We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thaitastic !!! 10/10”

Sala Thai Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 324 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range: US$10 - US$55
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the 5 star Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh . The resort's specialty restaurant, entirely hand-carved in Egypt and Italy and modeled on a traditional Thai garden house (hence the name "Sala"). The lobby entry draws the guest through massive carved doors into a quaint bar. Its window overlooking the bay and a softly lit cove ceiling are simple but characterful. The restaurant itself is breathtaking: large windows overlook the Red Sea and lead to a magnificent two-level terrace; a dramatic beamed ceiling and walls are intricately carved with nature scenes; greenery is oriental in style and sits in handmade ceramic planters; seats have comfortable armrests and brightly coloured cushions; it all creates an Eastern style sensuality that permeates every inch of this alluring restaurant. A brass and raised bronze applique forms the backdrop of the wooden canopied theatre kitchen. As inside seating is on two levels, guests may gaze upon the chefs' performances while breathing in the heady scents of lemongrass and ginger. Theatrical lighting makes this part of the room the centre of the action. Seating up to 10 guests around a traditional round table, a private dining room is a temple of outstanding design, offering up truly remarkable double views of the Gardens Bay.
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, service , atmosphere.
I went 3 times on my visit which I found it earlier when I was staying at hotel !
Great value for hotel restaurant and compared with the buffet downstairs as you can get starter, main, unlimited rice & dessert for the same price as the buffet.
The waiters were excellent , attentive good humour.
The atmosphere and setting is great , best view in hotel on sunset of the sea, nice breeze . Also sitting inside watching the lovely chef work was fun.
Menu is well balanced with few appetisers, salads , curries, noodle & rice dishes and fish dishes .
My favourites were the steamed seabass and steamed tiger prawns . The green chicken curry was best I've ever had !!

Fantastic time and can't wait till I visit again in November time .

1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just eaten at the Sala Thai Restaurant in the Hyatt Regency, Sharm El Sheikh, and what a fantastic meal it was. Excellently presented, full of flavour and taste. Islam the waiter was superb and the chef coming out to your table to ask if you had a good meal was a nice touch. Would thoroughly recommend eating at this restaurant. When we visit Sharm again we will certainly be going back for more of the great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in Sala Thai . It is always pleasing & motivating to read such reviews and i promise you to forward your comments to Islam, Chef Aworn and the Outlet Manager Osama . We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant and the Hyatt in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kariman Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I have spent 2 Wedding Anniversaries at Sala Thai... and we will be going back for a third in six weeks time.

The restaurant is part of the Hyatt Hotel. Bookings can be made online in advance and I recommend you do this.

On our second visit - 3 years after the first, we were greeted like old friends. We arrived early so we indulged in a couple of aperitifs in the Hyatt's Stars bar before dinner.

The staff had found the requested table on the outdoor terrace, which we were shown to with a smile. The service here is impeccable. You never have to wait for anything, but the waiters aren't obtrusive. They quietly watch and turn up right on cue.

The outdoor terrace is lovely. Tables overlook the hotel's terraces down to the sea. The linen is crisp, the menu mouth-watering.

We love Thai food and the coconut and lemongrass flavours shone through in my green curry. My wife Sarah is a vegetarian and she found lovely things to eat - no mean feat for a veggie in Egypt!

A nice bottle or two of wine... and a good dose of mosquito repellent(!)... made for the perfect evening. Not cheap, but The Sala Thai doesn't break the bank.

Which is why we are delighted to be going back to enjoy this restaurant again in 2014.

Happy days!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malcfreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Malcfreem

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sala Thai next month . Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted to receive your feedback . Chef Arwon has recently updated the menu and your wife will be pleased to note that eight new vegetarian dishes have been added .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in Sharm by far. The Thai husband and wife chefs are just fantastic! Seriously, this is better than Patara in London! We are staying in the Four Seasons were there are ample dining choices, but this place blows them all away. Authentic high end Thai cooking in an amazing setting with excellent service. And all at a reasonable price. Really spot on. You must go!

Thank GJD-Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear gjg8989

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in Sala Thai. On behalf of Chef Arwon and her husband Charoenchai in the kitchen and our restaurant manager Osama front of house we would like to thank you for your kind review and all look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Thai during your next visit to Sharm el Sheikh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Gamal was fabulous and most attentive - great food and super service. The Chef comes out and meets the guests personally and is very keen to receive any feedback. The view of the resort from the balcony is the perfect setting to enjoy a wonderful authentic thai dinner.

2  Thank Dawn_butcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsharm, Manager at Sala Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Dawn

We were delighted to read of your experience in Sala Thai . We will make sure to pass on your kind words to Gamal , Chef Aworn and the rest of the team . The view as you noted, offers a perfect setting overlooking gardens bay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Thai in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Thai Restaurant also viewed

Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
 

Been to Sala Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing