We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The not so grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #67 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

when we got there all was fine lovely hotel, friendly staff. day 3 found our duvet had bloodstains on it called reception I was so disgusted that a five star hotel would have such poor hygiene. staying on the hygiene subject, the plates were disgusting not wash properly dry food still on there!!, glasses were not thoroughly cleaned. food was disgusting! caught a bug and was sick for several days in bed! food was incredibly small portions! and it was full of eastern Europeans and the hotel catered to them mostly had there music, food everything!! they took over. plus they were rude and obnoxious! other British holiday makers were nice and had no trouble. biggest problem at this hotel is HYGEINE,FOOD !!! WEATHER WAS AMAZING SHAME ABOUT THE REST!!

Room Tip: all rooms have balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lilly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,714 - 1,720 of 4,681 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from 10 days at the Grand. 2nd time in Eygpt travelling with Red Sea holidays, first was Hurghada. First impressions, good but scratch beneath the surface and you'd be worried about health issues.

Pros-
Good snorkelling, mostly good food, big beds, nice setting, plenty of sunbeds and many different pools so never felt over crowded, attentive pool staff and waiters, excellent air con in rooms

Cons-
Cleanliness
was an issue around public toilets, after they had been subjected to someone with Pharaohs revenge! Advised staff of the issue in the expectation they would get cleaned same day. They were not and when noticed the following day and complained again, was informed that it had been Dees day off so they hadn't been checked by her! Dee did get them 'cleaned', but you could still see evidence and had not been thoroughly cleaned. I'm not talking deep clean, I don't have those expectations but in a country where guests are particular susceptible to tummy troubles, I do expect areas like this to be cleaned properly to minimise the risk of picking up a bug.

Also rooms were only surface cleaned, very dirty in places. Obviously during your stay, a quick wipe and change of bed is all that's needed but some areas looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months.

Entertainment
Very poor unless you pay extra for one of the theme nights/parties. Entertainment consisted of a reasonably good lounge singer in the main bar, but anything more than that was a paying event with a fancy meal. For example, African night consisted of a fancier menu and specialist African entertainment show but you had to pay €20 for this. We didn't so I can't comment on whether it was worth it or not. We went to the Animation bar for their entertainment one night which was tragically poor and laughable. Maybe it depends on how many drinks you've had and they tried their best and probably had a great time but this is the worst hotel I've experienced for entertainment which you don't pay extra for
Music around animation pool very loud but if you sit near there, be warned. Mostly good music but on one occasion, totally inappropriate Snoop Cd was played while water polo was going on, every other word was M'f*******. Next song wasn't much better and 3 out of the next 4 songs were similar. Don't even think the animation team realised as nothing was done, even though this was 3.30 in the afternoon and many children around the pool.

Reception staff
Unless you speak to a manager and get their name, don't expect anything to be done. We had 3 in our room, 2 adults and a child but we had to ask 5 times for an extra bed for the child as the room hadn't been made up for 3. They all tell you, 'yes, it's being sorted', then after an hour, still nothing so you phone again, to be told the same thing. This goes on for hours until eventually you cotton on that they are just telling you what you want to hear and until you actually stand at the reception desk and not move until it's sorted, it doesn't get done.

Restaurants
Fusion, Olive and Mexican were our favourites. Olive had the most AI choices but disappointing that one of their mains, lamb, was not available for the whole of our stay (I wonder if it is ever available?). Steak at the Fusion was lovely but lamb was fab one day and tough the next time. Mexican fajitas were lovely and plenty of spice, and lovely coconut ice cream desert.

Mumbai, the Indian was the other waitered restaurant we tried but all you could have was the set menu as part of the AI deal. Not even the water was included so you had to buy a bottle when they give it away in all other parts of the hotel. Very petty and a shame. Food was nice, just very limited, no popadums or naans included so you go without or pay extra.

Red Sea rep and Airport
Helped sort our room out when we were given the wrong ones after the first night. But be warned, at the airport, ignore your rep and go straight to passport control. Even your own rep will push you into paying for a visa which is not needed if you are staying in Sharm for less than 15 days and not flying elsewhere. Your booking form should tell you this too but you do feel that your going to be sent back at passport because you don't have one. Your not going to be sent back. Just tell them Sharm or Sinai only and you do not need a visa. The rep should tel you this but they don't.

Departure lounge is much better than arrivals and you can take water through security so stock up at hotel before you leave to travel with.

5* it's not
I didn't expect it to be, having read the reviews, but things like very tired and thread bear room and pool towels, the spa consists of 2 portacabin type huts near the beach and is ironically called 'The Grand Spa'. Having said that, on the last day, it was nice to have a blow dry but they have no washing facilities, apart from the toilets next door so they can't actually wash your hair! Lovely staff in there who do their best with what they have.

Food -to pay extra for garlic bread in all the restaurants- why? It's €2 I can understand paying extra for luxury expensive items such as lobster or steaks but something's seem petty and unnecessary and a shame

Entertainment - as said before, basic unless you pay extra

Tips

Took insect spray and used it each night, never got bitten but then neither did people without spray!

Very itchy skin, possibly chemicals for pools or linen used but use pool side showers after swimming to minimise this.

Take plenty of £1coins for tipping and time waiters around poll and they'll constantly ensure your topped up the whole time.

All food in hotel is prepared with purified water and ice is safe but don't brush your teeth with tap water. Plenty of bottled water available, take extra and put in your freezer section of mini fridge to freeze over, then take to pool with you.

If you want something sorted, go to Reception, don't just phone as you'll be fobbed off and ask for the manager,get their name and if you still unhappy. Speak to your rep or Sha or Dee when they are available.

Waitered restaurants need to be booked a day in advance, opens at 9.30am for bookings so be quick to get the one and the time you want.

Used hotel taxi into Naama Bay, negotiate with desk but well worth trip. Very hot at nights so take water. Mercato shopping mall also good and 10 min walk away from hotel, posit side of road but you can't miss it.

Wash your hands to minimise risk of tummy troubles, especially if handling cash. Take hand sanitiser if you want to be extra cautious.

Plenty of limos etc to buy, shouldn't have to pay more than 40LE about £4.

Exchange money at hotel, better rate than UK. Currently about 12LE to £1 and no commission.

Put valuables in safe to avoid temptation. We never experienced any problems but spoke to another couple who had had electrical goods stolen.

Lots of stairs but it is built in the side of a cliff so to be expected!

Overall, good value for money if you don't expect 5*. Wouldn't return to this hotel mostly because of the AI issues, I.e. It's not AI!

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room, we got moved to block 34 from block 5. Block 5 is convenient for pools an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I couldnt of asked for any better hospitality.. all the staff were so welcoming and made you feel so at home and relaxed. Ive been on many holidays but this was the THE BEST by far!! Not forgetting to mention Sha such an amazing lady and couldnt help any more and we were very sad to leave:( cant wait to come back!!!!!!! See you all soon!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank elwhitlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned back home after my 2nd stay at the Grand Hotel. The hotel got better compared to the last time I was there which is about 4 month ago. It's a really great 5 star hotels and you get good value for your money. Fusion restaurant had amazing food and it was always busy but kept the food coming and always hot and tasty. Like last time I stayed at the hotel I loved spending the nights watching the animation team making their shows at night and I especially liked the comedy show. If I didn't spend my night watching the show I went for a walk to Il Mercato as it's only a five minutes walk away and have a lot if nice shops and restaurants - actually the BEST restaurant in Sharm called Fares Sea Food, try it! I spent the days at the beach which is kept pretty clean and you can enjoy all the day there at your sun bed :) I'm sure I will go back to Sharm and Grand again so I will recommend the hotel for anyone as well!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is the best hotel ever everybody there is incredibly friendly especially the animation staff they always know how to put a smile on your face and plus they do a foam party every week which is amazing and exciting they certainly do know how to entertain everyone. The hotel is beautiful and the food is very nice the have a number of different restaurants like the fusion an Indian an the sharm restaurant they have a great mixture of different foods so there is something everyone, the rooms where also very nice and clean and tidy. If you want to stay anywhere in sharm I suggest you stay in the grand hotel as it's fantastic xx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Leah h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just got back from this hotel , what a relief ! We usually do Mexico, Cuba etc but fancied a change this year. A big mistake in our opinion. The only thing that's 5* about this hotel are the fantastic staff who simply couldn't do enough for you. The main hotel, grounds and pools are very good, well maintained and better than I'd expected, but thats where it all starts to go downhill. Rooms are very tired with numerous faults, functional but in desperate need of an overhaul , but the food, well, words don't describe the 'Sharm' main restaurant , or the 'cattle market' as we dubbed it. The worst food I've ever seen, and trust me, I've been all over the world. We refused to eat there and only used the other bookable restaurants which were much better, but many menus were at an additional charge. We were all ill. My wife collapsed from what we believe was undercooked food. She was so ill we needed the doctor and several injections, almost hospitalising her. He told us that this was 'normal' for the area !! We spent a fortune on medical bills and antibiotics etc for us all. To me, there was a worryingly number of people who fell ill with stomach related issues and in fact, one of the tour guides commented on the disproportionate levels of sickness at this hotel as compared to others. A German lady collapsed right in front of us with stomach issues too. Every English family we spoke to had at least someone that was ill at this hotel. I've never experienced anything like it. No wi-fi for the whole of our stay either. The great thing about this holiday, the weather. If you were our friends, I'd be advising you to stay well clear of this one. Go to Mexico.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

For my 1st time in sharm el sheikh I was a bit worried what to expect when we got there because of all the dodgy tummy stories and the they don't look after you stories. But this hotel and the place itself really puts you at ease.
The hotel itself is spotless. Everywhere is cleaned, disinfected and cleaned again.
The food was of a good standard and Mohamed the head chef would make you something different if you wasn't happy.
The pool areas were very clean and Osama and Abdul the towel guys kept the place tidy all day while constantly bringing everyone drinks all day.
We sat by the games pool all holiday where the animation staff kept us entertained with water polo and volleyball.
Everyday the staff from reception would walk around to make sure everything was ok with your holiday.
The animation team changed for the better halfway through our stay.
They were fun professional and very nice people.
Young Bradley and Paige were very helpful and always had time to help people with anything. Aswell as being totally nuts that is.
The sea has no beach and is at least 60ft deep straight off the jetty.
But is brilliant for snorkelling. At least twice a day a massive manta ray swims in to the cove right next to us. What a sight that is.
The bar staff were amazing especially moamen, youseff and the bossman at the downstairs bar. They kept the drinks flowing all night aswell as keeping us entertained.
Sharm el sheik itself isn't as bad as described by others.
You get a bit of haggling in shops but nothing threatening like other places we've been.
The rooms were to a good standard.
Cleaned throughout everyday.
Some people who weren't happy with their rooms were moved without any complaint from staff.
Taxis are cheaper off the road than in the hotel but arrange a price before getting in the car.
So all in all it's a very good hotel clean friendly with good food and entertainment.
Well recommended thank you

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.3 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#95 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,637 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#91 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#42 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
471 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#77 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing