We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #68 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the grand and the last few reviews sum it up perfectly. A beautiful hotel with fabulous gardens. The staff can't do enough for you and a particular thanks to Amir by the grill bar, Sha, the amazing guest relations lady and Abdo in the Sharm for looking after us so well at breakfast. The food is good, not amazing but good, lots of variety and plenty of it. the Indian restaurant is lovely. Booking for some of the speciality restaurants can be a bit hit or miss but Sha told me this is something they're looking at to improve it. Our room was lovely and, after reading some of the more negative reviews, was much better than we expected. A lovely marble walk in shower. There are people coming round while you are by the pool to offer you massages, beauty treatments and tattoos! However, theyre not pushy and theres no hassle from them. Definitely have an Egyptian massage while you're there. It is just amazing. (Thanks to Mimo, the lovely lady at the Spa). Both my partner and I had tattoos, a bit risky you might think but if that's your thing, definitely see Mina the tattoo guy. Not only is he an interesting guy, but a talented tattooist.
We loved this hotel as it was away from the hassle and bustle of Naama bay but close enough to still get everywhere within 15 mins. Did quad biking in the desert which was fantastic. Definitely get a mask and snorkel and snorkel off the jettys on the private beach. Met some lovely people there and we're already talking about going back next year. For what you pay to stay here, it's amazing value and don't see why you need to pay more to stay anywhere else.
Thanks again to all at the Grand for making this such a great holiday

Room Tip: We stayed in 733 which was lovely. As others have said, take plenty of mosquito spray and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clairealou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the Management and entire Staff of the Grand Hotel Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very happy that our services and facilities met with your expectations

It was a pleasure to have you as our Guests and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

Thank you for choosing Red Sea Holidays

Yours Sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,890 - 1,896 of 4,683 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We found the staff to be really helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. Anything you want they endeavour to get to you within no time. Personal service on arrival, throughout and on leaving-we loved this personal touch, hard to find in many other hotels.
The hotel location is great and the grounds are gorgeous . So many places to eat within the complex and all fabulous food. We didn't feel the need to eat out at all and we've stayed in various hotels in Sharm.
There is an ongoing refurb with many rooms like new (the one we stayed in still smelled of new paint) and some rooms are in need of a refurb and the management will openly tell you that this is in the pipeline, we are excited to return as soon as possible.
Thank you to all staff for a really great holiday, we look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: English speaking guest relations Shar and manager Dee. Free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing The Grand Hotel for your vacation and for taking part of your valuable time to write your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations

We will surely feedback your kind comments to our team members and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

When you are returning back to Sharm El Sheikh please do not hesitate to contact us it will always be a pleasure to meet you

Yours sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at the Grand Hotel, and once again loved every minute of our holiday! The food was excellent, we especially loved the fusion and Mexican restaurant. The pool bar and beach club did great dinner time food too. The staff are lovely and work really hard, we made good friends with some of the staff last time and enjoyed meeting them all again on our second visit. We had some great laughs with them and they honestly can't do enough for you. We were treated like VIPS from the minute we arrived to the minute we left.
We stayed in a standard room, which was basic but we only used the room to sleep and have a shower, so it was more than fine for what we needed. We may treat ourselves next time and upgrade to a junior suite.
We spent a lot of time down at the beach in the morning, the views overlooking the sea and over to Tiran island are beautiful and the snorkelling off the beach pier is brilliant too.
Overall we had another fantastic stay at "The grand hotel" and will be back again for our 3rd visit next year, I honestly don't understand why people have wrote negative reviews for this hotel. A holiday is what you make of it but staying at "The Grand" made our holiday even better :)
Thank you for another great holiday!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebeccaluby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the Management and entire Staff of the Grand Hotel Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us and we are very happy that our services and facilities continued to meet with your expectations

It was a pleasure to have you back with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

We remain as always at your service

Thank you for choosing Red Sea Holidays

Yours Sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We returned this week from a 10 night stay at The Grand Hotel. We travelled as a family party of 10 and were quite apprehensive about our stay - mainly because of some of the bad reviews on here about the rooms and food... we were not disappointed!

Firstly we were greeted on arrival by Sha from Guest Relations and David from Reception. We were taken to the lobby bar and given all details of our rooms etc. A few weeks before, we emailed the hotel to request that our rooms be but close together, and for all rooms to have double beds (not 2 singles pushed together like you find in a lot of hotels!). We were delighted that 4 of our 5 rooms were next door to one another, and the other room just around the corner on the same floor. All rooms also had queen-sized beds.

The rooms are great. Some reviews on here moaning about cracked paint on the walls etc. Do you really spend that much time in your room in an all-inclusive hotel to complain about things like that? The bathroom was spotless, beds changed daily, plenty of storage and a nice balcony with 2 big comfortable chairs. The air-con is fantastic too.

The grounds are really well kept and you constantly see grounds men working away at the lovely trees and flowers surrounding the buildings. There are a lot of steps... but it does say this on the website so if you struggle with steps, don't book the holiday and then moan about it. The complex is huge and there are 9 pools which are all kept really clean. We mainly stayed by the Pool Bar & Grill as the bar here served alcohol, whereas the animation pool bar did not.

The entertainment is ok. We had an issue on our first night with one of the animation staff (Tommy) who was really disrespectful to my partner. His behaviour was absolutely disgusting and we later found that another guest had made a complaint about him before we got the chance. I will say that the Guest Relations staff - Leny & Sha were both fantastic in dealing with this matter and we were given a letter of apology. There is something on in the entertainment bar each night but we hardly bothered with it.

The food is great. For breakfast you can either go to the Reef or Sharm. There is a huge selection of hot and cold food - the only thing I could suggest is have more fresh fruit out like melon etc as there were only bananas, oranges and apples laid out in a quite unappealing pile. For lunch you can go to the Sharm or one of the many food places around the complex. The Beach bar does pizza, the pool grill does burgers, there's also a Panini corner and a few other places to eat. For dinner you can again go to Reef or Sharm or one of the a la carte restaurants. What we loved about The Grand is that you can visit as many of the a la cartes as you want during your stay. There are 4 restaurants which are all-inclusive (fusion, olive, Caribbean & Mexican) however there are some items on the menus that if you want them, you must pay an extra charge, but there is plenty of choice if you don't want to pay.

The drinks were also good. We are all drinkers and found the beer to be pretty good and the spirits were fine. We liked that they used branded mixers like pepsi, Fanta etc. The only bar you pay in is the lobby bar.

One of the best things about The Grand is the staff. I proposed to my girlfriend while we were there and told Sha from guest relations about it beforehand - she booked the Olive restaurant for us and arranged for lovely staff to be working and a cake at the end. It was gorgeous. Both her and Leny are an asset to the hotel and would sort out any issues we had. We also need to mention our friend Sobhy from the pool bar & grill - he was absolutely fantastic and we were gutted to be going home and leaving him!

Overall we had a brilliant holiday and would definitely return. See this hotel for yourself and don't believe everything you see in the bad reviews!

Lots of love from the scousers :) x

Room Tip: Take anti-histamines before you leave and take mosquito spray. Of a night time you'll get bitten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the Management and staff of The Grand Hotel Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that out facilities and service exceeded your expectations.

Your kind comments will be passed on to our staff and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next return to Sharm El Sheikh It will always be a pleasure to meet you

Thank you for choosing Red Sea Holidays

Yours sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a wonderful week's stay here end of may first week in june 2014

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted warmly and offered food and drink as the all inclusive had stopped.
We never had to lift a finger after arriving ! The staff are so friendly the cant do enough to help you.
I definitely would go back and stay here!
The standard rooms are nice and come with a free safe and air con which you will need!
However we decided to pay extra for 2 nyts and upgrade to a sea view Junior suite and believe me if you do that you wont be disappointed!
The only thing that was a little prob was that at the check out we had left towel cards that we had been given (which we didn't use) in our first room and they charged us for not having them £10 each! but I can honestly say It was a fab holiday and food was nice! lots of different restaurants in the grounds that you can book in too on all inclusive. Except drink!

See you again :)

Room Tip: 276 excellent room xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita-Law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the Management and staff of The Grand Hotel Thank you for taking part of your valuable time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are next returning to Sharm el Sheikh it would be a pleasure to meet you

Yours sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a great stay ,was really well looked after by a lovely Lancashire lass "Shar" it is so good to have a English speaking customer services rep, food was excellent we enjoyed the pre booked restaurants with waiter service ,staff were very attentive at all times and nothing was too much trouble ,we will be returning with the family in feb, for the little money we paid we were highly delighted ,ignore the moaning minnies who wont to pay for nothing !! and expect the Ritz !! you get exactly what you pay for ,Thanks again to all the staff see in the future .

Room Tip: sea view amazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therutland330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the Management and Staff of The Grand Hotel thank you for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy that our facilities and services met with your expectations

Your positive comments will be passed on to our staff members and we very much look forward to hosting yourselves and your family when you return again in October.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are returning it would be a pleasure to meet you.

Yours Sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just returned last night from a week stay at the grand !! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and so well maintained . The staff were very attentive and friendly will defiantly be returning. The staff in the terrace bar were very friendly especially alex and abde who made our stay very enjoyable. The food was great and plenty of variety . We spent every day down at the beach and the beach boy osman was great. The olive restaurant was our favourite for purely the fact of the food being so tasty. We had an amazing experience and the sea and the views made our holiday and ahmed who sold newspapers on the beach was very friendly. Foam Party is a must but wouldn't be returning to the oriental night mahmoud who you booked the nights with was very informative and knowledgeable. As far as i am concerned my stay was far to short and if i book in the future i would do so for a longer time. Thanks all at the grand who made our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byegbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of The Management and Staff of the Grand Hotel Thank you for taking the time to write your review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to learn that you plan to visit us again in the near future

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you next visit Sharm el Sheikh it would be a pleasure to meet you

Yours sincerely
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,688 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#96 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#45 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#92 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,020 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,571 reviews
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#81 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing