We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #69 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, shame about the food”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Grand Hotel the first week of June.

Our room which although rather dated/tired and not 5* (more like 3) was clean and perfectly servicable and what I was expecting for the price and from other reviews I had read.

The pools and hotel grounds are all stunning and meticulously cared for - they would easily fit a European 4* or 5* resort but you do have to get up early to get a sunbed (more a comment on the guests than the hotel tho). The staff are all friendly - they work hard and rely on tips so naturally you get better service when you tip, but this is to be expected anywhere in the Third World - I think some of the reviewers on here forget that that is where they are and expect far too much from a £500 holiday...

The only real dissapointment was the eating arrangements.

The buffet restuarants - both serve the same menu and seem to mostly cater for the German/Russian guests so there were only one or two dishes that us Brits liked. Breakfast was the same with a wide selection of sweet pastries and German meats and sausage. I stuck to toast with fried eggs or croissants with jam and a pot of yoghurt which was good (try the fig jam it is delish!) and and my boyfriend enjoyed the omlettes he had.

To eat dinner in any of the 6 or 7 'al la carte' restaurants you must first book your table the morning of the day before... And to do this you can't just call the restuarant or reception you have to que in the lobby from 10am (or later that evening from 6pm but by then only two restuarant choices are left). There are no 'walk-ins' for the restaurants either if you haven't booked the day before it's buffet for you or nothing, even when you can see half the tables are empty (this is their idea of fully booked)! This is a ridiculous and frustrating system which makes no sense and made what would have been a very relaxing holiday rather frustrating.

The Mexican 'Fajitas' restaurant - very dissapointing chicken fajitas, they were bland and the tortilla wraps were stale and undercooked (rubbery and inedible). We complained and were shown some 'good' bread that we could have had and were offered a free tequila so the service at least was OK.

The mediteranean/Italian 'Olive' restuarant - Our starters were OK, but our mains were not, we complained to the service manager who had them redone. The replacements were spot on but then desert was diappointing too. Again we were offered an alternative, which we declined.

The indian 'Mumbai' was good, we had the meat and the vegetarian set menus which did come under the 'all inclusive' package only our drinks were extra charge, and we were very happy with our meal. Although I should add it is not really the same as Indian food you would get at home (but then indian food in India is very different from British-Indian, so I gues Egyptian-Indian is different too).

I am not a morning person and did not go on holiday to get up at 6am to reserve a sunbed and then set an alarm/reminder for 9:45am so I can remember to go and stand in a que for 30 minutes in order to book a table for dinner the following evening. And for these two reasons I would not return to The Grand in a busy month like June, although overall I did have a very good holiday there and think more organised early risers would have little to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamsynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,729
    1,129
    470
    214
    109
See reviews for
888
2,319
99
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just returned from 7 days at the grand hotel in sharm
this is our 4th time at this Hotel and we took our good friends along with us which we was a bit apprehensive about because you never know if they will like the same as us, but they really loved it and were more than impressed what value for money this hotel is. We ate in several of the restaurants and all the staff are more than happy to help serve you and we ate lovely meals every night. The Buffet is also much improved from last year so we were pleased about that. We had a lovely Junior Suite overlooking the Red Sea which was lovely and our pool attendant Mahomed was really exceptional and came with drinks on a regular basis. Bless him I felt sorry for him one day he broke his glasses and found it very difficult to see but carried on as usual to serve all the guests big hi five for him.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just returned from the grand hotel and feel its really important to give credit where credit is due.
The hotel is fantastic value for money. The communal areas are clean and well kept. Our room could have done with a lick of paint but we felt it was a minor thing and really not worth moaning about.
The staff in the hotel are all friendly and we had a brilliant rep called Ahmed, he was really approachable & went out of his way to help in anyway. He even arranged a medical within 1 hour to enable my partner to have medical clearance for scuba diving.
The only down side to the holiday was repetitive moaning from some of the guests. The staff in hotel worked their butts off to accommodate everyone's needs yet it appeared that nothing they could do would please some people.
We would definately go back to the grand hotel given the chance, it was a lovely place to stay & fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbrown462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned back from honeymoon at The Grand.The hotel is lovely when you walk into reception and you get a friendly welcome,The staff are helpful and the hotel is kept clean but as they say looks are deceiving.The entertainment is almost none existant there is nothing on during the day and the evening entertainment is only on for about 40 minutes.Got a V.I.P band and got told we would benefit from this but that didn't happen.The weather is very hot yet every drink you get the glasses are warm and it puts you off drinking.The hotel needs a lot of work done as the chairs are falling apart,the lights in the pool are hanging off and you have a lot of tiles on the floor that need replaced.We got friendly with a couple have been coming here for the past 3 years and they say it is starting to go down hill.The holiday reps are very helpful and the trips are well worth it which I cannot fault.Overall the hotel shouldn't have a 5 star rateing it is more like a 3 star.I would return back to sharm but not to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here for a week over half term which was enough. The hotel is rated 5 star i would rate it 3 at best. The hotel is spread over a large area so whatever you want it means a long walk to get it. The ground are very nice, well kept and clean. The room i was in block 31 room 610 had a problem with the drains and toilet keep blocking up not very nice. The bed had a nasty smell and the room in general needed updating. There was never any water left in the room even on arrival.
Like other guest have said there isnt enough sunbeds and unless you are up early forget it. One day somebody had put there towels on two sunbeds next to mine at about 8 o'clock then went away and didnt return they were still there unused at 4 o'clock dispite being next to one of the bars. The 2 hours rule is a load of rubbish. However if you are lucky enough to get a sunbed the pools are very nice and clean. The beach area is nice and peaceful with a jetty to go snokeling off. The snokeling area isnt very big and can get a bit crowded at times but is worth doing because of the large amount of beautiful fish.
The food is ok, we never went hungry. We only tryed the Mexican restaurants because it took us three days to get a reservation and to get that i was the at 9:55 (the guy that takes the booking isnt suppose to be there till 10:00) and i manage to get the last booking. The food at the mexican was very good.
Theres lots of little bad points about this hotel i could go on about but other reveiwers had hit on most of them. There are also good points as well. I think for the price paid it was okay just okay.
TIPS take lots of pound coins for tips you will need them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. Rooms are a little dated but clean and all the staff were friendly. Stunning location, nice pools and relaxing beach area. We stayed a week between 15th 22nd may and had no trouble getting sunbeds though I did get up early a couple of times for a better spot by the pool. Shame the infinity pool was not open as would of enjoyed the views whilst swimming. Food was okay no more than you would expect for what you pay, cliff restaurant at lunchtime was our favourite. Went to Soho square not impressed as I am more cultural traveller enjoyed Nama bay more, you do get hassled a little but in no way threatening unlike other countries I have visited. Went to the old town where hassling was more intense but never did I feel intimidated or scared. I loved Egypt was my first time and will definitely go back which is unlike me as I never visit the same place twice. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as was worth every penny we payed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynneelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have just returned from the Grand and overall the hotel is excellent. Good points first
The staff are friendly and professional. They do survive on tips, and if you are good to them they are good to you. I'd especially like to single out our pool attendant Adil as a shining example. Management if you're reading he deserves a pay rise.
The food in the a la carte restaurants was to a very high standard, my only criticism is that in other all inclusive hotels the items you pay for are a token price. Why would i want to pay 14 euro for a steak?
Standard of cleanliness in the communal areas was excellent.

Now for the negatives, worst first. The standard of hygiene in the buffet restaurant was really bad, mainly because of other guests who thought it was acceptable to touch food, sniff it and put it back... everyone we met who had eaten in the buffet had fallen ill the next day. Staff need to be more vigilant for this.
Our room airconditioning was REALLY loud and leaving it off was not an option because of the noise.
Plumbing in the room, smell of stagnant water from the drains that wouldn't go away.
The rooms in general need refurbishment.
Sunbeds, the hotel has an unenforced policy that states sunbeds cannot be reserved before 7am and cannot be left for longer than 2 hours. Please enforce this rule, we would see sunbeds left unused but reserved for hours on end with other guest looking for somewhere to sit.
Finally, water. Please make it easier to get bottled water, having to walk all the way to the buffet restaurant for a bottle is ridiculous considering the heat and the water from the coolers was horrible.
Please dont be disheartened by my comments, we are planning to return but the above are all things that need to be rectified.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Steve-thank you for your review. Your positive comments are highly appreciated and please rest assured that we will certainly act on your feedback.

Firstly, may I take this opportunity to confirm the situation regarding water bottles. Prior to guest arrival, we place a 1.5 litre bottle in each guest room. Every two days thereafter, we replenish the water bottle. In the meantime, water by the bottle is readily available in several outlets with 24 hour/7 day coverage. Water is also available in other areas from drinks dispensers.

The subject of sunbeds is interesting as it is not a case of not enough sunbeds,it is down to choice of location most of the time. We have enough sunbeds to cover the total capacity of the hotel. If a guest is willing to consider other locations within the property, there will always be a sunbed available and our recreation staff are always willing to help find a suitable location. We advise all guests on arrival in writing and at their welcome meeting not to reserve sunbeds before 0700 and advise that we reserve the right to reclaim beds that have not been occupied for two hours.

We are delighted to learn that you will consider returning and therefore look forward to welcomming you and your family.

Sincerely

The Grand Hotel-Sharm El Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#55 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#89 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#38 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#86 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#82 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Beach Resort
Dreams Beach Resort
#104 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#49 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing