We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“intim, quiet resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Labranda Club Makadi
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“intim, quiet resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We just returned from 2 weeks holiday and we already miss it. I want to mark some important points for those who read the comments on Trip advisor:
*Food: fresh salad, good grills, we recommend the Oriental and the Italian restaurants for the dinner;
*Dessert: it needs new fingers to bring more Oriental touch;
*Bars: the cocktails are not all inclusive, it cost 1 euro each, anyway we couldn't be fans of the local alcohols, except the rose wine that was better;
*Room: clean, nice view to the pools or to the sea; unfortunately, it had no safety box, you need to leave your values things in a special room in the reception;
*Pool: nice massage water fall in the pool, clean water;
*Beach: large enough for all the customers, great view, quiet, except the camel 'taxi' :)))))) which entertained us daily;
*Staff: offer them best and they are kind and polite, but we had the impression that there are less service workers then necessary.
Special thanks to the one who made our holiday with his kindness and permanent smile: Yonan (service and bar).
We also thanks to kitchen chef Ahmed Al Sharkawy for maintaining the 3 restaurants with very good and fresh food, checking everything all the time (this is what we liked to see in a chef!), to Obama, the animator, for his energy and for the daily intensive aqua gym ( he is the best for it if you want to lose weight during the holiday and to 'resurrect' your muscles!). Thanks for the music of Tarek, for Mereyem's charm and the sporty Alexei. We may forgot some names in this comment, but they know we appreciated them while we had been there.
P.S: 75-80% of the customers are Russian, just some Germans, French and Belgium, so try to be wise and enjoy the holiday, ignoring some rudeness of the majority!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IRIN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    106
    53
    17
    16
See reviews for
130
70
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

So going on reviews my partner and I decided that a weeks R&R here would be good. First impressions are ok. The rooms are confortable and clean but definatley not 4 star. The airconditioning wasnt great with temps rising this could have been better, I would say that its just old and tired therefore not functioning to the best of its ability. The staff were friendly enough and helped when required.

The restaurants ! Firstly I would have to say that they need to employ a few more members of staff, the tables where only set ready if you were there as soon as it had opened otherwise you were forced to look for knives and forks yourself. Lunch was served in the openair restaurant near to the beach which was nice, however the weather was very hot but also very windy and this meant that food got cold very quick and for those of you that like soup, well try eating it in the wind. ! The food was repetative although not unpleasant. We were on the ground floor room number 2338, this was nicely situated however the music from the animation team was loud and constant throughout the day, Im 36 and this bugged me after a while. The grounds and pool were nice and very well kept. There is a limited amount of english at the hotel and had been informed that myself and my partner being 2 of the 4 here this week. The majority of the guests were russian and whilst it maybe that their culture is different from ours they did appear rude and obnoxious, by pushing in and walking into us. The area itself was great and I think I would definately return but im sorry to say it wont be to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson, lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I went here on the 1st of feb this year for 1 week with my wife and kids (2 years + 1 year).
The apartments were suitable for our family reasonable size with plenty of wardrobe space. We were located on the ground floor room number 2338, it was 20meters from the pool and about 50 meters from the beach. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day and it was nice to see the towel's made into swans and the childrens blankets folded into hearts. 10 egyption pounds tip every couple of days kept them sweet and they left you a few extras. The mini bar in the room is topped up daily with water a bottle of coke and a bottle of sprite all free.
The animation team were great with the kids they loved them both having blonde hair and blue eyes. A different show every night and activities throughout the day. I played darts and beach football with them most days.
I was surprised all activities were free in the hotel price apart from something needing fuel. Camel ride horse ride surfing wind surfing pedalos snorkle hire all free to do.
I am looking at going back in september as we really enjoyed it. I would recommend this place to anyone for a holiday where you just want to stay on resort its Fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

There are so many fine features of this hotel it is to be hoped the management will take any criticisms as customer advice. The hotel has five star and four star wings worthy of the name, imaginatively designed and set in carefully cultivated and well-maintained gardens almost English in character. The lobby of Club Azur is spacious, grand and comfortably furnished. So is the main restaurant where the food is varied, plentiful and freshly-prepared. Great pastry chef, and the local white wine, and rum, are quite drinkable. Everywhere is clean to a fault. The outdoor pools around which the modern rooms are set are a lot of fun, and they lead onto a small sandy bay which has beds, boats, camels and horses all of which make for an agreeable stay. A paddle along the left arm of the bay is also rewarding.

Having created a demi-paradise, it seemed to me that because of a misunderstanding on the management's part of what holidaymakers wanted, they let their carefully-created ambiance be shattered by an over-active, young `animation' team. For long periods of the day the lovely hotel, its grounds, pools and beach were polluted by the `boom boom, thud thud' of an open-air disco. There was no escape. No activity provided by the animation team went unaccompanied by the thuds coming from two poolside speakers the size of tank traps. Who was it for? No one danced. The pensioners who made up the majority didn't want it. The kiddies took no notice. The deaf were not present in large numbers, and I didn't see any teenagers lining up to pay the bill at the end of the week. Come 9pm and the animation was even more intimidating. You were practically dragged into a large, ugly marquee where the team shouted at you and expected you to shout back. It was enough to leave the Sheiks in Sharm shaking in their tents. Very down market, and a form of punishment entirely due to a management in thrall to its animation crew who frankly walked all over them and the customers.Gentlemen, you need to turn them and their speakers off. In the winter months your cutomers tend to be of an older generation. Cater for their enjoyment, and you might see a good many more British people (notably thin on the ground while we were with you) choose your otherwise excellent hotel.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet choose a room that does not overlook the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 576davidjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

8th visit to Egypt and have experienced lots of the wonderful culture and fab hotels. We arrived in the dark to a wonderful welcome, shown to our room, which was everything we expected. It was a 1st to have kettle and drinks supplies, and fridge with water and soft drinks. Wonderful. Breakfast was as always lots of choice something for everyone, lunch at either hotel (you can go next door) was wonderful. Dinner was not as good. However after days food, bread, salad etc was ample. The Italian resturant could be improved too> The staff were all so very helpful. The pool warm, the bay a dream, use pedlos free was lovely. We booked a trip on a small boat with a glass window in, and my friend and I had this to ourselves with Ahmed our lovely captain. Out on the pontoon is wonderful too. There is another world there if you choose to snorkel. Thanks to you all we had a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Dont worry if your in room 2047 and see the children's club, as they are only there late am to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alielaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Nice clean hotel,staff were good,rooms was comfortable.The only problem was the birds at lunch time, they would sit on your food if you was not there, food was always cold, and there was too many russians which the hotel seemed to cater for more than the english.There was only eight couples that was english.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipetsk, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I had stayed in this hotel from 24/11/2012 to 02/12/2012. As I already written in the title, I have mixed impressions.
---
Placing. Really liked the hotel facilities, clean, well maintained. If someone needs - the room was 2402, block E. There was everything, as stated, television, refrigerator, efficient air conditioning, hairdryer, tea set (cups, tea), constantly updated tea bags, coffee and cream powder. Bed with no frills, but comfortable. In our room was a shower, not bath. The room was on the 2nd floor, so there was a balcony with a table and two chairs. Convenient armoire is also present, as well as tables and desks with drawers. It should be noted that it was not correct information in the description of the hotel, that all rooms have outstanding views of the sea. Of course, not all rooms. I like very much central building of reception. Very beautiful lobby, with high ceilings, comfortable furniture and air conditioning, bar, opened until midnight, live music, nice to spend time in the evening. Big drawback of this hotel, in my opinion, is the lack of individual safes in the rooms. Safes are available for free at the reception, it is a separate room with the cells, you are given a key that only you have, but in order to open the box, you need a second key of manager. So it was very uncomfortable, first, walking in the building of reception to open your safe, and secondly, constantly tugging managers who already have a lot of work, and asking them to open the cell. I think this hotel could easily afford to buy individual safes in the rooms. Suppose that the service will be paid, well, who against. Still annoyed by the lack of a magnetic cards, here you will find a key with a keychain for electricity, which is also very uncomfortable. Moreover, there is only one key for all people living in a room.
---
Food. Here, of course, everything is subjective. Very poorly in terms of fruit. Many salads are very doubtful by the smell. Breakfast is very weak, except for the omelet, perhaps, nothing good had happened. For lunch and dinner, the table is very diverse. Fish is delicious. Sausages traditionally awful. Nice plus - free ice cream. Packaged juices - only guava. Of course, you will not be hungry, you will always find something for yourselves. As for drinks. Water from the cooler is not bottled water. Ice also does not made of clean water. Drink guava juice, tea, beer and bottled water from the room. Drinking tap water in any case is impossible. Coffee in the restaurant is terrible. Free alcohol, in my opinion, is traditional: vodka, gin, wine, rum, whiskey. All of dubious quality. The beer was bad. And yes, at the lunch sparrows are swarming in the restaurant, do not leave your spot without supervision.
---
Service. Excuse me, but I don't like Egyptians. Some of them are rude. Of course, it is the individual elements in the mass, not the majority, but it's an important part of the staff. Staff badly washes plates and glasses. Always have to be alert and to inspect the plates, you want to take. Some waiters and cleaners in the lobby pleasantly surprised me with their smiles, wishes to enjoy your meal and good rest. Big greetings to the waiter named Hamada. A great person. Rooms are cleaned great. Every day. They also bring water, tea, coffee, sugar. Sometimes they also put a Coke or Sprite in bottles. Once we were awarded with 2 cans of beer and juice. Very big trouble - stealing cigarettes from the rooms. It's very annoying. I do not know why, maybe it's expensive for them $ 4 for a pack to buy, or they want to try import cigarettes, but they steal cigarettes, I say it with 100% certainty. So our cleaner in this case had lost his tips.
---
Infrastructure, land and rest. In terms of beauty hotel is brilliant. A large green area in front of the hotel, lawns along the buildings, palms. The territory is compact and comfortable, the hotel consists of several three-storey buildings. The beach is sandy, very pleased. A lot of sunbeds. Pool is great, but it's deep only in the middle. We were a bit unlucky in terms of weather, bad wind confused and often forced to swim and sunbathe at the pool, not in the sea. The sea is awesome. Clean, clear water at any depth. Free catamaran for 30 minutes a day. Entertainment team works great in the hotel. Music around the pool, morning exercise, water aerobics, darts, belly dancing, water polo, volleyball everyday. The guys try to communicate with other vacationers and entertain them. Also, almost every day there are evening shows in the amphitheatre. The hotel has a fitness center, sports shoes required. 2 tennis courts, a targets for archery. Also there are shops, souvenirs, clothes, gold, hair salon, little spa. The hotel has only one ATM machine, only Egyptian pounds, but pounds can easily be exchanged at shops in the lobby. Wi-fi in the lobby is free. There is a disco bar on the 2nd floor of the central building. You can use all the facilities of the nearby Hotel Royal Azur 5 *, except bars and restaurants. No bracelets. There is oriental corner in the hotel, where you can smoke a hookah. It costs a ridiculously - $1. Apple tobacco. If you wish to smoke other tobacco you can buy any tobacco to your taste, it costs also ridiculous - $1. Hookah is basically good. Huge greetings and thanks to Ahmed, who worked during our stay.
---
Summary. There is no place to go out at Makadi bay. Or you can go to Hurghada, or have rest at the hotel. I do not know, how it is in other times of the year, but at our arrival it was very boring to stay at this hotel. Most people in the age, families with children or couples. The sun was setting at 5 pm. At 6:00 it was dark. At 11 pm, after the evening entertainment, the hotel slept. Therefore, the hotel is perfect for a quiet cozy holiday with family or couple. The main pleasure travelers get from the sea and its underwater world. Of course, the hotel is not perfect, the disadvantages was described. Therefore recommend the hotel, but not for young people.
---
I'm sorry for my english, thanks for reading.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AntonioBanderasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#20 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.9 mi away
LABRANDA  Garden Makadi
LABRANDA Garden Makadi
#23 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labranda Club Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labranda Club Makadi

Property: Labranda Club Makadi
Address: KM 34 Hurghada-Safaga Road | Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Club Azur Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Labranda Club Makadi 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LABRANDA Club Makadi – Super beach, enjoy a prime location in Makadi Bay, one of the most special areas of Hurghada, featuring an amazing beach which adds to the natural beauty of this property. Also the hotel is only a few minutes' drive from the Makadi and Soma Bay golf courses, securing a complete holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Labranda Club Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Azur Hotel Makadi Bay
Resort All Inclusive Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing