We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable apart from main restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serenity Makadi Beach
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable apart from main restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We were a bit dubious about our stay here after reading the reviews after booking our holiday but nevertheless went with an open mind as not every persons opinion is the same.
We have been to Eqypt before so sort of knew what to expect but we had never stayed at an all inclusive hotel, when we arrived the booking in procedure was simple and staff were very helpful. When we got to our room we were very pleased with it, was situated in block C2 which is close to the Baywatch restaurant and the beach. It was very spacious with a huge bed,plenty of storage and a large walk in shower, the only down point at the stage was how long the bell boy took to get our luggage to our room but hey what the heck your on holiday enjoy !! After reading another review on Trip advisor we ate the majority of time at the Baywatch restaurant, excellent views lot less crowded and manic than the main restaurant, it is open for breakfast and lunch (fresh pizza). We also ate on our allowed 1 occasion at both the Italian and Oriental restaurants again better than eating in the main restaurant. Now the main restaurant what can I say not a lot really did not enjoy the experience at all but that is just our opinion, majority of the food was clearly aimed at the majority of the guests who were Russian and German.
I cannot fault the staff in anyway, if you want to get good service tip the chef you WILL be looked after that way.
What I could not understand is that on the first couple of days the red flags were up on the jetty so staff were turning people away from swimming off the jetty but some guests were arguing with them about this but this was done as it was not safe as it was very windy?? That said when you could snorkel it was amazing so many different fish so make sure you take your snorkeling stuff with u, cheaper then buying at hotel but if u do buy there barter with the shopkeeper they will take offers.
Other negatives were ice cream only served at the main pool bar between 2pm and 4pm, and paper plates used at main pool bar.
Positives outweigh negatives but would not return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    302
    136
    103
    106
See reviews for
409
462
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Hotel about 20 miles from the town, so note you are NOT in Hurgada, nothing really outside the hotel, having said that, the gardens are lovely and the beach not bad at all, corals dead until you are just before the deep waters so not a touch on Sharm. Food not bad, service very slow, no one really takes any notice of you. Had to run around more than once to get knife and fork....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucsetershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Went to Serenity Heights last year with my daughter and had to return this year with my other daughter and friends!!!!! Its an amazing place, beautiful surroundings and the egyptians are some of the nicest people you will ever meet, nothin is too much for them and they go out of their way to make your holiday and enjoyable one. The food is fantastic, with somethin for everyone, we ate at the beach restaurant at lunchtimes, where fresh pizza and the most amazin curries were prepared and cooked in front of your eyes. At night you could sample so many different dishes, with friday night being egyptian night........the waiters dressed in traditional costume, serving some of the nicest food i have ever tasted!!!! Thank you so much for the best holiday ever......we will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzzer620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

This hotel was 5* if it was only based on everything but the food.

The hotel reception and halls were very impressive and clean. Only one downside was that there were people smoking (kind of got used to people not smoking indoors).

The bedroom was large with a very large comfy bed (wish i could have brought it home!). The shower could have been a little cleaner but certainly not off putting. Firdge in the room with hair dryer and TV. Two bottles of water in the fridge when we got there but these were not replaced and was disapointing considering it is all inclusive. However, every stairs does have its on large water cooler where you can fill your own bottles or kettle up.

The grounds of the hotel are huge, I didnt realise that there were another two swimming pools the other side until four days in. Yes the pools are cold but there was a heated pool which was suitable.

There wasnt a huge beach area but there was a volley ball net and some other activity areas you could use. There was a guy with Camel (nicknamed Pablo) who we used to see every day, very friendly. There are plenty of places to get a drinks, three self serving pool bars and a beach bar where you could get alcoholic drinks.

The sea was out of this world. I have snorkled the great barrier reef and i got to say, it wasnt far off. I was lucky, saw two lion fish, clown fish and dory from finding nemo.

Now for the food.

In the evening the Buffet food was very bland and usually the same thing every night except one or two dishes. Usually went to the kids corner or to the chef for our pasta dish. Some people have said the food was great, cant say i really agreed.

I usually filled myself up at lunch where it seemed to have a more varied buffet, this was at the restaurant on the beach. Chips, pizza, chicken breast, toasties and a few others. Unfortunately, we didnt realise this existed until the fourth day we were there.

The italian restaurant was very nice, cant say the same for the oriental. We even left half way through and went to bed. Wish I had tipped the waiter on the door of the Italian and eaten there every night like someone else mention on a previous post! A good idea.

Overall, very good holiday except the food. Excursions were cheaper than tour operator and a trip to Paradise Island is a must. I paid £35 each for that trip and had a trip on the glass bottom submarine for free. Quad biking again was ok, wished they offered me the private trip first of all as we were just stuck in a line for most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

Very good hotel! The restaurant is very good and tasty cooked every night was a \"theme\" dinner (the eastern, maritime, U.S.).""The hotel area is large, full of flowers, beach clean. furnished. Service polite. Professional diving center"

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

This is my 4th trip to Egypt, first time in Makadi Bay and I have been very impressed with the Serenity makadi heights hotel. We stayed for 11 nights from 1st-12th March 2010.

Bad Points:
*location is extremely secluded- there is no access to Makadi Bay except by taxi at 15Euro
*not many staff speak Engish well so getting questions answered was sometimes a bit of mission!
*Internet access is sooooo slow and expensive at 10Euro per hour
*Evening entertainment was awful! Egyptian 'singers' tackling power ballad classics was painful.....

Good Points:
*Rooms are great with fridge, hairdryer, shower/wet room, tea/coffee facility, seating area, balcony, king size bed, super soft pillows!
*Good cleaning service with plenty of towels and new sheets every other day
*Meal times were fab with plenty of choice, always varied, we found it to be hot and replenished regularly
*Access to Italian/Oriental restaurant was nice change -served at your seat and food was great
*Plenty of sunbeds at pools and beach with padded loungers and chair/table
*Cocktails for free! Only 4 to choose from but they were lovely and not too strong!
*Lots of different nationalities in this hotel (we met russian,czech, norwegian, french, italian, german etc) made for a real holidy experience - not the usual 'packed full of Brits'
*Spa, trips, shops and camel rides were all great value considering there was no alternative
*The best equipped gym I have ever seen in a hotel! All the usual cardio and weights machines but top of the range stuff
*Snorkelling was amazing! Great jetty access to reef, reasonable prices to hire equipment, life guard on duty at all times and brilliant sealife right at the hotel beach :D
*Quiet on an evening so had plenty of undisturbed sleep - just what we needed!

Room for improvement:
*Pools could do with a paint round the edges where salt water has eroded the plaster
*Plastic cups for beach/pool drinks were tiny and made spirit/mixers far too strong
*Trips from the hotel were offered at different prices to different nationalities eg boat trip was 30Euro for Germans but £35 for us???? Got it down to £30 but thought that was unfair
*The animation team were exclusively German/Russian so didn't see any shows because we wouldn't have understood what was being said
*There were gaps in the food availability - normally 5* all inclusive you can get food at any time of day/night but there was no food service between 10am-12pm, 4-6.30pm and 10pm onwards which was disappointing

Overall we had a great time, plenty of rest, great snorkelling and would defintely return!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmalouise649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

having got back on friday 5 march we had mixed feelings about the hotel the hotel, rooms ,pool ,gardens and general layout are fantastic and would say 5 star close to the beach the discription and photos are spot on but the down side was the food i would hardly call it 5 star more 3 very bland and booring in the buffet at night the russians enjoyed it the way they pile there plates up you are only allowed in the italian once but i gave them a tip and endid up there on 4 nights my birthday was on tuesday and they made me a cake and sang happy birthday which a thought was great they was such good lads anouther down side was that it is supposed to be alinclusive but you had to refill the bottles of water for your fridge or pay and you could not get a drink after midnight unless you paid and that was in the lounge bar when the disco started at 10 30 it was so loud we had to go and sit in the reception area no prob though more comfy the sad part was we hade some money stolen from our room my wife left 20£ in a bag and they went trough our things we did report it but they wernt interested so overall we did have a great time just a few blips we would recomend it but would not go back we went to the hilton sharks bay in sharme el shieke last november that reaily was 5 star good luck davieb

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davieb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
2.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Makadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Makadi Beach

Property: Serenity Makadi Beach
Address: Safaga Road 36 Km | P.O. Box 324, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Makadi Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity Makadi Beach is located on the west banks of the Red Sea, built in Moroccan style. Opened in January 2007, this spacious five Stars Resort spans a total of 400,000 sq. meters, surrounded by large gardens, it is located directly on the Red Sea situated on its own wide beach 320m, offering spectacular views over the turquoise water and an amazing experience of a luxury life style, combined with the warmth of true Egyptian hospitality. The rooms are divided into five wings 17 clusters of 2-3 floors. You can simply relax on the hotel's beach or one of the spectacular 7 swimming pools. The resort has every possible feature to make your stay enjoyable by offering a wide range of safari and diving trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Onthebeach, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serenity Makadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Makadi Heights Hotel Makadi Bay
Serenity Makadi Heights Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing