We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #163 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Cataract sharm is an amazing hotel with a perfect location in Nama bay. I am talking about the one located in the beach not the garden one. Perfect menus with delicious plates. You can depend only on a half board reservation. Because KFC, mc, are 5 mins away from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
20
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Food is ok

Excellent location

I have stayed in many hotels in Egypt who were all excellent.
This Cataract is definitely the worst hotel I have stayed in in Egypt.

It doesn't deserve the 4 star rating.

The standards of the rooms and the spa area are not 4 stars at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Alexaramus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

bolton, england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

we should have stayed at cataract for 7 nights in august but after just 12 hours we demanded to be moved. we have been to egypt many times and this is by far the worst hotel we have stayed in! DO NOT BOOK WITH FLEETWAY TRAVEL! a simple task like changing hotels cost us £1000 plus £100 in phone bills as they have no rep that you can speak to and the numbers you are provided with do not work from abroad so i had to ring my family in uk to sort us out! not good when your stranded in the dessr=ert with a small child! I REPEAT DO NOT WAIST YOU MONEY, LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS, PAY ALITTLE EXTRA AND ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank harryboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

i stayed at the cataract hotel for 10 days in jan 2010, it was the worst holiday i have been on. we were droped off at hotel by taxi , we went into hotel it looked ok , we were showed to our room that was ok,it was late when we arrived so we had an early night. next morning we went to breakfast, if that what you call it.it was descusting i wouldnt feed my dog it. lunch was even worse, and tea was the same. the hotel doesnt cater for english people at all, it was full of russians sweedish, germanand french. we were the only english family that were staying in the hotel. the allinclusive drinks was limited, they ran out of beer at 9.30 one night and coke. the snacks by the pool were left overs from tea the night before and it was cold. the was no enterainment in the hotel ,only a disco that nobody was in. our roon was right by it we couldnt sleep for the loud music. the hard rock cafe was next door to hotel and the music was on till 2am,when that finished the was a pasha disco not far away with no foof on the music was playing until 4am. this was the worst holiday i have ever been on if you are english dont book this hotel you will have a holiday from hell.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tinnyliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

It was a cozy hotel located on the main street in sharm el sheikh. It was close to the beach and the nightlife. They had great restaurants and you have to try the seafood. My favorite restaurant was Onions and a dish you gotta try is their seafood soup and greece sallad,it was delicious. The prices in Sharm was real cheap and you can get a dinner for 50 kr.

Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo,egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

we stayed there as a big family for 3 nights .. it was a HORRIBLE experience really !
the staff is completely unqualified - receptionist was RUDE - no flexibility what so ever!

the WC was always smellling very bad even after cleaning it [no clue why !]
we were staying in 5 rooms - i guess we deserved a better treatment that we would've had in any other hotel in Sharm Elsheikh especially that this is not our first experience of going to sharm.

the AC the moment we reached the hotel was not working in the lobby despite of the very hot temperature nowadays over there and the reason was that the central A/C in the lobby does not work before 10:00 am !!!!!! so i guess we had to be punished for arriving little bit early .

the blanket that they kept inside the locker was smelling like never been washed before [also no clue how !].

All i can say is that they got used to Russians and this is how they treat their guests .. this should not be considered even a 3 stars hotel !

the onyl advantage over there is the AMAZING - PERFECT - STRATEGIC location of the hotel/resort .. u r in the middle of everything in Neamma Bay ..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex,Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The hotel is 4 stars, and is advertised as 5 stars sometimes, the service isn't even close to 3 stars, why is that?? I donno, the receptionist blamed the Russians...

The room was fine, clean, kinda comfy, and not much to complain of, It could be better though, I am a paranoid person when it comes to hotel meals, so I usually go on B&B and it's also a chance to eat out, since I am not one of the people with big appetite, I only eat once more and I am usually on drinks, but even the breakfast was a bad experience, unrated hotels in Egypt can do better, the buffet never changes, it always lacks something, the cups and plates are too old. Salads bar with flies on it.

I hated it,specially with the towels thing, you've to carry your own towel from the hotel to the beach which is 300 meters away and this distance shouldn't be underestimated in the sun...
Moreover there can be a shortage in towels, not just beach towels but towels in general, it's almost as if they have underestimated the load.

To be honest, some bulbs needed changes, and problems were addressed fast enough. The pool could use some renewal, the pool bar is always shutdown, there is no animation whatsoever...

Cataract should be demolished imo for the quality it is lacking, it's a shame on 4 stars hotels...I got fooled by some reviews. Maybe old reviews...

Anyway, it wasn't a nightmare after all there's a lot to enjoy in Sharm and I usually use hotels for bed time only, which worked well for me.

You can do better for the same amount of money or even less.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Strana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#160 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#83 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naama Inn
Naama Inn
#203 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#15 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#97 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halomy Hotel
Halomy Hotel
#157 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Na'ama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#94 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataract Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing