We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #6 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

From our arrival to departure they looked after us as extra special guests. We were fast tracked through the very busy arrivals hall at the airport and into our `Merc` for transfer to the hotel and personal check in. Fabulous room, quiet pool with pampered service, cocktails and canapes before dinner, staff who instantly recognised you,peaceful breakfasts, the list goes on. You still have all the restuarants of the Savoy to choose from but the luxury of your own private hotel. The `s` class all inclusive is also to be highly recommended. We were caught in the `cloud of doom` but the staff could have not been more helpful in sorting out our initial problems. Wonderful in all respects and our best holiday in Egypt by a long way.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    130
    37
    8
    8
See reviews for
201
844
63
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

This hotel was absolutely amazing. I went with two friends and i couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. The service was great, everyone welcomes you with a smile on thier face. This resort is very big, our rooms were located about a 5-10minute walk to reception, pool area and beach. However the gardens and surrondings are maintained everyday so was a lovely walk everyday.

Rooms: In all honesty the rooms were not 5* however they were very clean. I would say the rooms are more so a 4*. The bathroom was also not at a 5* standard but again kept clean and we had no problems.

Pool area: There are 3 main pools here whch are fairly big, there was spaces and chairs for us, very quiet and peaceful. Although there were time slots in the morning where you could join in the pool for aqua aerobix which got quite loud at times but only for a short while.

Beach: The water is beautiful, so clear and blue. You cannot swim in the sea unless you go further out in the ocean as there are rocks which can cut you therefore they are very strict. We found that we would get hassled quite a bit from locals trying to sell us excursions, this did get quite annoying as all we wanted to do was just chill but they found it hard taking no for an answer. We found that staying by the pool we wouldnt get hassled as much. There is a little shop where you can do water sports, it was quite reasonably priced, i would definately reccomend you to go on the banana boat.

Food: We had B&B although i would have preffered all inclusive however the difference in price was ridiculous. Buffet breakfast was brilliant. Such a wide variety of food, i am a vegetarian and i found i had more than enough to choose from. Cerals, bread, toast, fruit, juices, tea it was fab. I would reccomend going all inlcusive as you are on the resort everyday it does add up with spending so if we had gone all inclusive it would have been great. There are 5 restaurants to choose from, and near the beach there are one or two which do pizzas, sanwiches, fries etc.

Overall i would definately reccomend this hotel, iwhether ypu are travelling with your friends, partners, family this resort is for everyone. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We've been to lovely Sharm 3 times before our trip last March and staying only at 5 star hotels. Royal Savoy was by far one of the best experiences we've had in sharm and other countries we typically visit. The hotel is nestled within its much larger mother Savoy hotel with its own private indoor/outdoor lounge overlooking a beautiful pool and the sea .

Our experience was simply amazing from start to finish. The service was great, everyone seemed friendly, helpful and professional (management to waiters). The staff and the place itself made us feel as it was our own home with the addition of the nice views and surroundings of-course :) . The place is cozy and is simply a perfect getaway to get the comfort needed.

Being S-Class guests we dined at pretty much all the restaurants the hotel offers along with a whole array of other restaurants available just outside the hotel in Soho Square (Entertainment and shopping district full of life and dancing fountains) LOVED IT!!!!

Two downfalls:

1. We had a bad experience at the hotel Seafood restaurant (Food quality and service)
2. The reception of Royal Savoy seemed as an after thought and simply doesn't match the wonderful service and experience provided.

We are going back there very soon!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Itrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

I can't fault the service or the hotel, would highly recommend the extra money for All Inclusive, you can use all the a la carte restaurants (only saw 2 supplements and that was for a Lobster dish). Best restaurant is Hot Rocks, although 2nd being the Italian Rosamarino. Be careful if you go in the evening to the Cave Bar (bugs will attack your ankles, Jungle spray will not protect you!) Most relaxing and enjoyable hotel, would highly recommend. Special thanks to Ali on towel bar - such a lovely man, plus really cares about making you stay fantastic. The Royal Savoy Reception is a bit strange - as laid out like an office, but they couldn't be more helpful. Been back 2 days and can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BabyBearLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Having stayed at many 5* hotels around the world I spent several hours researching Tripadvisor over which hotel in Sharm to go to for my husband's birthday - and was glad that the hotel lived up to it's reputation!

After speaking to other passengers on the journey home this did not seem to be the case for many of the other hotels in the top 10 in Sharm. No stomach troubles for us and had a perfect, relaxing stay in spotlessly clean hotel.

The VIP treatment from George both on meeting us at the airport and taking us back made the holiday special from start to finish. He is a great asset for the Royal Savoy.

We had both the old and upgraded rooms whilst at the resort. The new bathroom's definitely are a vast improvement with double sinks, huge walk in shower, although not sure personally that I like the Jacuzzi in the bedroom rather than the bathroom.

Guest relation staff at Royal Savoy and also the pool and bar man around the private pool give the added personal touches that you expect.

Areas for improvement: Service and friendliness in the other areas of the hotel is lacking. Food quality on the whole was very good apart from the Caligula Gala Night when the only word for both the food and service was TERRIBLE!
Also a problem with the privacy/make up room signs which kept blowing off causing a nightmare for the housekeeping staff who had no idea as to which room they came from or whether that room wanted privacy or not. It resulted in us not having our room made up for a whole day which was disappointing, but we have been assured that this is already being addressed by management.

Had the S class all inclusive and feel that this does offer very good value for money.


Would we go back - MOST DEFINITELY.

Wendy and Stephen Beales

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Just back from 8 nights - after much research we decided on the RS - we wanted good weather, good food, excellent facilities in a good holiday, and relaxation.

Overall we had a great holiday and for the above criteria would go back (although with more realistic expectations.

What was good...
- Room - large, clean, comfortable, no complaints at all
- Service - efficient, although we had very little to ask for; private transfer was great
- RS pools - yes two smaller pools but adequate for "cooling down" and personally made a huge difference due to the "no children" policy and the lack of pumped radio music which the main pools are subjected too - personally if there is one reason alone why I would recommend the RS over the Savoy it would be this, for me it is the difference between a really relaxed holiday or a more family orientated, "energetic" one
- RS Lounge - a definite plus. I can appreciate that others may have found the breakfast choice limited but we found it perfect - fruit, cheeses, breads, eggs etc, - enough for us and a far more pleasant experience than the main Savoy restaurant; canapés in the evening were good, drinks etc

What was not so good...
- Service - it's good, but not quite there. Some of the staff on reception can be quite "literal" in their interpretation of how things should be done, consequently it felt like adhering to a rule book (possibly a language/cultural issue to be fair), the RS service is most definitely better than in the rest of the hotel which can be lacking (e.g. bringing menus, clearing tables etc.)
- Food - this was most definitely the biggest let down for us. We are not food snobs, but certainly do enjoy tasty food and we really struggled to get this within the Savoy complex. We tried the Italian (very poor), Hot Rock (food just about fine, but we hated the place), Saffron (again just about fine but soulless environment), the Seafood Restaurant (moderately better) and Morgana (where we enjoyed some simple but decent pizza and salad and at least it has the atmosphere of being on holidays which I could not say for Soho Square which was more akin to eating in a shopping centre). I appreciate that we were effectively in the desert and therefore most things had to be bought in but this is certainly for me a huge area for improvement - I have been to Dubai where the quality of the food is far beyond what we got

I have noted with some interest other comments comparing the RS with the Four Seasons. Certainly when I booked they were not comparable in price (in fact way off) and therefore we knew we would not be getting the same standard we could expect to get in the FS.

Overall – would I go back? Yes. It matched nearly all of our criteria and as first time visitors to Egypt, we would now have far more realistic expectations about the food and service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckyrk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

This 'average' rating is all about value for money and expectations falling short of the hotel's big claim: The Royal Savoy is an afterthought. It occupies the 'prime location' part of the in my opinion "more 3 than 4 star" Savoy hotel complex which was constructed 9 years ago. The Royal part of the Savoy has its own exclusive areas, but lacks the feel of the 5 star resort it purports to be. Starting with the exclusive facilities: 2 small pools are for exclusive use of RS guests, both are heated and free drinks are served all day long. The RS 'club lounge' comprises a small bar area where complimentary fingerfood (mostly fresh fruit and cakes) is available all day long with more interesting canapés emerging late afternoon. The best part of the lounge is the outside terrace overlooking the pool(s). Both inside and outdoors the lounge area is too small and tranquility can easily be ruined by loud guests. With just 7-8 indoor tables and a similar number on the terrace it was amazing that the lounge was not crowded with the hotel being at full occupancy. The reception area is pokey, a glass conservatory which fails to betray the fact that the "Royal" part of the Savoy is simply a spruced up wing which in a Hyatt would simply be called the 'Regency Club' wing or similar. The RS comprising some 12 rooms in a 3 storey high rise above the reception/lounge, another 6 or so which share part of 'link 4' with adjacent regular "Savoy rooms", 4 chalets with 4 rooms each , two chalets each with an upstairs and downstairs suite, and a trio of huge villas all of which can be accessed by car from the rear and overlook the pool(s) from their terraces/balconies. The Royal Savoy has it's own (unused when we were there) sunloungers on a two-level cliffside patio overlooking the beach, and RS guests are given yellow towels to distinguish them from everyone else's blue/black striped towels. We were told the RS rooms were completed more recently than 9 years ago, and the interior decor certainly looks that way - rooms are in good shape still and sport four-poster king beds with decent mattresses and bedlinen. Aircon is up to standard (thermostat plus 3 fan strength settings) but we've experienced less noisy units in 5 star hotels. The hotel was pleasantly insect-free (they fog the grounds/gardens extensively). Towels are new and clean (expecially the pool towels). Unlike the Savoy where guests need to buy bottled water (a common hotel problem in Sharm), Royal guests get as much drinking water as they need. And RS guests enjoy complimentary airport pickup and dropoff (then again, the runway is no more than 2km away and you can hear the plane engines as they rev up before takeoff). The beach (White Knights beach) is one of the better ones in Sharm, with two long plastic pontoons leading to a great reef. As the beach itself is shared with not just the Savoy but another hotel it's busy there, but not overcrowded. The same applies for nightlife. The Soho Square area with its restaurants and novelties (ice bar etc) is a modern, very safe, sanitised, squeaky clean answer to Naama Bay (but it could therefore be anywhere in the world!). Now some negatives which take the shine off the rating: The RS is expensive and they justify this by claiming upon checkin that they're not just No.1 in Sharm, but No.6 in the world. Yes, a certain premium is justified for the all-day drinks and fruit/nibbles. But... reception is unmanned after 10pm and room service and housekeeping after hours are underwhelming. For example they have a pillow menu but housekeeping staff on night shift are unfamiliar with it. The spa is unremarkable (and surprisingly for Egypt, an open and mixed facility) but the modest gym is ok. Breakfast in the RS lounge is poor, with a very very small selection for a 5 star hotel (the egg chef out on the terrace tried to compensate by bringing Rösti potatoes to each table). We attempted to seek out greater variety in the main Savoy buffet restaurant but this is not advisable. They have a better egg/waffle counter, but all their pastries are appallingly buttery and their selection of hot items is not great, ditto for their bread... 3 star standard at best. The best offering would be their freshly made mango and strawberry juices, but their orange juice is from concentrate. To claim therefore that the RS is ahead of the Four Seasons (which maintains higher standards across an entire hotel with better/bigger rooms) is a stretch. RS is a good alternative to Regency Club rooms at the Sharm Hyatt Regency as there's more to do here, but you'll be paying Four Seasons prices. So pick the RS for its beach and 'large, busy resort' feel if you don't mind mixed standards. If you require everything about your stay to be 5 star for this sort of money, you'll be disappointed and you'd be advised to instead select the above-mentioned property belonging to a top-end exclusive hotel chain (presently ranked No.2 on TA). It's just in the next bay & breakfast there is superb.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank awayweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.7 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#39 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,922 reviews
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#13 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy is an exclusive club wing, complete with its own private lounge, terrace, pool, and beach area. Created for guests who prefer to stay in a more intimate and secluded location within the grounds of the Savoy. The Royal Savoy offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort, all providing views over Tiran islands or the hotel's landscaped gardens. The rooms range in size from the generous standard rooms, to the famous luxury Suites. All rooms are welcoming and capacious, offering an exceptional combination of style and function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing