We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great vacation”
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiran Island Hotel
Ranked #101 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great vacation”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We're back home after another fab vacation at the Tiran. we were checked in very quickly and taken to our roon which had a lovely view of the pool.When we got to our room we had a lovely surprise, on the bed was written welcome in red flower petals , such a lovely thing to do.Thank you Mr Mostafa.The room was lovely and kept beautifully clean as always,The pool area great , the whole hotel fabulous, although i have said before that the restaraunt lets this fab hotel down, it could do with a lick of paint and updateing , but after saying that service was fab, food really good, lots of fresh veg, lovely fresh salad which suits me and my husband, always chicken and fish plus a pasta station, couldn't ask for anything else.
i would like to say more than a few thankyou's, i'm going to start with Mr Mostafa, he didn't go the extra mile but an extra 10 miles to make sure we had a fab time. We would also like to mention the whole of the recreation team , both at the pool and the beach, they went out of thier way to look after us, lastly we would like to mention the bar staff , the lobby bar, pool bar and not least beach bar.Thank you guys.
Also a mention for our friend in the bag shop, Carlos, thank you for all our little chats and the endless cups of tea you made me.......
We WILL see you all again , hopefully November.If not before..

Thank you again Tiran Island Hotel see you soon..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanann0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    586
    308
    142
    135
See reviews for
360
744
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have recently returned from the Tiran Island. We had a good week...weather was fantastic, staff work so hard to please people and the food was fine, i had no problems finding food to suit my gluten free diet. The hotel was a bit more run down compared to when i visited 3 years ago but the only problem we encountered was rude and arrogant Russian guests. The majority of guests are Russian and they have no manners, they physically push you out of the way to get the food which they pile onto their plate and into their bags-even though they are all inclusive?? they do not queue, treat the staff like slaves...the worst experience was when one child decided to spit on us when he saw us and his parents did nothing about it. This was the only bad thing about the holiday but the actual hotel is fine, great staff, a bit of a cheesy school type animation team but we had a good time.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an upgrade...all rooms are standard unless it's a suite..i was duped by that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nissola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from sunny Egypt!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your comments are extremely important to us and we do appreciate the time you take to share them.

We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and that you left with some fond memories and its also great to hear that we catered well for your Gluten free diet. We understand that cuisine is a large part of your holiday and therefore wish you to feel satisfied and enjoy your meal times.

W do have many different nationalities here, all from different cultures and sometimes behavior between each other is not comparable but we are on hand 24 hours to ensure that no situations develop.

I will pass on your appreciation to the staff and if you decide to return then please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.net and we will try to help with any requests you may have.

Best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the tiran island hotel with 3 friends. This was our 4Th time in sharm but 1st stay in this hotel. The hotel is well laid out and has a great pool area and only a 5 min walk to the beach. The bar staff were great however at times there appeared to be too many chiefs. Food was ok but bland and I was disappointed with the salad option. Meal times became a bit of a chore with tables not cleared or set, most times we set our own! They ran out of clean plates and morning cuppa was in a paper cup. There was 2 alacarte restaurants an italian and indian but you had to pay for these, the italian was good though. Rooms were nice and roomy and given the once over daily! The loos in the lobby were not a good standard and always had a weird smell. We had to complain in the first week that drinks like rum etc were watered down - served in glasses with chips in them. Very popular with russians and the hotel appeared to cater more for their tastes, food and entertainment. We will be back in sharm but not this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deedee710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Firstly I would like to say when reviewing this hotel I have the price we paid at the front of my mind. £450 for 7 nights total cost of whole holiday. I think knowing what you paid makes all the difference when reviewing a hotel.
Value for money for a week in the sun you will find it hard to beat, the weather was stunning high 30s every day. We travelled as 6 lads all rooms close together. The rooms are clean and do the job just fine. The pool area is just great always something going on. Enjoyed playing sports in the pool organised by Sam. The beach is a nice little walk away but no problem at all. All the staff are very friendly.
My only few issues are the size of the drinks why oh why serve in a tiny glass it’s beyond me. Also too many rude Russians and the food gets very samey after a few days but I can’t complain we still had a top time for a cheap week away. Would defo recommend a stay here. Big thanks to all the staff for a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemyfood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from sunny Sharm!

Thank you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time and we met most of your expectations!

The weather has indeed been rather warm the last few weeks and we are expecting a very hot long summer! Its nice to see that you valued your experience against the price you paid for your holiday. Especially with package holidays we need to bare in mind that usually 3/4's of the cost is for the flights leaving only a quarter which is paying the actual accommodation.

Its nice to hear you made use of facilities both at the pool and the beach and had fun with the animation team keeping you entertained.

If you have any suggestions for the menu please don't hesitate to drop me a line on the email below and I will send them along to our Executive Chef who will try to incorporate them within his dishes.

We would love to welcome you again so if you do decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me at shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.net.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Had a great time at Tiran Island in October, mainly because of the great weather in Sharm and the snorkelling.

The hotel was well located, close to the airport (though very little noise) and 7 minutes walk from the sea. The rooms were clean and well furnished, and the staff were helpful. The included food in the main restaurant seemed mainly aimed at the 90% of visitors who were Russian - it was a bit solid and uninspiring, and chaotically busy. However the Italian restaurant on site (not included in deals) was quiet with much better food, and very reasonable. Animation team and music at the large hotel pool were a bit loud and enthusiastic, so for me the beach was a better bet.

The sandy beach is a short walk down the hill, or there's a minibus if you're terribly lazy. The hotel down at the front is owned by the same company and there's an area and sun loungers set aside, and a bar where you can get drinks free on your deal. The best thing for me was that at the end of the jetty was the best reef snorkelling I've seen since the Great Barrier Reef, great coral and many coloured fish. Tourists staying in other hotels had to pay for excursion boats to bring them to the bay and drop them off, and I could just wander down there when the beach got too hot. Suggest bringing mask and snorkel if you've got them, though believe you can hire.

Didn't leave the hotel area as I went to read and get winter sun, but believe there's not much to see and a bit more hassle in town, so didn't bother.

Two tips: I brought Egyptian pounds to tip / buy local stuff. The locals will accept Euros/Pounds/Dollars but the exchange rate may not benefit you, and coins in particular are difficult for them to exchange.

Also: if you're just going to your hotel / town / Sharm / Sinai for 2 weeks or less you DO NOT need a visa - but they'll push you hard to buy one. Everyone's in on it, from airport staff, stall holders, transfer agents, even the customs agents will ask "Visa?" as if they're not going to let you through, but just say "Sinai only" and everything's alright.

Have a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perceptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your comments are an important tool in helping us to maintain and improve our services to ensure 100% guest satisfaction.

We have made many improvements to our services since October and would very much like you to return.

With regards to the food we have introduced a Sunday Roast which has been a big hit. We also introduced a Slovak evening so guests can see the difference between 'Russian' food and other dishes.

If you decide to come back please do let me know any requests you may have at shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.net.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was mine and my mums second visit to the hotel as we had such an amazing time the first time we stayed. This time was even better, which rarely happens, so we were really chuffed. The appeal of the hotel for me is the staff as they really make your holiday special by doing all they can for you and they are so pleasant to be around, it creates a brilliant atmosphere. The animation team were all soo much fun, Alex is a little bundle of energy he makes you smile everyday with his funny antics and quirky whistle thing he does ha, he also makes sure to look after you and show you a good night if he takes you out, so thanks for the laughs Alex. Betty, Biggy and Shellie were all lovely, but I have to say the English reps Jescina and Sam really made our holiday special as they came for a chat everyday and made us laugh all the time ... Thanks so much guys :D .
The only thing preventing me from giving a 5* rating was the food ... me being quite fussy anyway doesn't help but its not the best I think its more catered for the Russian quests to be honest. However, the Indian and Italian restaurants are lovely. Also one of the managers became to be a bit creepy knowing what room we were in and he always seemed to watch us, which did make us feel uncomfortable and another mother and daughter said he was doing the same to them so some of them can be a bit weird but the majority just like to have a laugh with ya.
So to round it off I had a amazing holiday, its not the most posh hotel but the atmosphere is so much better than other hotels we've stayed in and the staff definitely make all the difference, there are too many to mention but I would like to say a mahosivee THANK YOU to all the staff and animation team :D

Love Lucy and Lisa Xxxx

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Sunny Greetings from Tiran Island Hotel!

Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your comments and views about your stay with us. Every point you mention helps us to maintain our 100% commitment to customer service. Its really good to hear that your second stay was even better than the first!

I will pass on your appreciation to the Animation Team, especially those you mentioned by name. they do work hard in the burning sun to keep you active and entertained.

Its good to learn that you visited our Italian and Indian restaurant and I will pass your comments to the Chef about the food. If you have any suggestions which may help improve the menu then please let me know at shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.net. We are always open to suggestions from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality Control & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We have travelled 12 times to sharm and have never stayed in the same hotel our date of travel was christmas 2012 we would definately go back to the Tiran Island and have actually booked to stay again in September as we have a couple of celebrations and as we are taking 2 other people along with us we decided to return back hoping our stay will be as good as the last one. Overall food ok always something to choose from staff pleasant and friendly beach is very near to walk to or be lazy and take the shuttle would of liked snacks at the beach as part of the all inclusive package rooms clean and tidy had a couple of issues but saw Shellie and issues were sorted out promptly with no fuss. Quite in the evenings but Russians made the entertainment good value for money . We asked to change rooms as we were first given a room far away from everything. We were given another room on the ground floor located around the large pool area ,fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Sinai
Melia Sinai
#124 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#88 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,935 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#73 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
#132 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#14 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Property: Tiran Island Hotel
Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiran Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing