We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th stay...BUT.....!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropicana Azure Club
Ranked #118 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Sheppey, Kent, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“5th stay...BUT.....!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was our 5th stay in 6 years at the Azure Club. As always we had a lovely time. BUT sadly it seems that Thomson are determined to ruin the resort. As far as I am concerned turning it into a Family Resort was a big mistake. The complex is compact and although it may have the largest single pool in Sharm it does not have the space nor facilities for the hoards of uncontrollable brats that the "Family Resort " tag has attracted to it. During our stay very few parents kept control of their children and I doubt that many knew where their little angels were for most of the time. The Thomson Annimation team were all but invisible except for a couple of hours in the afternoon in the pool. They were never friendly or helpful and if you didn't read the notice board several times a day then you didn't know what was going on because they never put themselves out to let you know. They also made no attempt to control the kids running across the stage etc during the odd times that they did decide to organise evening shows etc. The Russian Annimation Team on the other hand were always friendly and helpful all day and were the only ones we saw mingling with the guests and they always had smiles on their faces. The hotel staff as usual were friendly, helpful and would do anything to help. We only had one problem and that was with the drink waiters who changed in our second week. The first crew bent over backwards to make sure you were never without a drink and always had a table. Those during our second only seemed interested in collecting empty glasses. On one occassion when we asked for a coffee for our wheelchair bound mother, we were told to go to the bar ourselves, from that moment on we didn't even bother asking the waiters for help. I have read reports that the pool and grounds are dirty or poorly maintained. All I can say to this is that in 5 stays at the Azure Club the pool and grounds have been spotless and well kept. The food at the Azure Club has always been good, but this year we noticed a great improvement in variety and quality.
To sum everything up, I cannot fault the hotel or its staff,(except for a few drinks waiters). BUT I do think Thomson should reconsider the "Family Resort" tag and seriously look into its annimation teams enthusiasm for their work outside of the pool. The Azure Club would make a superb adults resort. The Grand Azure across the road with all its extra facilities should be the "Family Resort".
My wife and I dearly want to return to the Azure Club for a 6th time next year. The only reason we are hesitant is the "Family Resort" tag may have ruined the hotels charm by then. When inconsiderate parents allow their kids to ruin other peoples enjoyment and think that it's funny then staff members should step in and take control. Many who read this will sympathise with what I have said and those that don't will be the parents of the brats in question.

Room Tip: If you want sun on your balcony from mid morning onwards go for a pool view in blocks 1,3,5,7,9 or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianstan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    473
    189
    91
    82
See reviews for
454
592
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We've just returned, had a brilliant holiday
Clean hotel, friendly staff, food not to everyone's taste but lots of choice and all well cooked, I'm quite fussy but had no problems finding something every meal time.
The kids club staff were great, really enthusiastic, my 4 year old loved the kids entertainment in the evenings.
The main pool got very busy but the smaller pool was much quieter, we spent 2 days at the beach at the sister hotel which was lovely, you need something on your feet though as the sand is quite grainy and hard.
We had a fantastic week, the only thing that would put me off going again is the location, it's really hard to go for a stroll outside the complex as the local shop keepers will do everything to get you to go into their shops including giving gifts to children which can be quite uncomfortable of course this is no fault of the hotel.
I would also recommend the English bar which is literally just outside the complex gate, it's really reasonably priced and great food!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

just returned home had a great holiday the staff are excellent first time for me in Egypt but will return, the rooms are big and clean the pool was great for my grandsons we got the little train from the sister hotel across the road to the beach.
to all staff thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris6207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in May 2013 the Hotel was brilliant nothing was to much trouble were at first put in a room up two flights of stairs with a toddler and pushchair was not ideal we asked the next day for a low floor room and were allocated one with no problem and also helped to move!! The staff were really friendly and all the waiters especially the one at the pool bar. The food was really good and even the fussiest of eaters will find something to eat. The rooms a spacious with good air conditioning. Would recommend this Hotel. The only thing that spoilt the holiday was the 38hr 40 min delay flying home to Birmingham we were treated like a herd of cattle by Thomsons and moved to Jazz Mirabel Hotel not a patch on the Tropicana Azure in our opinion and this is supposed to be 5 star! James the rep at out hotel was so helpful in total contrast to the one at the Jazz Mirabel where everyting just seemed to be to much trouble. I would recommend the Tropicana as we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birminghamchrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. As soon as we arrived we were impressed with the level of service from the hotel. The room was ready, large and clean. We didn't have a great view, but we hadn't requested that, and we didn't feel it was a big deal once there. The pool was very large , on our 3rd day is got rather dirty but we noticed it was being cleaned (it did take 2 more days to be completely clean again due to it's size) there was an other pool on site and slides too. Buffet restaurant was basic, but there are 2 other bookable restaurants on site which were both nice. We did eat out a lot to be honest. Try the Pub next door and tgi fridays - both very good. We booked with Thomson and took advantage of there entertainment and kids club as well on going on many of the trips they organised. All good standard.
* Check the dates of your holiday - we stayed durning a holy week which meant there were alot of Egyptians there at the same time, they were loud and took over the reception area durning the day, the buffet restaurant became over crowded, so the hotel opened a separate area for the brit pack.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozlovesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Having seen some of the more recent better reviews of this hotel I can only imagine that this hotel has got better since I stayed there last July.
We booked as a family of five, two adults and three kids (16,15 13) as this was listed as a thomson family resort, this is true if you have kids aged 6 and under. The kids clubs during the day were apparently really good, but because my kids were obviously too old for these I am purely going on what other guests had said. For my family there was no daytime entertainment apart from a daily pool quiz and a thomson ran game of pool volley ball once a day, the rest of the time was just to be had by laying on sun beds and going in the pool, which is great for a limited time then it just gets really boring.
The hotel looks really good and the pool is huge.
What lets this hotel down is the lack of concern, lack of interest and pure down right rudeness by the thomson staff. I have never met holiday reps as rude, unhelpful and ignorant as these reps, especially one named chris. The hotel staff weren't much better. Pre-booked adjoining rooms with thomson, arrived at the hotel about 7.30 at night, not only were we not in adjoining rooms but we weren't even in the same block, having complained to reception staff we were finally sorted out at about 11.30 pm, having dragged our cases all over the complex and all the time the staff huffing as though we'd caused them too much trouble.
Rooms are a good size with great air-con.
Pool is huge but very dirty, several guests complained about ear infections which we could only put down to the water because the infections hadn't started until a few days into the holiday so should be nothing to do with the flights etc.
Hotel food? - not brill but had worse, but still take the Imodium, queues sometimes were very long for the meals.
Watch out for the the Egyptian guests also, very rude, pushing in queues, taking guests towels and sun beds and stealing lilos! The staff do nothing and seem to give them preferential treatment.
Plenty of local shops, bars and markets nearby, but when you do venture out of the hotel be prepared for unbelievable hassle from the local shop owners, sometimes quite nasty if you say no to going in the shops.
Beach not very good, very gritty and no water activities available.
Went on a couple of trips booked from a tourist shop further along the street, good value for money and a lot cheaper than booking through thomson, also booked our taxis from them, they were always on time to pick you up and so much cheaper than the hotel taxi service.
Night time entertainment (hah!) this was the thomson staff again putting on tacky show every other night, what a diabolical disgrace and embarrassment this was.
There is so much more to complain about but I,m sure you get the picture

Good points:

Nice looking hotel good for some nice photos
Big pool
Good kids clubs
Good air con

Bad points:

Dirty pool
Unhelpful hotel staff
Unhelpful and rude thomson staff
No daytime entertainment
Poor nighttime entertainment
Poor local beach
No water sports
Nasty local shop owners
Huge amounts of hassle outside the hotel

Thomson should be ashamed
Would I return or recommend? ......never in a million years!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony1968-notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel in July 2012,
Really tiring flight from Cardiff to sharm el sheikh, arrived at the hotel around 1am, staff allowed us access to the restaurant for food, which was very welcoming, the room was average sized, balcony, very clean.
Pool was really nice and more importantly clean, not as big as the sister hotel, Grand Azure, which we were allowed to make use of.
Egyptian's people can be very full on, do not take no for an answer, but you have to understand they need to make money in the months of May-October, as in the winter they have limited access to money.
Falcon tours is a really helpful and reliable company definitely recommended, turn left outside of the hotel and walk 5 mins across the road from McDonalds, best around.
overall a really good holiday, would definitely go again.

Room Tip: ground floor room, they have a little area at the front that is helpful if you cant get a lounger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Garden Resort
0.2 mi away
El Hayat Sharm Resort
El Hayat Sharm Resort
#30 of 32 in Nabq Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,796 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aurora Sharm Resort
Aurora Sharm Resort
#114 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Azure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Azure Club

Property: Tropicana Azure Club
Address: El Gharkana Zone Nabq Bay | Near Sharm El Sheikh Airport, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#104 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Azure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropicana Azure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Tropicana Azure Club Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tropicana Azure Hotel
Hotel Tropicana Azure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing