We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back tomorrow if i could!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #67 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel was absolutely lovely. with a different A la Carte place to eat everynight included in the All Inclusive package you cant go wrong or get bored with whats on offer. The pools were excellently looked after, the beautiful flowers surrounding the complex were up kept every day. there were staff all around the hotel all the time doing their best to make the hotel and its surroundings lovely and clean and they were ever so friendly and could not do enough for you. The only thing i would advise people about is the mosquito's!!! they are everywhere, just around this hotel it seems. i think it is to do with all the flowers? either way its a running joke that grande hotel guests are well recognised due to their bites haha. Take lots of stuff to fight them off and you will be fine. There is plenty of day excursions to do, i would recommend the mountain biking through the desert - worth every penny!
Honestly we absolutely loved this place and we would go back again definately - A MUST VISIT!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NurseyNurse31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we where very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.

We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.

We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,410 - 3,416 of 4,700 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks (4/8/11 - 18/8/11), this was our 3rd trip to egypt and we have stayed at other "5 star" rated hotels which have all been disappointing. The grand hotel sharm is the closest to a true 5 star staff are very poilte and will try to accomodate any request you have were possible, the hotel is in the process of updating the rooms and we were lucky enough to stay in one of these. It was clean well decorated but perhaps a little bit small (you dont tend to spend alot of time in your room so not a major issue), the rooms waiting to be updated are still clean just a little dated. If you want to be guranteed a sea view you will have to book a junior suite as these are all situated at the beach front with the standard rooms set behind them running back up to the main reception. There are one or two standrad rooms were you can just see a glipmse of the sea but most have balconies overlooking the gradens (still a pleasant view). The buffet restaurants (sharm and reef) were ok, just what you expect really from an all inclusive. However the al la carte restaurants (excpet the tapas which is situated out side and needs to some from of air conditioning) were excellent. There was no limit to how often you could eat in them but to get a table I would advise booking early the day before as they are all really popular with guests. Our favourite was the Olive (italian), the food was lovley and the service great. Definitley try the indian as the reasturant itself is beuaitfully decorated and the food has a bit of a kick to it!!!! The fusion restaurant was also nice, we didnt try the beach grill and as mentioned above the tapas area was just too warm to be able to sit comfortable to enjoy the food which was a bit hit and miss. Definitely tip the bar guys and pool side guys during your first few days as they will look after you during your stay, Mahik (works at the pool above the beach restaraunt) was great and kept the drinks flowing, we didnt even need to ask for one he just kept bringing fresh drinks to us whilst we were enjoying the sun!!! You do get asked if you want a massage, hena tattoo, etc but if you politely say no the staff will move on ( I would recommend a pedicure) . Entertainment definitely needs reviewing, during the day the team did well and got people who were interested involved in volley ball, water volley ball etc but on the evening everything went down hill!!! We will definitely be staying here again and I would take the negative comments posted with a pich of salt, perfection is hard to achieve and unless you pay top wack for a hotel there will alwasy be a few things not quite right/or do not meet your expectations.

Room Tip: For guarateed sea view book a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Room
We chose a junior suite for the extra space and as has been commented on before the furniture is sparse and is looking tired. Our biggest problem was the firmness of the bed, it was very, very firm. Initially we suspected that the air conditioning in our room was not functioning properly which we foolishly put up with for four days, but when reported to reception is was rectified swiftly.
Location
The hotel site does slope towards the sea and therefore if your room is nearer the sea there are several flights of steps to cope with when walking to the hotel lobby or four of the eight restaurants located just off the lobby. Not within walking distance of Naama bay and the bright lights of Casinos/Clubs there which we appreciated!
Health
A previous tripadvisor review warned of the possibility of a bacterial infection which causes diarrhoea and the likelihood that this was due to a poor chlorination of the swimming pools. I avoided the pool and enjoyed swimming in the sea, my wife used the pool and did suffer for a short while with an infection which was corrected with 'antinal' an anti bacterial medicine and a local immodium equivalent both bought from the onsite pharmacy. I later discovered that if you needed anything from a pharmacy it was more cost effective to walk out of the hotel turn left and after passing the first small parade of shops there was another two storey local shopping arcade with a pharmacy which was run by a doctor and his family (open 24 hours). The prices there were at least 50% cheaper than the onsite pharmacy.
Other
Beach club area - expect to be asked if you would like a massage, tattoo, nails painted on a regular basis. Nothing too sales aggressive and a polite "no" will result in being wished an enjoyable day.
Food - it is not a 5* hotel but usually plentiful and varied. Fusion was an enjoyable a la carte experience.
Drinks - do not expect any branded spirits. All drinks in the lobby bar are chargeable probably because this was the only airconditioned bar, consequently it was invariably empty. Bottled water was plentiful from any of the bars or restaurants.
A beach bag was provided in your room and beach towels changed daily, a nice touch. Toiletries in the bathroom were hit and miss, sometimes all shampoo others all bath gel! and our spacious shower did not have a shelf to put anything on!
In the late afternoon the hotel did carry out a daily bug cleansing (fumigation) exercise which meant after the first day we did not have to use a mosi spray (we simply forgot but never got bitten).
Overall, we would recommend this hotel (with caveats above) and we would return to this hotel on our next trip to Sharm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

it was the best holiday ever! hotel was amazing! only downfall is not much entertainment, deffanantly reccomend:)
xx

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernleigh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

3rd visit to Sharm and the best hotel of the three. Excellent check in, very quick and as we arrived at 10pm, a buffet was provided at 11pm which was substantial. We had a Junior Suit, worth it if you can push to the extra money. Very clean hotel, reception, room and restaurant staff very helpful. 8 pools available, if you are after a a quiet relaxing time, stay away from the Crepe poll (Animation team), very loud!
If you are going in the next month or so, a room plug in for mozzies is a must and spray for the evening (jungle strength) - works well.
Entertainment could do with some updating, Animation is the company and is very amateur and not for couples without young children!
Overall, great week, really enjoyed it even with a bit of "Delhi Belly" towards the end!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gollie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Absolutely stunning property: The property is situated about a £2 taxi ride from the main strip of Sharm el Sheikh Nama Bay. I recently stayed at the 5* Hilton Fayrous which was in Namma Bay itself and it was too close. This hotel is just outside (not walkable but plenty of taxis) and was in a lovely quiet location but close enough to all the action.

There were eight restaurants (two were buffet). The food was outstanding and even fillet steak was included in the one al a carte restaurant.

I would genuinely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sharm El Sheikh.

Please see the photos for the excellent beach - the brochure really didn't do it justice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us on this site, and we are pleased to read that you had a ‘Nice Holiday’ taking into account our guests valuable feedback and constructive criticism, which helps us to identify areas to prioritize our focus on. We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My partner spent a week in this hotel during July. The purpose of our holiday was a totally relaxing week and that's exactly what we had.

Good points about the hotel:
1. Loads of lovely swimming pools around the complex
2. Well kept and maintained gardens
3. Rooms were kept clean and the towel art by the maid was very imaginative - even had them made into a monkey hanging from the ceiling one day - just fantastic and had us laughing for ages.
4. Nice clean reception area with wi-fi
5. Good holiday rep (red sea resort) who was very helpful
6. Plenty of different restaurants to chose from
7. Great open air cinema on the roof with flat beds
8. Plenty of sun loungers - no need to reserve with towels
9. Good taxi service to Naama bay & old town
10. Most of the staff were very friendly (especially if you make the effort to learn a few Egptian word)
11. Quick transfer from airport
12. Welcome drink on arrival and quick check in
13. Hotel sprayed with mosquito spray each evening (although still got bitten! - make sure you spray yourself every night!)
14. Fusion/Mumbai and the Olive were all very good restaurants
15. Lovely and quiet at night as rooms not next to main hotel reception are

Negative poinst about the hotel:
1. The local drinks are disgusting - I fail to see anyone who could possibly drink a full glass of what is their equivalent of gin and tonic. I have stayed in other hotels in Egypt and the local drinks were ok or at the very least drinkable. My partner couldn't find any drinks that he liked and ended up drinking water. We ended up in Naama bay one night just so that we could have a decent drink. A couple of the cocktails were almost ok but you couldn't possibly drink them all the time as they were so sweet. If you like your spirits you really will not like the drinks here
2. The entertainment is dire - not sure who it's cattered for but it's truly awful. The team were dressed as babies one night making baby noises - needless to say we made a swift get away and ended up watching a film outside. We were in Turkey in May and the hotel there had a fantastic entertainment team but this is definitely an area that needs a good shake up at this hotel.
3. You do get pestered a lot when at the pool to buy massages/glass jars with sand in and the Manager constantly tries to get you to buy tickets for the speciality nights (see early point re how dire the entertainment is). We didn't go to any of these nights but walked past them when they were on and I am sure people would have preferred watching paint dry (they certainly didn't look like they were enjoying themselves and it was very poorly attended and not worth the extra money)
4. There are quite a few dishes on the a la carte menus where you have to pay extra for dishes so not quite all inclusive also if you want a "better" drink.
5. Drinks in the mini bar are not part of the all inclusive

All in all a nice hotel which could be so much better if the drinks and entertainment were sorted out (not 5 star but could be)

Room Tip: If you like it quiet at night try and get a room further away from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHilton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we where very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#51 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,742 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#101 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
876 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#92 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,655 reviews
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#79 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#52 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £56 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing