We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star ?????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Continental Plaza Beach Resort
Ranked #169 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Sheering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 Star ?????”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lets get the headlines out of the way before we get into the details - The location is amazing, the food is shocking, as a family of four we all had stomach issues which meant most meals were followed by a toilet trip (sorry!!!). The rooms are ok and some of the staff are fab - Abdul on the ground floor, Isham on the 2nd floor, Miya in Animation team and the bar man (sorry we didnt get your name) from the freshwater pool area and the italian or BBQ (depending on which one is open - we'll come to that!) and the evening receptionist, the only one who understands English sufficiently and has the drive to get things sorted!
What is clear is that this place has been mis-managed for years, the staff look like theyre battling everyday to hold the fort and make the most of resources that are cheap or non-existent.

10 minutes from the airport, great, check in quick and efficient and the air con in most parts of the building were fab. But on the way in you go past a battered large sign, which was a pointer of things to come.
The room was spacious, a little dirty in places, but the kids beds were in place - great for a family after a big journey. And in the main in was pretty good, especially again the air con. Although no extra pillows or towels were provided this took 3 trips to reception to get this sorted out. So we go to eat the buffet, the food is wet, barely warm, slop basically nothing had signs to tell you what it was, and sadly the food was not designed for an English market at all, not that I mind that too much as long as I know what I'm eating. We lived on chicken and rice for a couple of days and an omelette for breakfast. We may have been spoilt in other places but the offers from the theatre chefs we also limited and not very well done at all. All bars generally used plastic cups to serve warm drinks! In pretty much every bar beer and soft drinks were served from bottles that weren't chilled. And often customers were resorting to tea and coffee in plastic cups (not very 5 star), because as with butter, sauces, spoons, glasses, the fabulous choc donuts (at breakfast, the best thing) and even plates cups were often all gone, and it wasnt really busy, their just wasnt the organisation and resources their to keep things topped up.
So off to the the a la carte restaurants - so when you book these at reception, dont expect a choice of three as there was only enough staff to open 2 of the restaurants, so we went for BBQ, having walked past we thought it looked great, by the pool with your own little BBQ at your table. So we went a little early, and were abruptly told to wait by the grumpy manager in that restaurant, and then subsequently allowed in, we were told nothing and just watched this manager grump at staff and point customers to tables and use no customer care skills when forcing those out who hadnt booked. No one told us what to do, and being overlly English we waited and waited, all the Russians got ushered up to the salad buffet and we got left with the dregs, no bread rolls left and the additional items promised never materialised. The meat arrived on its little BBQ yet somehow it still managed to be cold, and no one said what any of it was, some cold random fish, chicken and liver. OK so lets give the Italian a go - we love italian, the kids love pasta, this has to be a winner, and when I book the following money yay the Italian is open today! Chicken or beef the man on reception asks - random but ok its the first time so lets try 2 of each. So we get there and in the ITALIAN we are served a chicken kiev and chips, with what looks like tinned spaghetti, although it tastes good and the salad bar is great, and the beef option was mash potato and a thin fryingsteak!! The best food there but laughably not Italian. So onto seafood - a beautiful setting over looking the sea, again no communication, just provided with a starter of cold random fish, which is followed by a plate of more random fish, some of which was very tasty although only warm and by now with poorly tummies and dodgy experiences everywhere else we are dubious about eating undescribed warm fish. So we had to resort to eating out - firstly we ordered in a McDonalds, amazing after a week of Continental Plaza Beach food, McDonalds was Gourmet Burger Kitchen. Then we heard about Soho Square, get yourself there, a fabulous addition to Sharm with great restaurants serving reasonably priced great food, good shops with none of that Naama Bay hassle, and the dancing fountains, security and roller blading entertainments team make it a fab place to spend the night.
If you're still reading I'll move onto the animations team, so sorry for these guys, drastically neglected by the C. P. B. management the beach volleyball, water polo etc was none existent, relics of goals and a flat ball were all that remained the activities in the day were put together by the team trying to entertain the hotel guests, and the mini disco was a favourite of our little girl, the team would try evening events but CPB was summed up brilliantly by the hired in dance acts, the only external show of the two weeks was Egyptian dancers who tried to perform for the crowd but were let down by the hotels decrepid sound system. This would cut out every 5 mins infurriating the dancers who eventually walked off before the hotels equipment dragged them down to its level.
This place could be fab, and as we were going they'd brought new TVs, and had brought in additional staff and training support. Sadly flat screen TVs added nothing to our stay this had no relevance to the issues with the food or service standards and the money should have been invested elsewhere. A paint brush and paint wouldnt go amiss as anything decorated had long since faded and broken. The location is amazing the snorkeling from the pier is as good as any boat trip and the pools when cleaned are great. Including the water slides which other than the last day were great, the kids loved them and the staff were watching safe use. On the last day it was swamped by Russians and holidaying Egyptians, neither of whom respect a line and will push 4 years olds out the way.

Room Tip: Our room was great 4122, it was near to the freshwater pool, and close to the beach and main restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    192
    135
    106
    186
See reviews for
256
284
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked for 2 weeks had to move after 6 days it's very dirty pool needs closing pubic hair floating scum on tiles beach bar filly staff cleaning work surfaces with pool water rooms dirty snot on side of sheet for 4days food freezing not edible had to eat out one bottle of warm water provided daily to reuse and fill from water container around the resort if empty don't expect it to be replaced straight away then it's warm food same every day cold chicken cold rice cold veg had to eat out for 6days reception dirty staff rude I want to say something good about this hotel but Cant

Room Tip: Don't recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked this 5 day break to celerbrate my partners birthday,from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty,the room was good,we had a pool and sea view,all of the staff were very attentive and gave great customer service,the pools were clean and gardens well kept,considering it was Ramadan all staff were happy and kept us entertained and looked after. We read reviews about the hotel before we booked and we was not let down,I will mention the manager who was always asking and ensuring we were having a good time ASH....we will be booking to go back,really enjoyed our time here!!

Room Tip: Speak to manager Ash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robm1969335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The beach was very, very beautiful with many colourful fishes and corals. Plenty of sunbed, matrac and sunshade.The room was big enough for two people, but small for a family. The furniture was litle bit old. There was only one big restaurant, usually crowded and they didn't open the second one the "La Duna" on the firstfloor. Accordingly the staff couldn't clean the tables, because too many people were there at same time.The food was good enough, but usually same everyday. My bad experiance , when we arrived with group early in the morning 6 a.m., the receptionist didn't give us the rooms and we had to wait for 3 hours to get the room keys, noon the less the hotel was not full. You can reach the shops and supermarkets only with taxi because this hotel far away from the centre. In the aggregate our family holiday was nice and the snorkeling was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were treated like VIP's from the first moment we arrived, reception staff are great, our cleaner was wonderful, room was spotless, hotel clean and tidy. restaurant was great food, was varied and tasty. We really enjoyed our 30th Wedding Anniversary the hotel made us an enormous cake and sang to us, decorated our table it was fab! Thanks guys, looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Pool view is lovely, just the right place in between all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Pulling up to the hotel we were wary at first as there is a lot of development leading to the hotel. Once there though the hotel stands out against the background. The grounds and food were very good (in particular the sea food restaurant) even though the hotel is a bit dated. But above all this the service is the main reason I would come back here again. All staff we met from management, bar staff and cleaners were very pleasant and would go out of there way to help you. There are many people we could mention but in particular Ash at reception, George (Gilpas) at the bar and Aladiin at the restaurants. As others have mentioned on here there are many Russians and Egyptians whom are rude but there are other Brits and the hotel do put you all together so you don't feel isolated. There could be more entertainment in the evenings, but Naama Bay and Soho Square are short trips away. Have to mention the reef also, the hotel has great access and snorkelling/diving is a must do. This was our first time to Egypt and we will be going back and using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request to be by the fresh water pool, this pool seems to be overlooked by many of the Russians and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeandAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What can I say this was our second visit to this beautiful hotel and the second time was even better. I was that confident that I took the children this time and they thoroughly enjoyed. The staff are so accommodating and take a genuine in6erest in you ( Plus a few shekels here and there doesn't go amiss )
They work ever so hard and 10 Egyptian pound about 90p makes a difference the norm would be about 30egp. Trust me they will look after you because they main other tourists there are the Russians and trust me they wont give a blind chicken a piece of corn. Rooms are spacious and clean pools are kept amazing and here is a nice tip learn to sat please and thank you in their langue goes a long way. And remember hot bloody hot so take loads of sun cream happy holiday x

Room Tip: Room on the sea front close to the pool fab :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andy2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#85 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort Hotel
Sharm Resort Hotel
#117 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Vi...
#87 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
#61 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#84 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Plaza Beach Resort

Property: Continental Plaza Beach Resort
Address: El Pasha Bay, P.O Box 128, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#96 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#126 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#129 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:5 star — Continental Plaza Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 598
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Inter Plaza Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing