We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous freshly cooked food”
Review of Tandoori

Tandoori
Ranked #24 of 308 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our award-winning Tandoori Indian restaurant is a local favourite. You can watch resident Indian Chef Abhay at work in the open-air show kitchen. The menu includes meat, chicken, fish and vegetarian specialties, plus freshly-cooked breads. The courtyard is cooled by fans in summer, and heated in winter. Reservation is recommended.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous freshly cooked food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a gem this place is, and a must for us to visit at least once every time we come to Naama Bay. The Open air courtyard is lovely, with subtle lighting, beautiful tables and an open kitchen where the Chefs are pleased to welcome anyone who wants to don a hat and learn about the preparation of their meal. When we visited last week there were three children in the kitchen having a wonderful time. Its all very professional and the staff are charming and speak good English.

Food is divine - I am vegetarian and never fail to have a delicious meal here. And if you want to vary the meal as described you only have to ask. My husband enjoys a hot curry and special requested extra chillis in his dinner - boy did he get them!!! Waiter charming - he performed tricks and quizzes for us - a really good laugh. He will only do this if you are interested, he will leave you alone if you wish for a peaceful evening.

Just great! Top marks guys - keep it going, we cant WAIT to eat with you again on our next visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear CarolHands,

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are truly delighted you awarded us top marks for our atmosphere, service and food! We're really pleased that you loved our selection of authentic Indian dishes, which includes a wide range of vegetarian choices, and the option of requesting your curry mild, medium - or spicy, as in your husband's case!

While our staff provide an attentive yet unobtrusive service, they do love having the chance to go the "extra mile", and we're really pleased that our waiter added to your overall experience at Tandoori.

Our chefs too are thrilled to show those interested around our show kitchen, with its specially-built Tandoori oven, and introduce our guests to the art of making Naan bread.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your recommendation with other travellers, and the whole team looks forward to welcoming you back at Tandoori next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    102
    42
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The best Curry House in town!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Everything is made freshly and to order. You can select if you want a dish to be made with more spice, heat etc. You can also make your own naan bread there! The seating is outdoors in a sheltered courtyard, fans are used in the hotter summer months to make sure you have a comfortable dining experience. The food is excellent and rivals any curry houses in Brick Lane, the Curry Mile etc. in the UK. Good value and always excellent service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear FayeW,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we're thrilled that you consider us the best Curry House in town!

We're especially proud that you rate us highly even in comparison with restaurants in areas famed for their curry, like Brick Lane, and that you consider both our food and service to be excellent.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your review with other travellers, and we look forward to the pleasure of your company at Tandoori on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Meal with daughters & friend”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Service excellent, visited twice during our stay. My daughters made the Nann breads, great idea which makes it very personal. Food excellent

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Bridget N,

We're delighted that you awarded us the top rating on Trip Advisor and that you found both our food and service to be excellent! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers.

We're really pleased that your daughters enjoyed making their own Naan breads in our glass fronted show kitchen -- our staff love having the chance to show off their skills too!

Thanks again for sharing your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to dine with us again at Tandoori on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not as good as it was”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

quite disappointed ,in the food cooked very well but not as good as we have at home they charged extra for avegetable curry to go with a biryani and 17 egiptian pounds for a large bottle of water

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear joan 14,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers, and we're really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal. Please accept our apologies. We have passed on your comments to our head Chef.

We do benchmark our prices carefully against other local restaurants in order to ensure that we remain competitive, and one thing to keep in mind is that our menu prices always include service charge and local taxes. We don't add extra charges to your bill at the end on top of the published prices in the menu, which is common practice elsewhere.

Our Chef prepares his biryani as a rice dish to accompany other main meals and we include this within the "accompaniments" section on our menu, so that our guests may order biryani to accompany their choice of curry main dish, which is charged separately. Our waiters should have explained this when you placed your order, and please accept our apologies if this was not done at the time.

Thanks again for posting your comments and we hope you would allow us the opportunity to demonstrate to you our high standards of food and service on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Each time we go to sharm we surely visit this restaurant.
We were there for 15 nights this time and had dinner here twice. Excellent foood, service and even WIFI!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank salmapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamelDive-Sharm, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear salmapat
Thanks for sharing your feedback and we're thrilled that you make a point of dining with friends at Tandoori, every time you visit Sharm! It's a great compliment that you return to us time after time, and we're delighted that you enjoy our food, service and free wifi service.
On behalf of the entire Tandoori team, thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to dine with us on your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandoori also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing