We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, bad food, bad attitudes, illness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Willenhall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tired, bad food, bad attitudes, illness”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Got back after a weeks holiday, attitude of all staff was poor, almost that we was an inconvenience for daring to require food or drink. Food being removed from service even though there was over 30 minutes left for service.
Waiter in Discovery restaurant wiped his sweaty face with cloth .. Then wiped the dining room tables !! VILE !!
No kids choice, on food ... Lots of Luke warm rice ... Cold chicken ... Food quality is poor ... And I am a qualified Chef .. So this is a accurate review.
Sunbeds mostly broken , rusty nails sticking out .. The hotel is impressive with size and pools, but on closer looks pools have loads of leaves in .. Which is poor... All 3 of us .. 1 being a child had explosive diarehha and had to see doctor and still suffering at home had to see uk doctor aswell !!!
Pool toilets and hotel toilets poor, dirty and very very smelly
Bedroom furniture tired and dated, patio furniture broken and ripped seats.
Would I go back ??? No Never !!!
Plus point sea is amazing IF you take sea shoes, and snorkel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at The Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your comment with us.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We do hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future to exceed your expectation.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    606
    204
    85
    46
See reviews for
558
1,145
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Thank you makadi palace for the lovely week you created for my boyfriend and I, the hotel, restaurants and rooms were spotless. The staff were friendly happy and sincere nothing was too much trouble. The hotel manager Stephan Wright invited us to a beautiful meal in the 'botanical restaurant' along with 4 other guests and some of his managers, the evening was lovely, Stephan and his staff were extremely attentive and made us feel as if our opinion mattered as he is keen to improve the hotel. One of my only concerns was all restaurants were closed prior to our departure so we had to leave the hotel hungry with a long flight ahead of us, that was our only disappointment during the week. The tai restaurant in particular was gorgeous as was the Italian my personnel favourite. I would most definitely return to the Makadi palace I was very sad to leave we had had a fab wk. We wish Stephan and his staff well and continued success.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Have just returned from a week at the Makadi Palace with my wife (1 Aug 14). Overall the week was good and the hotel and everything connected with it comes in at a 'v good' or a '4 out of 5'. We were spoilt slightly having spent a week earlier in the year at the hotel next door (in the same group) The Sunwing.

First impressions when you get to a hotel are so important. The registering procedure on first arrival was ponderous and slow. It should have been a quicker way of doing things - get 20 new groups of guests in - get them all filling in their registration forms at the same time - and then get them issued with keys and on their way........ not quite so. The first bit went OK and then went pear shaped. The room keys took a while to get issued. The promised luggage 'boys' seemed not to appear and we set off following one lad with a fully loaded trolley on a fifteen minute trek through a maze of corridors. The place is a maze - you can get lost!!

The room, first appeared 'grubby' (not a good start) but on closer inspection it just needs to be 'refreshed', a bit of a spruce up. That said there was no plug in the bathroom sink, the light above the 'over bath shower' did not work, the extractor fan did not work and the water pressure in the shower was 'not good' and at one point disappeared altogether for 15 minutes or so, then came back on!! The light in the shower was fixed - but then would not switch off!!

Cupboards and storage in the rooms was 'ok' though some adjustments of doors need to be done - one would not shut without a bang!! If you want a cup of tea in the morning - take your own kettle, cups, tea and sugar - cutlery and cups cannot be taken into rooms though you can get small glasses of milk from various bars. The rooms at the Sunwing were just that much better - 'cleaner', brighter, more cupboard space with a bathroom to die for - and everything worked. I even took a picture of the shower - it was that good!!

Some other points -

The only area where wifi is available is in the main lobby - can be accessed easily enough during the day when few are connecting - but early evening time when there are 50 or so trying to connect - its impossible.

There are some dimly lit areas around the hotel and the corridors of a night time ( and during the day) take some getting used too - dark. More and better signage would be be of benefit. Should the occasion arise and you should need to use a fire extinguisher - you will need to be 6 foot plus (I am and I tried to lift one off - not easy).

Some sets of steps would benefit from the provision of handrails - it was noted that several people in that week had trouble getting up and down some steps (me included!!).

Lots of areas around and about where there could be lots of sun beds - but many of the sun brollies were 'covered up' and not working. If they had all been in use then even late comers to the pool area (us) would have found beds with brollies.

Food - was good but a little repetitive in the main dining rooms (The Dome and Discovery) several other places for snacks around the place the best being The Rendezvous - various snacks served throughout the day and a cracking beef kebab!!

Several al a carte restaurants are available. The Thai was good, The Botanical was said to be very good. In the Makadi Mall there are several. The Italian was very good with a great selection of fresh cooked pizzas. The indian (The Mumbai) on the other hand was not quite so good. The food was OK but the service on that night was not quite so good.

Plenty of bars and watering holes around the hotel but the 'all inclusive' part of it stops at midnight - when everyone goes in!! Drinks were good, a good variety and good quality. Friendly bar staff and waiters were very attentive. Assistance around the pool and the pool waiters were very good - all are to be commended - Mohammed Ibrahim in particular. Always on hand, always with a smile. Nice fella - they all were.

It was nice to note that even though the 'visa scam' still goes on at Hugarda airport, more people went the legal route - turn to the left when entering the terminal and go to The Bank- and do not get 'rail roaded' by the holiday company reps (and they all do it) to their area where you will pay more for your visa. Only a few pounds more - but it is a scam!!

All that said - we enjoyed the week. The weather was good (a bit too hot at times), met some nice people - there was a good mix of languages with the Brits being in the majority it seemed.

Would I/we go back there again - yes!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking pool or sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Before our trip I mailed the hotel and told them my trip was with my Daughter who was not only soon to be 21, but had just been accepted at Cambridge University I hoped they would be able to help us celebrate this. Upon arrival Mohamed Fetouh on reception met us and told us they had up-graded our room, He acknowledged my e-mail and was expecting us. He was most helpful the whole trip. Every time our paths crossed he asked if everything was going all right with us.
The resort is medium sized and has many restaurant options. All staff are very friendly and not forward or cheeky, as I have experienced previously in Egypt.Travelling with a gorgeous blonde 21 year old has usually caused us some unwanted attention. But the Makadi staff were just professional and friendly. Staying at the Makadi Palace you have access to the local Mall nice to eat their included in your all-inc package or walk around in the evening. I hope to sneak another week at this resort in September. The best accolade a resort can have is...We are going back. My only reason for not giving it a mark of 5, general lighting in all public areas could have been better..gardens were poorly lite at night and some communal ares could have been brighter.Not being able to read a menu or your watch is a pest..But so many good points you lean to live with it.

Room Tip: The staff are keen to make you happy, if you have requirement just ask ! If they can they will
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SooIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

most picturesque hotel I have ever stayed in.great views.bookable restaurants excellent quality and service and a guest adviser..Anna who was absolutely brilliant.
downhill from there..
the buffet restaurants were poor and closed very early.The staff in the bars were very surly and after midnight the all inclusive ceased..strange.restaurants charged for lots of courses.took us 3 days to get towels..room service butlers had no english at all.The cleaning was poor and we had to request toilet cleaning.same music tape over and over again around pool.entertainment sporadic.
watch when you get dressed up in the evenings .some of the plastic covers in the bars are split so you will get second hand sweat/suncream on yr clothes.the manager dry cleaned a dress for us.

wont be going back

wont be going back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

Kindly be assured that we consider all comments and requests.

We apologize that your expectation of a beach holiday was not exceeded.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First trip to Egypt and had a very good visit. The hotel was very good and my wife and daughter said they would happily return here.

Pros
- Good hotel with lovely layout and even though it was full it never seem over crowed.
- Not a big fan of buffet style eating but we had a choice of 12 restaurants, so this made the All Inclusive worth while.
- Found it clean despite other comments on here
- Only got hassled once for a tip, we always gave a tip for good/friendly service
- Beach was close by and snorkeling was fab

Cons
- Sandy beach not as nice as expected, minor.
- Wife is a straight veggie so found the food choice limited.

Tips
- Buy some beach shoes for walking in the sea
- Buy a snorkeling set
- Worth taking some $US for tipping

Generally we would prefer to try different places each year, but I would happily return here

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rakesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay at Makadi Palace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We usually like to try new places, but had such a good time here in November '13, that we welcomed the opportunity of another weeks stay at the end of June. Wasn't disappointed:) ...
of - course not the same wonder and joy of discovery as first sight of the spectacular Makadi Palace, which was so romantic in the moonlight and a delightful surprise in the first light of day. This is a great no brainier of a holiday, with the best of everything just waiting to be discovered. Could have done with more sun shades at loungers round the pool to shelter from the sweltering heat. But Loved the snorkelling, and to catch the last of the day in the Sunset Bar as the sun went down, then relax in the chilled and easy ambiance of Piano Bar for a pre dinner drink while we pondered on where to eat at night. A special thanks to Mohamed the catering manager, who again made us feel so special! He offers fantastic customer service and his staff are well trained and attentive from the superb intimate restaurants that require pre booking, down to larger self service buffet & BBQ with a tempting international selection. The adjoining Makadi Spa looks finished now and perfect for couples, so would urge young lovers to consider this as a romantic honeymoon destination, as they get the best of both worlds by being able to use the Makadi Palace facilities too. I'll certainly be recommending this to our soon to be newly weds! Thanks again to all the staff that made our stay quiet special! Lydia & Chris from Scotland

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyMe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adel A A, Rooms Division Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Makadi Palace and taking the time to share your valuable comments with us.

We are happy you had a nice time at the Makadi Palace.

Thank you for your kind words for our hotel staff members. It is a great motivation to the team at Makadi Palace to have your feed back.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your future holidays for relaxation and celebrations.

Best Regards,

Adel Abd Elhameed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Spa Hotel
The Makadi Spa Hotel
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Property: The Makadi Palace Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Makadi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing