We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sol Y Mar the most amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Sharks Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jaz Sharks Bay
Ranked #33 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sol Y Mar the most amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

That was my second time in Sharm El Sheikh, All inclusive room on the pool second floor the room was not very fancy but neat and the view is awesome, the staff is very friendly and the restaurant is the best best best delicious tasty, lot lot lot of food and juice, wine, beer Also the animation team was very nice, Unfortuantely i had a lot of work so I didn't went to their beach

Room Tip: Pool second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AfraKoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,286
    518
    202
    61
    54
See reviews for
325
1,145
61
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We've just returned from a two week stay at the Sol Y Mar (our 2nd time) and can safely say that it was just as pleasant as the first time we stayed last year.
From the moment we arrived we were looked after very efficiently by the young man on reception. We had already emailed the hotel requesting the same room (top floor) and as promised we got it, we were escorted to our rooms by the lovely smiling guy (sorry can't remember his name - he mostly worked the night shift) who was very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and spacious , plenty of room for two people, beds are HUGE and very comfortable. Our room was cleaned regurlaly and we had varied towel art throughout our stay.
As we had arrived late evening after a 6 hour flight we were feeling peckish, a visit to the main restaurant served us fine, there was plenty of food to choose from - soup, salads, pasta, rice, potatoes, pizza, fries, chicken, plenty of vegetables and of course a selection of desserts ranging from little cakes, pastries, jelly, fruit, ice cream and lots more. Throughout our stay there was a varied choice from the hot plate - stir fry, fish, chicken, beef, veal, turkey - all in all a very good selection - yes, a little repetitive but what do you expect when they have to cater for a vast array of holiday makers. Drinks are ok too, wine, beer and soft drinks. The guys in the restaurant were very friendly and always ready to have a joke with you. Have a little banter with them and they will look after you... ie keeping you topped up with drinks!! Must mention the breakfast guy, Emad, he makes the best omelettes and always with a beaming smile on his face. Never once were we ill but I would recommend to always use the anti bac that is in the restaurant before eating, it isn't always the food that makes you ill but the other unhygienic holiday makers !!
Entertainment on an evening was fun and light hearted, the animation team worked hard to keep everyone entertained. The programme ranged from Miss Sol Y Mar, Mr Sol Y Mar, Quiz Nights, Dance Night, Bingo, Karaokee - not for everyone but still fun. Bar staff again were helpful, polite and kept you topped up with drinks, must mention Kareem, Amr and Youssry (sorry if I've missed anyone else).... all really good guys. Keep up the good work :-)
Pool area - we always managed to find a sunbed and after a few days the towel guy would recognise where you preferred to sunbathe and would put towels out for you. Some days the drinks were served in smaller beakers but only as the others were probably being washed - or left outside of the rooms, I guess drinks were being taken back to the rooms and glasses were left there! The only negative to mention around the pool area were the flies, so annoying !! Never had the problem with them the previous year.
We sorted out our own excursions only as we had been to Egypt twice before and knew who to book with. Firstly we did two days scuba diving around Ras Mohammed National Park and Tiran Island - amazing!! Lots of fish, couple of sharks and just beautiful coral. Our second excursion was Desert Buggies - which was just a fantastic experience, start off early evening, about 5pm. Then head off into desert whilst the sun is setting behind the mountains, stop off at a bedouin area for Egyptian tea then head back in the dark - just brilliant. Wrap up , it gets cold at night.
We visited Naama Bay twice and we felt that this year we were hassled more than our last two years we went there but nothing that a polite but firm No Thanks didn't sort out. Still worth a visit though - full of character. Soho Square is a much more relaxing evening, no hassle and very very clean! And not too far in a taxi from the hotel - would highly recommend a visit there.
Yes we tipped the staff but these guys work long hours and for a lot less than us in the UK but always managed a smile.
All in all we had a good holiday again and would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends.
Thanks to Ibrihim and all his staff for an amazing two week relaxing holiday. Hopefully be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are the better ones as have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bridget12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

During my trip to this hotel I had wished that I find so much but unfortunately I was surprised by :
what i found
when we arrived to the reception of the hotel,we didn't find the bell boy to carry our luggages . we didn't find any staff at the reception desk,the security guard tried to find anybody for us. suddenely one girl appeared behind the desk asking us about our reservation without any welcoming and without any welcome drinks. she asked us to wait until she check our booking. After long time We have received the key and we went to the room without any escorting. We have found the room is completely non- cleaned and non-matching our booking. We contacted the reception and the girl told us that she can change the room tomorrow. Even more bizarre is that we found some cockroaches in the main restaurant we told the management more than one time but without any action. We decided not to go back to this terrible hotel d

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank coucou933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Just had two weeks in this loverly hotel, staff really friendly, food cooked well with different variety's, only a short trip from the airport you can see the planes come in but vary rarely any sound. The hotel surrounds the pool which in this case was extremely cold although was heated. No elevators here, stairs to 3 levels, stairs to pool and some rooms, stairs to the bar and shops in main hotel. There doesn't appear to be anything for young children/ teenagers to do at this hotel, ideal for those who want a quiet holiday, animation team really fun but everything seems to stop in the evenings at the hotel about 11pm, for more entertainment you would have to get a taxi to Soho Square (private Mall) or Namma Bay for clubs, markets,etc.The flies bite beware!!! the only down side we found was poolside not washed down daily, & same sheets for the 2 wks, beds made up nice but not clean linen

Room Tip: Poolside View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just returned from a 7 night break here! Have had the best time! when you come away you read these reviews and the negative comments always put a little bit of doubt in your mind! All i can say is that you have nothing to be worried about and for the money you pay there is nothing to complain about either! the hotel is beautiful and VERY clean. Service is amazing whether its reception, the restaurant, housekeeping, animation team or the bar, they are all wonderful and all go out of their way to make you feel at ease on your stay! As for the review below regarding the incident involving a member of housekeeping taking money! i was also staying in the hotel at the time of this event and had the same person cleaning my room! he was lovely and each day leave our room immaculate with pretty towel art on our bed, and never was anything taken from our room!! we used the safe, that's what they're there for!!! if you leave money on the side then they may well assume its a tip! remember you are in a foreign country not your own front room, that's what the safes are for use them!!!
the hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the sister hotel which is just 5 mins away and has its own private beach, when we wasn't out doing excursions we always took full advantage of this and would highly reccomend!
another tip i would say like many people have mentioned before is DONT book your excursions through your travel rep i.e Thomson or cosmos. Do it with the local Egyption excursion rep who is based in the hotels reception. Our rep was called Memo he was very kind and gave us the best deals much better than Thomson. Go and see him or any of his team, they are also based down at the beach of the sister hotel but no doubt they will find you first hehe.
the exursions are amazing whilst we were their we did the snorkelling boat trip to Tiran island - amazing its a must if you want to see 100's of fish on a beautiful coral in crystal blue seas. quad biking in the dessert once again amazing and a must. we also did an evening camel ride through the dessert, where we then had a meal, Egyption style entertainment, then gazed at the stars which i can say was out of this world! and you even got to look at jupiter through a telescope!
the animation team here are brilliant and sooo friendly, providing daytime entertainment by the pool and then varied entertainment in the evening, they work very hard! TITO was also our favourite hes crazy and defo made our holiday, we very much enjoyed talking to him everyday what an amazing guy!!!
one thing i would reccomend to anyone travelling to Egypt who has not been before who maybe prone to insect bites is to have your repellent at the ready as the mosquitoes often get the tourist whilst there here! i had my repellent and a plug in in my room and my partner and i was not bitten for the whole of our stay.
i will be highly reccomending this hotel and would return here without a shout!
all i can say is the negative reviews must come from very fussy nit pickers because there really is nothing to fault! thank you to the sol y mar team for an unforgettable amazing holiday !!!

Room Tip: all rooms look over the pool! its just your preference whether you want a poolside room on the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 171CookieMonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Just returned from a 7 night break here, the hotel is small and quiet and is two minutes from the airport. (you can actually see the airport from the hotel!!) there is nothing at all around the hotel so do not go if you enjoy having a wander. The room was lovely and clean. The food was amazing although not a great deal of choice but everything we ate we loved!. Bar staff and towel man were also fantastic!
The downside to this hotel:
There was not enough glasses in the dining room at meal times so if you wanted a drink you had to wait although more glasses seemed to appear towards the end of our holiday.
The pool area floor NEVER gets cleaned, drink stains and dirt are all over...my feet were black with dirt and had to be scrubbed daily but still didnt remove the dirt.
MAKE SURE you get a safe in your room, we met a group of lovely young people who didnt have a safe that worked and out of the group of about 10 at least 4 had money stolen from the room. It became clear that the cleaner admitted to taking some of the money and his excuse was that he thought it was a tip!!!!! what he didnt say was that some of the money had been rifled out of a wallet. I feel that the manager didnt deal with this situation, the cleaner gave back some of the money (including an english ten pound note) that was still in his wallet.
The cleaner in question was still doing his job after the group had left. So make sure that ALL your valuables are locked away as clearly that cleaner can not be trusted!!!!!!!
To say the hotel is only a couple of years old, it needs a lick of paint especially around the pool bar and the grills around the pool need fixing as they are broken.
All in all if they stepped up a gear in cleaning the pool area and bought enough glasses for guests to enjoy a drink and dealt with potential theives correctly it would be a lovely peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle503927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

loved the overall expeirence, the staff were all so friendly and made us feel very special! the best members of staff were Tito from the animation team and Amr & Kareem from the food and beverage team!!
Rooms were clean and very comfortable, I would have taken the bed home with me although i only had a 20kilo bag allowance :) the food was lovely and a good variety of it.
I will definately be reccomending it to friends and family and will most definately be returning!!

a m a z i n g

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank KJH666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
2.3 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
8.2 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#16 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#30 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#8 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#34 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Sharks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Sharks Bay

Property: Jaz Sharks Bay
Address: 2 B Entrance of Sharks Bay | North Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 00328, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Sharks Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay is one of the latest additions to the Jaz Hotels & Resorts portfolio, opened November 2009. This neat and modern Four-star hotel is only five minutes away from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport. Just 10 minutes by Bus from a stretch of some of the finest sandy beaches on the shores of the clear and warm Red Sea. The hotel offers a variety of restaurants, a lobby bar & terrace, an internet cafe, a shopping arcade, swimming pool, children's club, 24 hour reception and a shuttle bus to the nearby beach. The main building comprises 130 rooms, most of which overlook the pool. Others look out directly on to the pool deck. A separate two-floor apartment building houses 8 one bedroom apartments.Hotel facilities include one main open buffet restaurant, one outdoor a la carte restaurant, Lobby bar, snack/pool bar and 24-hour room service. A heated main swimming pool and a kid’s pool, shopping arcade and a shuttle service to the beach are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaz Sharks Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing