interesting people who made the holiday even more fun.

One person stood out and that was Anna on guest relations, she was helpful and nothing was to much trouble for her, she made our stay one of the best holidays we have had and out of the 6 visits to Egypt since March 2013, this was by far the best experience, we send a big thank you to Anna.

My wife and Daughter are looking to return for a week in September 2014 and I and going to return with my Wife in October 2014 for another 2 weeks as we like this hotel so much.

Thanks for a great holiday Stephen Hayman & Susan Hayman

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing