We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hang in there African Divers Nuweiba...”

African Divers Nuweiba
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Nuweiba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are your First Choice for Scuba Diving in Nuweiba! The dive centre has been rated a PADI 5-star centre, TDI Technical Diving Facility and CMAS educational facility. All PADI, TDI and CMAS courses from very beginner to dive instructor are offered. Our filing statiuon is fully equipped for NITROX, Trimix and Rebreather diving. There are daily dive excursions to over 20 pristine dive sites, offering 1-4 daily-dives.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“hang in there African Divers Nuweiba...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We revisited African Divers Nuweiba several times since our first visit a few years ago. I am not going to repeat my recommendations from my last preview, they are still entirely valid.
The damage done by religious and political extremism is wreaking havoc on Egypt's tourism industry, empty hotels, empty dive camps, dive centre owners struggling to keep in business, dive guides sitting idle in the dive centres. These small owners made enormous efforts and invested most of their savings in their business to accommodate us Westerners so we could enjoy top class diving just hours away from our cold, murky and next to lifeless Northern European seas. We shouldn't let them down now that they need us most...the critters are still there and Hamdi and his crew will spare no efforts to give you a great diving experience. We usually go for the macro stuff (my wife is an underwater macro photographer) but we saw also saw nice big stuff like rays, several big groupers and at least two really huge napoleons wrasses.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peetersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fabulous dive outfit, fabulous dive sites with fantastic macro life”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days diving with Hamdi and his team in June. We had been tipped off that Nuweiba was a hidden gem for critter diving, and very different to the usual type of diving so popular in the Red Sea.

To say we were impressed is an understatement. All the diving is from the shore and so relatively easy - great for new/inexperienced divers - but the variety of sea life made it outstanding for those divers like ourselves who have been fortunate to dive all over the world.

African Divers are based in the Swisscare Resort (reviewed separately) and were professional, friendly and accommodating from the start. They were happy to allow us to more or less choose which sites we wanted to dive, as well as providing great advice about their favourite locations.

So what did we see that made it all so fabulous? Lots and lots is the answer, including sea horses, frog fish, partner gobis, flat worms, nudibranchs, stone fish, baby pufferfish, octopus, robust ghost pipefish, tiny shrimps etc, as well as the usual Red Sea fish life in abundance. The relatively shallow depths and absence of current allowed plenty of bottom time to really explore and take masses of photos.

If you want Red Sea diving with a difference, or are a keen underwater photographer, we would certainly recommend visiting this part of the country and diving with African Divers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monkeys_Mum_and_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Super sites, great guide, efficient service, recommended”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We did 5 days' diving with African, arranged by Hamdi. He was well prepared with a plan each day, kept us informed and welcomed us to the centre each morning.
Our guide was Hytham, who was a good, friendly and fun guide. He gave us brief information on each site, and then navigated accurately around them, pointing out specific fish that we had asked about, sighting seahorses and exchanging information with us. He clearly cared for the marine environment, collecting stray bags and fishing line on each dive. We loved The Pipelines site, where the bat fish were playful, and we also saw some Pixie Hawkfish. Watching turtles eat, on 6 out of 10 dives, never failed to interest us. The marine life all appeared quite unbothered and undisturbed by our presence, enabling us to peacefully observe them. We were, most times, the only divers present at any site.
I recommend African Divers for their efficiency, friendliness and professionalism.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vezwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Diving!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great Service, great diving. One week private guide, perfect for macro photography. The dive base has been enlarged and is very inviting. Thank you Hamdi!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So easy”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We travelled as a group of 5 divers and Jane doing a course to become one which she did and thoroughly enjoyed it
easy shore diving
Hamdi has a good operation going where nothing was too much trouble
Dive guide Hisam really knows his stuff
Highly recommended

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Subaquatones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed African Divers Nuweiba also viewed

Nuweiba, South Sinai
Nuweiba, South Sinai
 
Nuweiba, South Sinai
 

Been to African Divers Nuweiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing