We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday”
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tiran Island Hotel
Ranked #104 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just come back from a two week holiday over Christmas which was great. The staff were amongst the best I have encountered at any hotel in the world, particularly the bar and restaurant staff. The food was good quality and lots of it but it would benefit from a bit more variety although they do have to cater for a wide range of tastes. Mixed range of guests in terms of nationality and age and most people were friendly. One of the best things about the hotel was its proximity to the beach - a 5 minute stroll downhill to get there and a very slight incline on the way back. The beach itself is on the small side but it leads onto one of the best reefs in the area, just off the pontoon. Lots of snorkelling day trips pulled up there every day so if you like snorkelling this is definitely the area to stay in. I'm a very nervous swimmer but managed to get in and snorkel with a life jacket that I hired nearby. In terms of the weather, we were there for 2 weeks and had only 1 cloudy day - all other days were in the high 20's but with a nice breeze making a tan easy to come by, even for the fair skinned amongst us.The room was very clean and afforded a good view of the sea. There is entertainment every evening if you want to go along but we had a nice time just chatting to people in the bar area. All in all, a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

My boyfriend and i spent 2 weeks here and couldn't wait to get home in the end!! Where do I start?... We arrived and was taken to our room only to find we had 2separate beds with no pillows we was told thats all they had left and they could push the beds together!! The air con didn't work so was constantly hot and uncomfortable. We understood that our bathroom towels would be changed everyday so when my boyfriend had killed a mosquito with a towel (as we had nothing else to kill it with) he left the towel along with the other dirty towels on the bathroom floor only to find the next day the maid had hung them all back up again and not changed them for nice clean and fresh ones! For the remainder of the holiday we had to keep phoning reception to get our towels changed as they just didn't bother all we got was the dirty ones hung up again! The food was disgusting pretty much the same thing every morning lunch and evening! We were sick of it and ended up eating out. The fruit juices were watered down so much it was like dish water. The pool bar staff quite opening just rinsed in cold water used glasses and refilled and gave drinks to different people.we spoke to alot of people and including us most were ill. Their hygiene is disgusting! The hotel charged different prices for taxis as and when they felt like it,rather than sets prices for set destinations. The list was endless...we would never ever go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We came to the Tiran Island hotel as a family of 4 seeking some winter sun, in hotel comfort, on a budget and weren't disappointed!

Upon arrival there had been a mix up with our room, which the reception staff were very quick to resolve, without fuss. In fact all the staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. There is a very good team spirit among them and they made us feel very welcome.

Not having done an all inclusive holiday before it was very pleasing to see the variety of food on offer at every meal time. There really is something to appeal to all tastes and for those who don't agree I would say why not try the local foods on offer instead of getting burger and chips delivered!!

Drinks were plentiful and the children were also pleased to get ice cream and chips mid afternoon - not that they needed them!

The entertainment team really do make an effort to get you involved. We went along with the sentiment and enjoyed the shows and poolside antics all week, which ensured none of us got bored at all. This was a good tonic for us to destress from our normal hectic lives.

One word of advice would be not to rush into booking too many excersions via your holiday reps, as there are plenty of opportunities to utilise the services of the on-site reps who are a little cheaper.

And take plenty of cash - the cashpoint machine didn't work all week, so I was relieved to have plenty of GBP notes to exchange for Egyptian currency on site.

Kevin, Alison, Katie and Laurence - Kent UK

Room Tip: Choose the north side of the complex if you don't want direct sunlight all day - it's hot he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday, the week before Christmas, the hotel was clean, staff very welcoming. Food was plentiful but not top quality,there was always something to eat so cant complain. The wine was not what I am used to although there were always plenty of other drinks available. The beach was a short walk away, but there was a good shuttle bus if you dont want to walk. A totally relaxing holiday with plenty of entertainment if you want it. A mix of cultures which for us was good, this is not a tottaly English hotel. The weather was great a fantastic winter destination for some sun.

Room Tip: garden view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianehale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Hi Diane,

Glad you had a Fabulous time here at Tiran Island Hotel. Its always nice to have sunshine in December. I have just been apointed the new Quality & Guest Relations Manager, so if you have any questions or plan to return, please get intouch.

Hope to see you again soon in Sharm.
Have a fantastic New Year.

Best Wishes
Mhairi Landsborough
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

mhairi.landsborough@tiranislandsharm.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We arrived at the hotel in full excitment about our 2 weeks holiday on the 10th December. We have holidayed in Egypt before and really enjoyed our time. We arrived at the hotel and it looked very christmasy and it looked wonderful. We went inside to reception to a very frosty response however we took this as a pinch of salt as we were excited to be away. We arrived to our doulbe room to which was a twin room. Not too worry as reception will be able to sort this out. They ended up pushing the beds together and putting a double sheet over it. Our blood started to boil as we had paid for a double room. We did get moved to eventually to a double but after alot of hassel going to the rep and reception. Now we were very disappointed with reception staff with their lack of helpfulness and very cold response. With all this we needed a drink. We go to the hotel bar to which seemed very grand however very empty. We ordered a beer and a rum and coke. The beer is very strange (cheap import) and the rum taste like the vodka which tasted like wisky. Very weird!!! We can only describe it as a dusty flavour. We thought great we've paid all this money and come all this way to have the worst drinks in the world. We end up having coke and sprite all holiday. We decided to go for dinner as we were very hungry. Unfortunately we didnt know where anything was like the restaurant as you dont get shown around anywhere!! Anyway the food has to be the worst food we have ever had!! Everyday you can guarantee to have the same food selection. Rice, rice and more rice! Unflavoured pasta pasta and more pasta. Salad for every meal which is brown and discolouring. Hot fricking milk for your crap cereal. We could not believe how bad the food was!! It very geared towards our friends the russians. They were pilling high theor plates and woud end up with about the jokes 4 plates of food each. Maybe they dont eat well when they are home. The russians oooohhhh the russians. They were the rudest people. Load and in a world of their own all day long. Everything is geared around them.

Overall, our holiday which we had been looking forward to and spent all that moeny was the biggest waste of time. If you read this please never go to this hotel. Mainly rude staff as you can read from other reviews. Poor drink! And shocking food!! By far the worst all inclusive we have ever been to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigwells13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Me and my partner has just come back from a last min holiday to Tiran island hotel and had an amazing time!!!!!!!!!! The hotel was beautiful with fantastic staff who couldnt do enough for us!!!!! I am so glad i didnt take any notice of the bad reviews that i have read on hear!! We will definatly go back again and have recomended this place to our familys. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A CHILLED OUT HOLIDAY STAY HERE!!!! you can take the bus to a nice shopping complex called Soho sq its really nice with resturants and bars also here you can have the hassle free experience. Nama bay was very stressfull and was the hard sell so woundnt advise a trip there!! The hotel food was great!!! We had seconds every night!! english people have to understand that they are not in england and to try new things. We defiantly got our five a day with either steak,chicken,fish, the chefs would cook things to how you like....we loved it. We had a beautiful sea and pool view that we paid an extra £3 each per night and was worth every penny!! Our room was 5 star with the view to go with it. Each day we would come back to a spotless room with bottled water and an different animal made of towels on our beds....did make us smile. Mohamid at the beach bar gave us outstanding service bringing our drinks to the beach for us while we laid in the sun. 10/10 guys hopefully see you all again soon thank you!!

Room Tip: Sea and pool veiw a must!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeHAZELGRAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed at Tiran Island in November.Weather was very good and we made loads of friends
Hotel Staff were excellent especially in the restaurant area.
Food was plentifuly with loads of variety and the staff all work so very hard and are always there with a big smile and ready to chat.
The guy in the pool bar area was fantastic and after a couple of days he always knew what we drank and he was always there ready with a smile and enjoyed having banter with the holiday makers
Got a bit fed up with the people keep coming round the pool area asking us to have nails done etc but in the end i used to just ignore them then they went away
We met some really lovely people would of had been more pleasant if it was just an English only hotel as I really could not believe just how rude some of the other holiday makers could be doors closed in your face no please or thankyou but hey we are all different.Free transport to the beach but only about 10 mins walk could use the free bar on corner of the beach everything was just great about this hotel apart from absolutely nothing to do outside the hotel nowhere to walk so of course unless you use taxi etc in the evening you are stuck at the hotel which can get rather boring every night

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car0leellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Good Morning,

Thank you kindly for your comments, & we are thrilled hereb at Tiran Island that you had a great stay!
I have just been apointed as the new Quality & Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island, so please dont hesitate to be intouch.
mhairil17uk@hotmail.co.uk

Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Mhairi Landsborough
Quality & Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.8 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#93 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
603 reviews
6.8 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#52 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Sinai
Melia Sinai
#128 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
839 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,575 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tirana Aqua Park Resort
Tirana Aqua Park Resort
#22 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £35 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiran Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing