We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Island View Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Garden Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Vita Resort & Spa(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
1,410
142
37
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,410
142
37
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoho squarehot rockthrough passport controlprivate beachseafood restaurantmr hanyice skatingrestaurants and barsspecial mentionspecial thanksfour seasonsreception staffall inclusive packagebeach bareach eveningbig thanksscuba diving
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from 12 days at the RS. A holiday of two parts for us really. To begin I won't go into how lovely it is to be met at the airport by efficient Nash, who also drops you back, as you will have read it here several times. Great service though.
Part one - Excellent staff who genuinely are the friendliest people you could wish to meet. Mohammed and Kareem by pool, bishoy and Midi and Mo on the beach, Rami in the fish restaurant, Anna and Michael and Abdul to name but a few. Excellent food with no buffets in sight. Lovely premium drinks, quaffable wine, fantastic weather. Gorgeous new well thought out rooms, ours with jacuzzi outside (agree with other reviewer though, toiletries could be upgraded). What could possibly be wrong?
Part two - Sadly there is renovation work being carried out adjacent to the RS lounge which affected breakfast with noise, dust etc. though Farag did an excellent job trying to cheer us up with his delicious eggs but this area is sadly lacking even had the work not been taking place. We could also hear building noise by the RS pools. The road at the rear of our room was being relayed. More noise, dust and the inability to get in and out of our room with ease.
We appreciate renovation work must take place but we were not told of this and it sadly did affect our holiday. We were told only of the "new building" work which didn't impact on our hols. This area incidentally does look amazing and will alleviate the problems with the other sad little lounge area which I am sorry to say is an embarrassment to the RS.
As an ex GM and both of us having been in the trade for many years we perhaps are slightly more aware when things fall short, thus we had a few service problems initially but are pleased to say they were resolved quickly. So, a tale of two reviews to give - one of a lovely hotel that is trying to give you the best holiday you can have, but also a review showing we didn't see the hotel at its best by far, and I'm sure when the new building opens it will be everything we'll expect it to bow.
A couple of final points - please increase the size of the RS beach if possible as the beds are too close together and when hotel is full it will be squashed methinks. And does anyone use the cave bar a huge area we didn't see anyone in? We are returning to the Rs for all the many things that are great and are looking forward to seeing it at its best.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jeannieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hany A, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing your review and for choosing the Royal Savoy. And we are delighted with your positive comments about the service and the staff and everything that’s happening at the Royal Savoy. Most of all, your review will reassure others that despite the (nearly finished) maintenance for Savoy main pool which is located by Savoy rooms side. All the noisy work has been completed and we are simply doing the finishing touches in order to improve the Savoy guest experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards
Royal Savoy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A wonderful holiday from start to finish it would be hard to beat. All the staff were excellent everywhere too many to name but our favourites were Rami and Mustafa, Kyrollous, Mohammed at the pool, Bishoy and smiler on the beach, and Hany and his assistant at the cave bar were brilliant. The hotel is beautiful it was like having our own private pool some days. Fabulous holiday all round and can't wait to go back with our friends later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardsa406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hany A, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your positive review about your recent stay at The Royal Savoy Hotel.

It’s really a great pleasure for us, that you spent a lovely holiday at our property and that we could meet your expectations and good to hear that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards
Royal Savoy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My third visit to this hotel, we decided to upgrade to a villa. Egypt is a great location for a sunshine holiday - it's consistently sunny and not too far to travel from the UK. I always opt for the all-inclusive option here as not only is it truly all-inclusive (ie a la carte dining, premium brand alcohol etc), but you get to enjoy the benefits of Soho square which is located right on the doorstep. The hotel and the square together become a small city!! The holiday starts as you step off the plane - literally as you take your first step into the terminal building. We were met by Nash - a bright and happy character who took us straight through passport control etc, and to our awaiting transport - all within the space of 10 minutes. Now this is a great benefit as there were approx 600 passengers just landed with the prospect of an hours wait at least before being able to head off to their hotels. We were driven straight to our villa and checked in there - again, a 10 minute journey. And what accommodation! The villa (Villa Aswan) is a spacious 2 bedroom villa. The photos on the website do not do it justice. The decor is luxurious, classy and cosy, with the garden and pool just as impressive as the inside. The pool was pretty large at around 35ft by 18ft. The whole area felt secluded and not overlooked, even though it being in the hotel complex. The views are of the sea and the various hotel pools.

However, if I am to say what I think is best about the hotel, it's the service. I've stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels in the world including The Trident in Delhi and Dhoni Island in the Maldives, but none beat the service and attention to detail. Breakfast kicks off with the wonderful Farag cooking perfect eggs for you - not to mention unlimited champagne (ahem). The choice of restaurants and bars throughout the daytime and evening is so varied, that a 1 week stay is barely enough time to explore and enjoy. From a first class Teppanyaki to a steak-house; from a seafood bbq to a traditional Egyptian banquet, the choice is staggering. And that's just the tip of the iceberg.

Most of our fellow holiday-makers were from the UK as the usual tourists from other parts of the world are just not going in their usual numbers, and UK holidaymakers are generally pretty hardy folk who won't let a mass insurrection get in their way of their holiday (Egypt is currently suffering as a result of the troubles there, but do not let this deter you from having a holiday there). We had no hint whatsoever of any kind of conflict.

Another thing of note is that most holiday makers (including myself) are repeat guests, and other first-timers were actually re-booking holidays there and then. 2 couples that we spoke to having both previously stayed in the nearby Four Seasons, said that they wished they'd discovered the Royal Savoy previously.

If you are looking for a luxury stay in Egypt, then I would recommend an upgrade to the Royal Savoy. There are some fantastic deals out there at the moment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hany A, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing the Royal Savoy and for the recommendation to the other readers on this forum. We also appreciate the many positive comments you have about the service, the staff, the villa and the Soho Square.
We are so happy that you appreciated our efforts at making you, your son and all of our guests feel like Royalty. Here we do our very best to keep our guest-satisfaction high,
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Royal Savoy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just come back from a week in The Royal Savoy, our third trip to this hotel over the years. We treated ourselves to a Villa for this trip - Villa Aswan, and absolutely loved the experience .The villa was spacious, very well equipped, nice and private. Having your own pool and beautiful sea views was brilliant.
What was a surprise though, was how the hotel was improving since our last visits. To be honest I felt that the hotel was 4.5 stars rather than 5 when we last visited 3 years ago, but was really pleasantly surprised by the efforts made on maintenance, upgrading and service to make it properly 5-stars. Having seen the new rooms in the Royal Savoy wing I was really impressed by their size, modernity and fit-out quality - can't wait to see the new Reception and Lounge, which looks 95% finished already.
Special mention needs to go the staff and management - I really noticed a difference in the service provision - many of the same staff were there 3 years on from our last visit. Their cheerfulness and attentiveness was really impressive, and all the staff, including maintenance and garden staff were very polite, smiling and cheerful.
Really special mention needs to be given to Nash at the airport who's assistance at check-in/out and luggage collection was astonishing. Battling queues at the start and end of long journeys is no fun, and he ensured the Sharm end of that was incredibly fast and trouble-free. Shame he wasn't in Manchester for that bit! We also like to commend Faraq who cooked us breakfast everyday at the Royal Savoy lounge - what a nice guy, great fun, and egg-cellent cooking.

Room Tip: Normal Savoy rooms are unbelievable value at the moment. New rooms in the Royal Savoy are proper 5-star. S-Class deals are superb value
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hany A, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your lovely review,
I’m so glad you had a wonderful experience in our Royal Savoy Villa Aswan and loved all of the facilities it had to offer.
It’s fantastic to hear that you feel we have improved our services even further, and as for your comments about the staff; we will make sure that they are passed on, and that each staff member mentioned receives recognition.
You are right, our new Royal Savoy Lounge is due to open very soon and it will be a superb addition to our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back so that you are able to experience it for yourselves!
Best Regards,
Royal Savoy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The staff make this place. A wonderful warm welcome at the airport and on arrival at the hotel. We stayed in one of the new rooms on the first floor. The rooms are great especially the bathroom though we thought bath products could be better for this type of hotel.

We spent most days on the beach and were looked after fantastically by Bishoy. Great drinks and such a nice genuine guy. The life guards on the beach and on the jetty were also great in particular Mido and Mo. The snorkelling is great right from the jetty. The reception team such as Anna and Nash were great too.

We went B&B rather than AI. This was great for us as we are not big eaters but were able to make use of the free beer and wine from midday to 8pm. The waiting staff again were good especially Kasia and the egg man, Farag. However, I think the breakfast offer for this class of hotel is poor and really needs updating.

There are lots of restaurants to choose from either in the hotel or in the nearby Soho Square. All were good.

The hotel was full for the first week and our stay clashed with the Russian Easter holidays unfortunately.

We were on an evening flight on departure back to London and allowing us to keep our room until 5pm was much appreciated. Thanks to Nash for also whisking us through the airport.

I cannot fault the staff but I think the hotel could be better. We were disappointed with the breakfast offering; the Royal Savoy pools are only really separated from the main busy pool areas by a hedge and so screaming kids can still be heard and we were disappointed to see no action was taken against a Russian guest who intentionally destroyed some coral & jelly fish. After all once the coral has gone people will stop coming!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jw_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hany A, Royal Savoy Manager at The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay,
It’s great to see that on the whole you had a pleasant stay with us, and found that our staff made your holiday extra special.
We apologies that you weren’t satisfied with the breakfast variety, and we will make sure that your comments are forwarded to the relevant departments.
It’s such a shame that you witnessed this incident, especially as the Red Sea is protected; I assure you that immediate investigation was done and guest’s travel agent informed.
We hope to welcome you back to the Royal Savoy in the future
Best Regards,
Royal Savoy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews