We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter 2012 november”
Review of Jaz Sharks Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jaz Sharks Bay
Ranked #33 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Upon viewing other reviews I was a bit concerned prior to travelling. Airport was its usual chaos and transfer to hotel very quick. I was immediately met by reception staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Room was ok but they are now becoming a little dated and worn. The hotel staff were faultless and nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and throughout our 10 day stay remained consistent.the hotel is miles from anywhere and very quiet. Perfect for a relaxing holiday. You need to make your own entertainment because the so called animation staff were the worst I have seen anywhere. They did in fact steal a living doing as little as possible each day. They were quite proficient at moaning about the guests though! Don't let this detract from the effort put onto the place by the real hotel staff who worked ridiculous hours for little reward to ensure you want for nothing.all in all you get what you pay for..

Room Tip: Get a room at the front. It is quite noisy at night towards the adjoining hotel due to its nightly d...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Our Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Halil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Jaz Sharks Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,588 - 1,594 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

Small intimate hotel with friendly staff. The food was delicious and plenty of sunbeds no matter what time you decide to stroll down to the pool.downside was the terrible wine and dreadful animation team.1 lit bottles of water cost £1 (don't drink from the water coolers) Wifi is £4.50 for 3 hrs,which has to be used within 3 days. Would I go to this hotel again? Definitely!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Halil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

After reading recent reports it was good to make our own judgement.
After a short transfer and swift check in we were shown to our room-244. The room was a good size and simply decorated. Throughout our 2 weeks towels and bedding were changed regulary
and room cleaned daily. There was some noise from a neighbouring hotel but this only affected certain rooms.
Tamer the maitre d' had the restaurant running like clock work and all staff were efficient and pleasant' There was a huge assortment of salads,main courses,desserts and fresh fruit and we defy anyone to say there was'nt something they could eat.The quality of food was well above average and was only served in small casserole dishes, so replenished frequently.
All bar staff were exceptional and as it was a smaller hotel they quickly became your friends, Sherif,Mohammed and Yousef in particular were 3 of the most hardworking lads and made us feel so welcome.
The only downside to The Sol Y Mar was it's location. If you could pick it up and place it on the beach or closer to amenities it would be fab.The hotel does run a good taxi service and costs £8 return to Soho Square and £12 return to Naama Bay,the shuttle bus to the beach is free.
We had read about the Animation Team and reports were spot on,however Nicola and Lauren the 2 girls in question were lost in the first 4 days of our holiday,their greatest accomplishment was opening the restaurant door at meal times and blasting the same 20 songs around the pool.
On day 5 Selma arrived to teach and manage them and we did see a huge boost in their confidence and hopefully they will continue to improve.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not back onto neighbouring hotel as there is noise from late night disco
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 222rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Khalil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This really was the best hotel and holiday. We stayed here for 1 week in mid-October and it really wasn't long enough. The hotel is small, friendly and perfectly formed! Even from the start, when we arrived late and the restaurant had just closed, the staff welcomed us in and fed us and that set the tone for the rest of our stay. The staff were always very helpful and chatty and made our stay there a real treat - we were always smiling and laughing and they seemed to respond to that. We would like to make a special mention of Michel, Tamar, Mubarek and Mohammed (amazing towel art!) who always stopped to chat and make sure everything was ok. All of the bar and restaurant staff were great too. Food was good quality and there was always something for even the fussiest eater. All of the facilities were very clean and comfortable and having the rooms facing the pool makes it feel very cosy. The entertainment got better during the week when Baboo and Didi arrived which helped the girls. The hotel know this is a problem and were sorting it out. This didn't spoil our stay in any way as we hadn't gone there for the entertainment - there were always people to chat and laugh with. The two girls are lovely but just need someone permanent to organise them so they know what to do.
We would definately go back to this lovely hotel which became our home for the week.
Sandie and Joan

Room Tip: Top floor if you want to have a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Ms. Sandie and Ms. Joan,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Halil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

i have to say first of all, don't read the negative reviews about this hotel because its just boring people who had too much of high expectation about the hotel.
this hotel was amazing, me and my husband went for our late honeymoon and when you say you just wanna have a relaxing holiday, thats exactly what we got. Both myself and my husband are aged 22-28yrs so its not just for the mature couples.

Hotel room was amazing as we had no expectations, swimming pool was cold at times but its nice to have a dip in thee when your baking from the hot sun. we didnt have to fight for the sun loungers as there weren't many people there in the beginning of the week but unfortunately towards the end the Russians arrived and they were very rude and disruptive, almost terrorising the poor pool boy.

Bad news regarding entertainment, there were 2 egyptian guys and 2 british girls in the beginning of the week and the british looked like they wanted to die coz they look THAT bored!! so the egytian guys left as they couldn't the handle the constant arguing with the girls. so we had no entertain for 2 nights!

all inclusive cocktails and food was really nice, nothing to complain about there.

excursions with the holiday rep are abit exensive bt you can book excursions with external rep who regularly come round to you when around the pool offering good deals.

overall, i would defo recommend this hotel to all my friends and family any future travellers!

Room Tip: Defo choose the pool view rooms are the view is absolutely amazing at night!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tialicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Khalil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have just returned from sol y mar, it was a great holiday Manager, staff, and animation team were brilliant, I STRONGLY advise any one to go weather was very good, food very good, I honestly can't fault SOL Y MAR.
The Manager walks round likes to chat to all holiday makers brilliant holiday

Thank you to you all for making our holiday a great one, see you in December.

Debbie, Tim

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Ms. Debbie and Mr. Tim,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Halil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just got back from a lovely weeks break and loved it, all the staff were very polite and friendly and couldn't do enough for you! The cleaners were very creative and decorated our rooms different each day, the food was lovely and even my five year old daughter managed to find something to eat everyday, the snack bar by the pool was very handy as you didn't need to leave the sunbed to eat dinner.
as for the entertainment at the begining of the week there were only 2 girls Lauren and Nicola, I thought the girls were very polite especially Lauren who always made the effort to see if everything was ok and if we needed anything, they both tried really hard to keep everyone entertained even though the hotel was not too busy bieng out of season,I couldn't fault entertainment, then part way through our holiday a new chief animation started, Salma who was clearly very good at her job because as the days went by the entertainment got better both in the evening and activities during in the day, my little girl was never bored.
Would deffinately come back to this hotel some time in the future. Thank you to all involved in making our stay a memorable and an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarSharksBay, General Manager at Jaz Sharks Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sol Y Mar Sharks Bay Hotel to spend your holiday
My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards:

• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in Egypt”
• Tripadvisor “Top 25 Relaxation & Spa Hotels in the Middle East”
• Tripadvisor “2012 Certificate of Excellence Award”
• The Travel Republic Customer Recommendation Awards
“Top Rated Hotel”
“Customer Recommended”

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.


Ibrahim Khalil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
7.9 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,430 reviews
1.8 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,435 reviews
8.2 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#38 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#30 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,655 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
641 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#36 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Sharks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Sharks Bay

Address: 2 B Entrance of Sharks Bay | North Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 00328, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Sharks Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Sharks Bay is one of the latest additions to the Jaz Hotels & Resorts portfolio, opened November 2009. This neat and modern Four-star hotel is only five minutes away from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport. Just 10 minutes by Bus from a stretch of some of the finest sandy beaches on the shores of the clear and warm Red Sea. The hotel offers a variety of restaurants, a lobby bar & terrace, an internet cafe, a shopping arcade, swimming pool, children's club, 24 hour reception and a shuttle bus to the nearby beach. The main building comprises 130 rooms, most of which overlook the pool. Others look out directly on to the pool deck. A separate two-floor apartment building houses 8 one bedroom apartments.Hotel facilities include one main open buffet restaurant, one outdoor a la carte restaurant, Lobby bar, snack/pool bar and 24-hour room service. A heated main swimming pool and a kid’s pool, shopping arcade and a shuttle service to the beach are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Sharks Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing