We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Faraana Reef Resort
Ranked #126 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pleasantly suprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Booked a 9 nights stay at the Farrana Heights resort (the sister hotel to the reef) based on it being a decent price and pictures showed on many different sites. After booking the Heights resort I became a little worried as I could not find any info or reviews on the net. All we could find was info in Russian/Eastern european and a few reviews on the Faraana Reef resort. Many were saying that you should try to change your booking to the much better Reef as this hotel was finished and not still a building site. All this in mind we went with an open mind and the idea that you get what you pay for and people view hotels differently as has happened when we have pre-read reviews in the past.
On arrival we were shown to our transfer bus, we showed the guy the reeipt for transfers to the Faraana Heights and he marked us off saying just Faraana. Two othe couples got o the bus and off we set, dropping these couples off at their respective hotels. The rep who was Egyptian indicated Faraana to us to which we replied Faraana Heights not Reef, as we knew their were two hotels, He replied yes they are the same just one hotel. When we pulled off the road we imediately knew we were at the Reef resort. We explained this to the guy who insisted yes this is the one. We took our luggge and went inside, knowing we were prob in the wrong hotel.
The man at reception took our voucher walked away and came back saying "who brouht you here you in wrong hotel", We explained that we knew this but that the driver and rep (A2B transfers) had insisted that both hotels were the same. He asked if we wanted to stay here instead, we were a little confused and asked about the Heights resort, he told us that indeed it was not finished and that we would be better at the Reef resort. We didnt think twice as mostl reviews on the reef were pretty good. The Heights resort was advertised as 4.5 star and the Reef 4 star. We asked for a good room to compensate for this and he said "I give you a nice room" We were shown to room 247 which is near the end off resort but close to the beach with a sea view.
The room was very clean and tidy. The cleaner came every day to clean and change towels and from what I coud see changed the bedding too. I would say that we were a little far away from restraunt ,beter to be close to the pools for getting beds ect. The hotel was good it was beeter than we had expected as we had not been to sharm before. The beach area was fine and there was a snack bar to get drinks from as you need to drink plenty because of the heat. There were plenty of Russians and Eastern Europeans at the hotel but this was ok as we didnt see the usual hoards of brits, we were deffinately in the minority.
I know that reviews have said that the Russians are rude and that the staff dont like brits but I wouldnt say this was true, I think they work long hours for little money and just get fed up with tourists full stop. The only downside to the AI programme was the size of the glasses, very small, The food was what it is repetative but there are only so many ways with salad. There was always something to eat, breakfast was good and the omelette chef was impressive.
The African bar served alchoholic drinks until sunset sometimes 4/5 oclock this ar was where they showed they world cup games so on final night you had to buy drinks if you wanted them (naughty really for All Inclusive)
All in all the holiday was very good we went to Ras Mohammed snorkelling and did the adventurous Mt Sinai over night. The hotel was very clean, the grill resteraunt had fab views (but very warm) and pools were fab, needs bigger glasses and more entertainment.
We were glad we stayed here had a lovely time and would come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigkidsloveFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    302
    155
    67
    29
See reviews for
193
294
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel is placed in the best snorkelling spot in Sharm.
Pros:
-fantastic snorkelling on the beach (after a long walk)
-decent hotel: good rooms, clean
Cons:-worse diving centre we have ever dealt with (see details below)
-no jetty from the hotel beach, you have to walk 20 mins to the jetty of the next hotel
-you have to share the shadow of the umbrellas closely packed with too many strangers due to the unappropriate (too big and not enough) umbrellas
-no see-through curtains in the rooms; you have to use the black outs or to be seen through the windows by all passing by staff or guests
-worse Egyptian food in a AI; tasteless and identically repeating itself everyday; breakfast is the only acceptable meal
-no water distributed in the rooms and no water dispensers available in the corridors; if you are thirsty during the night or sick, you have to go to the bar (?!) or buy it ridiculously overpriced from minibar .
The worse of all was the experience with the diving centre, run by some Italians. They force you to take a check dive at a cost (even if the last dive was 2 weeks ago in Dahab!) They are not even able to schedule it in the same day , so we lost 2 days of diving. We got a few days package. One day, they have not seen my son at the meeting point, they ask me by phone (10 mins before the scheduled departure!) and I confirmed he was there, but they left without him! He was at the reception! The centre even refused to refund the money for the day, and we were told: "this is the risk of the package: we have many people getting sick and not being able to complete the number of dives but we NEVER return the money" Customer oriented service indeed! (Not talking about the fact that they were very expensive compared with other centres!) We wasted our time, and money with them. If you are interested in diving, do not go at this hotel and do not dive with Grand Blue.

The hotel is decent enough if you are a snorkelling addict, and ready to walk a little bit In the sun instead of going for snorkelling trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sidefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Where do i start firstly I am waiting for tests to come back from the hospital due to diarrhoea - me and my husband went for 7 days and did'nt eat for 3 days due to poor food. The diarrhoea isnt down to heat or drinking as we take care whilst on holiday and are responsible as we go away appx 3-4 times a year and i have never experience such pain.

The bar staff be warned as soon as they know you are english they pull their faces and really dont like to serve you - very rude indeed. Quite angry that you had to pay for bottles of water all inclusive means all inclusive or am i missing something?? Also in the african bar from 6pm you have to pay for your drinks??

The Russians are the rudest people i have ever met. you may as well be a ghost as they just walk into you push you away.. the list goes on. you really don't need this on your holiday.

On our last day was like faulty towers - i asked at the reception if they had a shower room - they tried to make me pay 60$ to keep the room but this would not be required as i would be at the beach. when i said a NO the reception man said ok no problem you can have a shower room--when we came to use the shower room, i went to reception to ask were this is he told us to sit down - we sat for half an hour?? i went back over and he had forgotten about us- then he said follow that boy so we did we got to the room which was locked the boy took another 20 mins to find a key when he opened the door he ran away.. the room was pitch black you couldnt see.. i rang reception and said he hasnt left the card for the lights the reception guy said you dont need lights?? im not joking it was pitch black.. we eventually had a shower at the pool.. when i paid alot of money for this holiday this is not the service you expect . when i went to give the towel cards he asked for my room number then said you owe money for the mini bar(yes this isnt AI) which we never used. then i noticed the room number wasnt ours?? The thing is when i said my room number the guy behind wrote this bill and miss heard the room number this is a con-- another couple got charge as well.

This hotel is a real shame as it is a nice looking hotel, clean rooms and an amazing coral reef - however the staff are so rude you the find this elsewhere.

I came to egypt in february and stayed at the royal albatros in Naqb bay now you cannot fault this hotel wished i had gone back there :(

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Missy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Sopot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

I spent a great time in Faraana and I can't say anything wrong about it.
The hotel is enormous, the food is varied, so that everyone will find anything for him/ her.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and what is more, the boy that cleaned my room also put in order all my cosmetics hehe :D
I would only regret to say that sometimes the service too often takes out a hand for tips, but still, they are very kind and helpful.
All in all, my stay in Faraana I value as worth going to.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zizi889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Never been to Egypt previously so took a gamble and booked Faraana reef last minute without much research for a reasonable price All Inclusive 11 nights.

First impressions of the hotel were good, nice and clean however a booking error meant that we waited in reception for 5 hours before getting a room (after traveling all night) though I don’t think this was any fault of the hotel however the first receptionist we spoke with was not interested and walked away without offering us any help.

After receiving our room, we had to sit on the balcony for around an hour in 50 deg heat because the room still needed to be cleaned.

Whilst waiting for the cleaning to take place the staff member who showed us to our room stood expecting a tip, which was no problem, but the guy who carried our bags did the same and then the cleaner! don’t mind tipping but not after waiting for 6 hours to get settled.

As has been mentioned in previous reviews there are a large number of Russians within the Faraana. You may think that this is OK and to be expected but no matter how much you prepare for rudeness, arrogance and near violence you will still be in for a shock when you see how these idiots act after a few drinks.

Once settled at the Faraana the experience did improve. Food was repetitive and not the best but there is always something to eat. Drinks however were a sore point within the hotel. Bar service is atrocious apart from the extreme minority of staff. You can drink Vodka until your sick in the pool but asking for water is like pulling teeth. Glasses are tiny so most times you really need 2. When your sitting in a group of 8 this means 16 drinks ordered at once. This annoys the staff and also the guests so the solution would be supply larger glasses!!

We were lucky enough to meet up with some great people, who definitely made the holiday for us, but everyone seemed to have the same problems (drinks, bar staff, Russians) and although most of this is quite negative the place overall was pretty good for the price. If only the penny pinching was sorted out, a few extra sun loungers were added and people stopped putting towels out at 5 am and not using them till 4 pm (including the manager) then I think the Faraana would be in the top 50 Sharm hotels.

One last point is that the snorkeling on Faraanas beach is fantastic (don’t buy equipment at home, go to the market and haggle) quite a climb back to the hotel but definitely worth the effort.

(Used Sharm Club for a bus trip to Cairo and it was brilliant – only £40 each)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sye123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

It was simply great. Amazing room overlooking the beach! the grill was great the staff extremly polite and the reef in front of the hotel brilliant. I could not immagine anything more!Thank you

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vierky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed here after looking through the reviews on trip advisor for a reasonably priced hotel in Sharm el sheikh, and i have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
The rooms were clean and tidy and and that goes for the whole resort in general.
The location is fabulous with an excellent beach and facilities for snorkling.
The hotel mainly caters for Russians & Italians and that was more than evident with regard to the food that was served during our stay. As long as you are aware of this before you arrive (as we were) then you cant really complain about the choice on offer, but having said that the food was fine.
Only couple of compliants was the closing time of the pool bars at 6 o`clock which was a bit too early as you then had to go to the sports bar for a drink from then on, and this was full of some very rude and ignorant Russians who have no manners at all.
However it did not spoil our enjoyment of the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#105 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#95 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#71 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraana Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraana Reef Resort

Property: Faraana Reef Resort
Address: Marine Sport Club Street, Sharm El Sheikh 34511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#76 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#113 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Faraana Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Faraana Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faraana Reef Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing