We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand experiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #67 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

we went to egypt this year and stayed in the hotel THE GRAND. we were very very impressed the hotel was very clean the 7 pools were fantastic the a la carte resturants were amazing can recommend THE OLIVE and THE FUSION resturants a great choice of menu the service was second to none couldnt do enough for you the staff at the hotel in general were great always spoke and would help in any way a spiecal thanks to two people AMEIR and MOHAMID who worked by the burger pool were a pleasure to know looked after us very well and many thanks also to the guest relation team LINDA and SHA always there whenever we needed them we reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing restfull holiday honestly couldnt falt it will be going back for sure

Room Tip: room 303 very quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shucky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we were very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.
We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 4,671 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

just got back this morning had such a wonderful relaxing time.The staff could not do enough for you no matter which part of the hotel you were in .We were on the beach all the time and loved it.Boys down there were brilliant could not do enough for you towels/drinks not only alcoholic ones.Our room block 34 number 731 was very central for what we needed.Any problems you had were sorted very quickly.Speclality restaurants were first class.A big thankyou to DEE SHA and LINDA customer relations there if you needed them.Our first time to this hotel but will be returning,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was lovely. Staff all really friendly and make you feel welcome. Fantastic location for snorkelling. Lots of pools and sun loungers. Food average to good but could always find something to eat. Would recommended this hotel. A la carte restaurants are very good well worth booking into those.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 64Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of Grand Hotel Sharm management and employees, we would like to our sincere appreciation for taking time to review our Hotel and giving us such a wonderful feedback. It is with deep pleasure to learn that you are satisfied with our hotel service and facilities. Rest assured that we will pass on your compliments to our team. Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Best regards
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our last chance for Egypt to prove to us that it was worth one last chance....so.... we spent our Honeymoon at The Grand Hotel from 10 - 24th June 2014. From the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left we felt that everyone cared about what we thought and felt. Dee visits as many guests as she can every day, gaining feedback, good and bad, and any issue is dealt with there and then ! The room we had was on the lower ground Block 4 near the beach pool. Yes it is a little dated and the balcony was a little dark.....but.... at 50 degrees during the day... it was always cool and comfortable. Our air conditioning leaked one evening and was fixed in less that 20 minutes and didn't break again. The shower hose split whilst I was in the shower ( a very amusing escapade ensued I can tell you ) again , this was fixed within 15 minutes. The rooms are basic, but this is Egypt, however, they were spotlessly clean, linen changed daily, clean towels daily, no dirty feet when getting into bed at night ! HOT water in the shower no matter what time you took a shower. ( arrived home in England to find a burst water mains and no water for 2 days !) .... as you can see this review could go on for ever so let me bullet point...
RECEPTION: always attended, always polite, changed money easily and with good rate of exchange, ordered taxis for us. Always happy and smiling, always made us feel that we mattered.

MAIN RESTAURANT: Food excellent choice, always piping hot, plenty of choice, served with a smile. Deserts beautiful, and over 20 to choose from, even a stick insect would go home fat :) Waiter service is impeccable. Omar is an absolutely lovely guy, who gave us little phrases to learn each day :) he greeted us every day with a smile, and our drinks ! Very hard working and very friendly. Omar we miss you x

OTHER RESTAURANTS: Food well cooked, hot , served with a smile, tasty, plenty of variety. waiter service is impeccable at every restaurant.
Ahmed at the Carribean Beach restaurant: this man is so lovely, always happy and so eager to help us with anything. Gave us the most amazing romantic meal on the jetty one night. Ahmed, we miss you so much xx
Mohammed at the Cliff restaurant: again, he was always so happy and as soon as we entered he had our drinks waiting for us, he may be very quiet but he's very funny. We missed you when you went home for Ramadan but look forward to seeing you soon xx

POOLS: spotlessly clean every day. safe. plenty of loungers and umbrellas , plenty of nice clean towels in good condition. Osama was our pool guy and this man works every minute of every hour of every day. Cleaning the pool, surrounding areas, he runs tirelessly up and down to the bar every 15 minutes getting drinks for everyone. He's like a Genie in a bottle, pops up at exactly the right moment with your drinks lol. Osama, you are a true angel and we should have brought you home with us :) xx

HOUSEKEEPING: trustworthy, cleaned every day, always happy, left the most amazing towel decorations on our bed every day. Ahmed, our room cleaner, always happy, always willing to help. very trustworthy, he called our room on a couple of evenings to see how my husband was feeling and ask if there was anything he could do to help. He left us towel decorations and we tried to leave our own version for him lol. Ahmed, you a true asset to the hotel and we miss your happy smile and our daily chats xx

HOTEL DOCTOR: This Dr Rafik put our own Dr to shame !!! He visited my Husband on several occasions for an illness not related to Egypt or the Hotel, he was attentive, really listened and gave very good advice. He helped us so much and was so much more informative than any of my husbands doctors here in England. Dr Rafik, we owe you far more than you could imagine . From the bottom of our hearts ...thank you x

LINDA: RED SEA : Linda would visit guests and get their feedback on good and bad points and she would deal with any issues asap. Get to know her she's a great laugh and very lovely.

DEE: Hotel Management: Every day Dee would walk around the Hotel spending time asking guests how they were, if there were any issues, etc. She arranged for the most romantic evening for one couple getting engaged one evening. We also had a fruit hamper and cakes as a gift for our honeymoon. From the minute she sits down with you, you have made a friend, nothing is too much trouble for her and she welcomes all constructive criticism as much as the praise. You can't miss her, slim, elegant, nicely dressed and usually hair clipped up carrying her handbag and just smiling at everyone every day. Dee and Linda both came to reception on our departure and waved us off until we were out of sight, shouting come back soon. I have received an email from both since arriving home, hoping that we had a good flight, enjoyed our holiday, remember anything we forgot to mention whilst out there, etc and it was like an email from a friend not a hotel manager. Ladies.... we love you to bits and really so look forward to seeing you both very very soon.

TEA & COFFEE: yes this is chargeable in the rooms at £10 per week for a kettle and coffee, tea, sugar, 2 cups, milk. But well worth it to be honest and is topped up every day.

HOTEL TAXI SERVICE: ok, there was an issue with them trying to charge far too much to travel to Il Mercato and other locations and the guys' driving was not at all safe. Luckily we knew how much it should cost so we reported this to the hotel management.... and it was dealt with there and then in a meeting with management. But we used a company all the time who were always on time, very polite, and very fair prices. £10 to the airport, and nominal local trips: ask reception to call them for you: ask for Ibrahim on 01008920182 or Azoz on 01289442105. You won't go wrong with these guys :)

Please remember, this is a 3rd world country, and a resort stuck in the edge of the desert. This hotel is fantastic. All the staff are very polite right from the groundsmen tending the gardens to the pool staff, waiters, cleaners, chefs, up to management. They are very loyal and proud people and treat us how they would like to be treated themselves. A smile and a hello goes an awfully long way with the Egyptians. Most of these men have left their families back in Cairo, Alexandra etc to work in Sharm, so please spare a thought for them. It is illegal to go topless in Sharm and should the Government visit the hotel (which they do without any warning) then anyone caught topless will be arrested. Added to that, this is a Muslim country and the men feel very embarrassed to see so much of an uncovered female body so they may not look at you directly when speaking. They are not being rude, they are in fact being polite and feeling a little uncomfortable. The staff absolutely love a guest to try to talk to them in their own language, so learn a few phrases before you go and then let them teach you a few when you're out there !

So, as you can see, we had an absolutely fantastic time at the the Grand Hotel and it completely changed our minds about returning to Sharm. so much so, that we are booking to return again next year and hopefully again this Christmas. The hotel moto is ' arrive as guests, leave as friends' ... we feel that we have made some very good friends at the Grand and will miss them all. Thank you to every one at the Grand, you gave us the perfect Honeymoon and we can't wait to come back and see you all again.

5***** review for 5***** service, 5***** quality, 5***** friends

Jen & Gray

Room Tip: Block 4 room 121, ground floor, dark balcony but cool all day, nearer the beach, nearer the jetty fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Softtop64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you very much for having been our guests recently and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience and of course for your highly recommendation, which is very much appreciated from our side.

It’s so delighting for us to learn, that we could live-up to your expectations and you were totally satisfied by our facilities, staff service and gastronomy .

We will be very pleased to host you next time again at our resort.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Pete/Jeanette, We had a great time the staff were friendly they could not do enough for us and this goes from the management to cleaners, the food was very good as there is a variety of restaurants of which tried all except for one, our room was all ways clean and tidy, our cleaner was great he would ask if we needed anything and if everything was ok. We did a couple of trips from the hotel which were we'll organised and very enjoyable, overall I would certainly recommend this hotel and would defiantly go back there again. Thanks to everyone at the grand for making our holiday a memorable one

Room Tip: I believe we were in block 34 it was well placed for and us and quiet, to be fair you only shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for having been again our guests recently and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience and as well for your highly appreciated recommendation.

It makes us so happy, that we could meet your needs and holiday expectations, so that you enjoyed a fabulous week at our hotel upon your trip to Egypt.

We are awaiting you for your return visit soon to have more unforgettable vacation days at our resort.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Arrived 30/5/14 at The Grand Hotel after a 5 hour flight from Gatwick. Greeted by friendly staff who ushered us into the buffet restaurant for a last night dinner about 9:30pm. To be honest we weren't very hungry so didn't really eat much but what we did was adequate. Next we were shown to our room in block 46, it was large but a little tired looking. I asked if we could be have a refurbished room as I'd read to do so on Trip Advisor and we were swapped with no problem at all. Our new room was block 3 room 213, a great improvement. Mark mood was our first housekeeper who did a very thorough job at keeping everything clean and tidy for us. We left the odd tip but this isn't expected but gratefully received. The next housekeeper we had was Akmed who made us smile with his fabulous towel art! Air conditioning in room was more than adequate and we found that if we didn't turn it off at night we got too cold!! It was lovely to have a rest mid afternoon in the cool surroundings of our room as temperatures soared into the 40's outside.
The hotel pools are fabulous, lots to choose from. We stayed mainly by the Grill Bar as we made friends with others there and we tended to congregate in the same place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all employees at Grand Hotel Sharm, we would like to express our thanks for your candid review that has stimulated our entire team, letting us to appreciate that we are on the right track.

Thank you for your recent visit at Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we wish to have the pleasure of your presence once again in the nearest future.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at The Grand Hotel, Sharm from 31 May - 7 June - what can I say! Transport from the airport was easy and straightforward as was check in at the hotel. The Hotel staff continue to be helpful, attentive and friendly from the restaurant staff, to bar staff to gardeners.
The food in the buffet was plentiful, although I think there was not as much variety as there has been in the two previous years, although our fussy daughter ALWAYS found food to eat and never went hungry! However, the additional restaurants were excellent, particularly Fusion which is my favourite, with the least being The Olive - which unfortunately just has no atmosphere and the food is only mediocre but having said that, the staff went out of their way to assist with any issues.
The pool and pool areas are clean and well maintained. The new sunbeds made a big difference this year and added to the enjoyment of lazing around under the incredibly hot sun.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and in fact will be booking a week in October 2014.

Room Tip: We were in Room 158 which had a lovely sea view, but to be fair we only went to the room to sleep an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you very much for having been our guests recently and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience and of course for your highly recommendation, which is very much appreciated from our side.

It’s so delighting for us to learn, that we could live-up to your expectations and you were totally satisfied by our facilities, staff service and gastronomy .

We will be very pleased to host you next time again at our resort.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#51 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#48 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#43 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#81 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,415 reviews
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#83 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Beach Resort
Dreams Beach Resort
#113 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £48 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing