We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let there be peace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Catherine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Catherine's Monastery Guesthouse
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This is not a place that lots of people would like. But I loved it because is was so peaceful so restful. What a wonderful place to think and reflect. I would love to spend a month there. The oppertunity for Spiritual growth is unlimited.

Not so Phar North

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NSPharNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

Visit St.Catherine's Monastery and hike up the mountain; then be sure to book a stay at the guesthouse. Not luxurious but reasonably clean and certainly quiet. Our heat/AC worked well, though the shower drain backed up! The meals were delicious buffet-style in a large clean room where it is easy to share stories with fellow pilgrim travelers. Note: be sure to set aside several hours for the climb to the top of the mountain--it's a long hike! And don't miss the fantastic museum within the monastery.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

It is Egypt. Air conditioning didn't work. Flies in the room were easy to kill. Food at the guest house was plentiful. If you are going up the mountain in the do not try to walk up...rent a camel and guide. About $30. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This Monastery hotel/guest house from the outside fits in with the very special and beautiful St. Catherine's Monastery. The room was quaint, and simple, which fit in and made it feel as an authentic monastery. But do not open the bathroom door. We were staying in one of the nicer rooms, and the bathroom was a living hell. Dirty black, greasy hairs all over the shower, around the toilet and all over the filthy tile floor. The shower pan had mold, mildew and filth in the grout. Dirt was on the floor. It was absolutely filthy.

The shower is a crummy little hand held shower that pumps out ice cold and then scalding hot water, with no shower curtain floods the entire bathroom, creating floating mats of scum. I have never in all my years traveling experienced such disgusting bathrooms. BEWARE! I also checked other rooms and other guests were just as horrified and were the same.

The Egyptians, while nice, run the guest house, need serious training in what is considered clean in a bathroom and presented with a 50 gallon drum of bleach, complimentary.

The outdoor corridor and eating establishment, filled with smoking workers, had thousands of flies that would crawl all over you. Reason is because they are dumping rotting garbage behind the wall of the restaurant and not covering it or disposing of it promptly. The flies were just awful. Thousands of them. A $300 commercial fly light would remedy the problem and covering of garbage (Note: use cans!).

Not recommended and would stay in town at a couple of newer looking hotels I noticed at the base of St Catherine's.

The Monastery itself, the experience of Mt Sinai, the Orthodox Priests were wonderful and very special.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank woodyhiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

This place is unique, at the foot of Mt Sinai, 5 km from town. But for US$65 you get a double room, breakfast AND DINNER. And even though we were there during Easter week, when they were not serving meat, the dinner was still very filling. The rooms are large, and very plain, no fancy stuff. I called a made a reservation with Moses, who seems to run the place. He also arranged for a group taxi/service taxi to Cairo 150LE for two. The downside to the monastery guest house is that it's 5km? to town and supplies, and taxis charge an arm and a leg for a round trip 20 to 30 LE. But the upside is the scenery, it's in a canyon surrounded by bare rugged mountains. The other upside is, it's the starting point for the 3 to 4 hour trek to the top of Mt Sinai, an awesome experience. Yasar's travel hint: hike the mountain during the day, the scenery is spectacular, few other hikers, and you can probably go without a guide (80LE) like we did. We were the only ones on the top!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

The location is excellent and is where all the groups gather before the climb up Mt Sinai. It is also great to be able to finish the climb, rtn to your room and then just walk a few steps to visit St Catherine's Monastery.

Service is good, food is OK, and the rooms are basic and not what you can call spotless but this is as expected. If you are staying here for the climb up Mt Sinai then this is no problem as you won't be sleeping (much) in the Guesthouse anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank winnie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

We only stayed one night at this hotel, after having spent two nights in the Sinai desert. The hotel is situated next to the Monastery, which makes the location - between the mountains - very pittoresk and pretty, and quiet as well. Monks walk around the property, which adds to the serene feel. The rooms do not have airconditioning, but are quite cool. The bathroom we had was large and we enjoyed a nice shower after not having been able to shower for three days! They use some kind of boiler system (we saw four or five men changing them...very large and heavy!) So, if the boiler's empty...that would mean no showers. So be careful with the use of water. Although the windows have mosquito nets, this did not prevent ants from entering our room to check out our food...

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Len81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to St. Catherine's Monastery Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Catherine's Monastery Guesthouse

Address: At the Foot of Mount Horeb, Saint Catherine, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Saint Catherine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Catherine
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
St. Catherine`s Monastery Guesthouse Hotel Saint Catherine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing