We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #71 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing time”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is the best hotel ever everybody there is incredibly friendly especially the animation staff they always know how to put a smile on your face and plus they do a foam party every week which is amazing and exciting they certainly do know how to entertain everyone. The hotel is beautiful and the food is very nice the have a number of different restaurants like the fusion an Indian an the sharm restaurant they have a great mixture of different foods so there is something everyone, the rooms where also very nice and clean and tidy. If you want to stay anywhere in sharm I suggest you stay in the grand hotel as it's fantastic xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,724
    1,124
    469
    216
    108
See reviews for
887
2,312
97
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just got back from this hotel , what a relief ! We usually do Mexico, Cuba etc but fancied a change this year. A big mistake in our opinion. The only thing that's 5* about this hotel are the fantastic staff who simply couldn't do enough for you. The main hotel, grounds and pools are very good, well maintained and better than I'd expected, but thats where it all starts to go downhill. Rooms are very tired with numerous faults, functional but in desperate need of an overhaul , but the food, well, words don't describe the 'Sharm' main restaurant , or the 'cattle market' as we dubbed it. The worst food I've ever seen, and trust me, I've been all over the world. We refused to eat there and only used the other bookable restaurants which were much better, but many menus were at an additional charge. We were all ill. My wife collapsed from what we believe was undercooked food. She was so ill we needed the doctor and several injections, almost hospitalising her. He told us that this was 'normal' for the area !! We spent a fortune on medical bills and antibiotics etc for us all. To me, there was a worryingly number of people who fell ill with stomach related issues and in fact, one of the tour guides commented on the disproportionate levels of sickness at this hotel as compared to others. A German lady collapsed right in front of us with stomach issues too. Every English family we spoke to had at least someone that was ill at this hotel. I've never experienced anything like it. No wi-fi for the whole of our stay either. The great thing about this holiday, the weather. If you were our friends, I'd be advising you to stay well clear of this one. Go to Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

For my 1st time in sharm el sheikh I was a bit worried what to expect when we got there because of all the dodgy tummy stories and the they don't look after you stories. But this hotel and the place itself really puts you at ease.
The hotel itself is spotless. Everywhere is cleaned, disinfected and cleaned again.
The food was of a good standard and Mohamed the head chef would make you something different if you wasn't happy.
The pool areas were very clean and Osama and Abdul the towel guys kept the place tidy all day while constantly bringing everyone drinks all day.
We sat by the games pool all holiday where the animation staff kept us entertained with water polo and volleyball.
Everyday the staff from reception would walk around to make sure everything was ok with your holiday.
The animation team changed for the better halfway through our stay.
They were fun professional and very nice people.
Young Bradley and Paige were very helpful and always had time to help people with anything. Aswell as being totally nuts that is.
The sea has no beach and is at least 60ft deep straight off the jetty.
But is brilliant for snorkelling. At least twice a day a massive manta ray swims in to the cove right next to us. What a sight that is.
The bar staff were amazing especially moamen, youseff and the bossman at the downstairs bar. They kept the drinks flowing all night aswell as keeping us entertained.
Sharm el sheik itself isn't as bad as described by others.
You get a bit of haggling in shops but nothing threatening like other places we've been.
The rooms were to a good standard.
Cleaned throughout everyday.
Some people who weren't happy with their rooms were moved without any complaint from staff.
Taxis are cheaper off the road than in the hotel but arrange a price before getting in the car.
So all in all it's a very good hotel clean friendly with good food and entertainment.
Well recommended thank you

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After booking to stay with this hotel i am now confident that a good hotel will make the perfect holiday. After arriving to sharm el sheikh i heard many people that said they have stayed at this hotel and people saying they are returning and staying in the same hotel which got me even more excited about the holiday!

Here is everything i wanted to know before i booked it for everyone planning to visit.

Location: the hotel has its on shopping amenities and pharmacy so as an all inclusive holiday the hotel itself is enough if you do not like getting out and about. Right outside the hotel you will see a taxis outside. Here are the prices you should be paying to go to places. After staying here 9 nights i knew enough about how taxi drivers like scamming tourist so here goes:
Naama bay (all the clubs and cafes and restaurants and shops)- expect to pay 20-30 egyptian pounds max
Old Market- 15-20 egyptian pounds
Soho square (pretty boring for me and my sister personally but it is somewhere to go to- 40 egyptian pounds
Airport- 60 egyptian pounds
The hotel is also located 5 minute walkaway from el merkato shopping centre

Rooms- spacious, comfortable beds, AIR CON IS BRILLIANT, showers not so keen on but the room itself is very good and cannot complain. No wifi in rooms. Rooms are cleaned every day and have a Safe to keep your valuables at no extra cost.

Staff- i love you all! especially the bartender on the 24 hour bar in the lobby called Saeed you made mine and my sisters stay so enjoyable thank you! such a pleasant man, very professional and honest and always smiling! Also Essam from the service area around the pool is so helpful and lovely thank you so much.

The hotel itself - MASSIVE! the hotel itself is a holiday. So many different swimming pools and you've always got staff coming around asking you for drinks you'd like to have (all inclusive) the hotel is not on a beach and you have to go down some stairs to get into the sea but you've got life guards there. So many different relaxing points to go and sunbathe in. By the pool, by the sea, on the beds, with the kids...just so much to do.

All inclusive food- The food here is so nice especially in their restaurants that are all inclusive. My favourite in the indian restaurant and fusion and the mexican is very nice too. Too bad was not able to go to other restaurants as we did not have enough time.

If their was only one negative which was not the hotels fault was the fact they had no internet for the whole time we were there but i am sure they would have fixed it by now. It turned out as a positive so i could spend more time enjoying the holiday and not getting distracted on facebook!

I have learned always believe the reviews...the hotel has got many good reviews for a reason and i am most certain i will be visiting again. Such a lovely holiday if you cannot enjoy it then im sorry to say but your probably just a miserable person! loved every second of it and i have already got holiday blues :(

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Noa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Clean and beautifully maintained. Dee & her team went the extra mile to ensure our holiday was fantastic...All the staff are lovely. Peacful and relaxing for us, with fun and excitement provided around the activity pool should it be what you want. We had the best holiday with plenty to do and see. We made tons of friends and loved every minute! There's a vast variety of food in the 7 (I think!!) different restaurants...Fusion being our fav!!.. . Snorkelling just off the jetty was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyNix10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and the entire staff of The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, we were very pleased to have you as our guests and are happy that you enjoy your holidays with us.
We sincerely appreciate that you have done some comments regarding your stay so we will take measures to improve our services as our strategy is getting all guests satisfaction to achieve all targeted progress in hospitality.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.
We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

First time to Egypt, loved it! Hotel lovely, staff lovely (Sha especially helpful), location lovely. Worth taking some cash to tip as it makes the difference with the serving staff. Food ok but that's more to personal preference than the standard, partner ate really well. Will be going back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.


Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from 2wks at The Grand and overall have to say we were very disappointed.
The food was below average, and the hotel should be listed as partly inclusive as many of the other restaurants half of the menu is chargeable, especially the Indian where everything is chargeable even the water. Not what I would expect from an ALL inclusive.
The biggest issue for us was the drinks... Nothing is on draught just kept in fridges and the turn over of drinks is such that they can`t be kept in the fridges long enough even to become slightly cool... So sitting around the pool in near 50deg heat being served very warm drinks was just not acceptable..
Russians!!!!!!!! What a disgraceful, rude and arrogant race they are...
All of the staff at the hotel are brilliant, very friendly and can`t do enough for you, especially Ahmed at the relax pool, top bloke, great sense of humour and all round good fun..
We had a few medical issues {Non hotel related} but Dr Rafik was superb...
Would I go back?.... Not unless the drinks are on draught..
Would I ever stay in a hotel with Russians again...... NEVER!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The closer to the beach, the quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianmac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#27 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#97 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#85 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#37 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
8.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#89 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#84 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing