We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic adjustments needed”
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tiran Island Hotel
Ranked #103 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic adjustments needed”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We got back on Thursday, hotel basic but ok for the money a few things need looking at though reception toilets need to be cleaner, food basic and needs to be checked if cooked and more fresh fruit, Are hotel room was always clean and beautiful towel displays, restaurant staff very help thank you Edward, lobby waiter mohamad helpful and excellent service. Animation are Amy was absolutely brilliant always bubbly and keeping all entertained 'are you playing darts' we will miss her. I wish tiran island the best I do hope things get a bit better has your a lovely hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie C, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your constructive feedback. Your points are well noted and will be followed up with the departments concerned. I would just like to mention we did have a problem with fruits the week you were here due to the exceptional rainfall which caused issues with our delivery service. I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff members you mentioned and they were delighted that you remembered them. We would love to welcome you back to see the improvements we have made and if you return please contact me on Coralie.Crick@TiranIslandHotelSharm.com with any requests.

With best regards,
Coralie Crick
Asst. Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    586
    308
    142
    135
See reviews for
360
744
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here back when it first opened was lively couldn't fault it ... Came back 15th march 2014 and a very different experience poor choice of food ....lack of cleanliness in the rooms ....the only person I felt who actually came and spoke to us and always chatted and smiled was one of the girls working there named Aimee very bubbly happy and friendly girl wasted at this hotel shame ...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie C, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am disappointed that your stay was not everything you expected. We do have a mix of nationalities in the hotel but we try to ensure that regarding the cuisine that every taste is satisfied. Our Food & Beverage Director and Guest Relations are also on hand to assist with any special requests. I will make sure that Aimee is aware of your nice comments and I am sure she will be very happy with the recognition.
If you decide to return to visit us again please let me know on Coralie.Crick@TiranIslandHotelSharm.com.
With best regards,
Coralie Crick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Have just returned from our third visit to Tiran Island Hotel. First visited in 2010 excellent, again in 2012 again a great time This visit in March 2014 for 14 nights was the epitome of the Holiday from Hell, how this Hotel has declined. Meal times are like entering a bear pit, not an enjoyable experience . Rooms are now getting tired and ingrained with dirt, towels are grey and hard, well past there best. Food for the first few days seemed to have improved from our last visit but soon declined,to the point where we started going out to dinner for something decent to eat and having civilized surroundings. No sorry this Hotel is not for us anymore. But if you like Vodka don't care what or how you eat, Don't care about dirty surroundings, Don't mind drunks trying to break into your room at 2 in the morning, want to booze all day and all night , stagger around all day in a drunken stupor then this is the place for you. Coraline you can come up with the usual PR quotes that I have read on this forum but this Hotel is the pits

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie C, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review but we are very disappointed that this time the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I feel that most of the problems you experienced during your stay were from other guests as you mention that you had problems in the restaurant with other guests behaviour and there was an incident where another guest tried to access your room, mistakenly believing it to be her room. This is a hotel that welcomes a mix of guests from different nationalities and cultures and some guests come to relax and some to experience a livelier atmosphere. This can cause problems as in most of the hotels in Sharm El Sheikh but I am very sorry that this detracted from the enjoyment of your holiday. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
With best regards,
Coralie Crick
Asst. Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We got back last Wed night after a fab holiday. Don't expect the Ritz and you ll love it. The drinks were a bit hit and miss but we always had plenty. Food fine too, fresh and plentiful. Staff fantastic and v friendly. Animation team were amazing, while we were staying there was a storm and all the staff went out of their way organising indoor games. I won Miss Hotel haha, great fun. Sp mention to barman Sam and Jenja, Emma and Rikki. Love you guys!! .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie C, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We enjoyed your company very much and the animation team were very happy that you joined in with all their activities and congratulations again for your victory in the Miss Hotel competition! It was a great pleasure to host you and we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime soon. Please contact me on Coralie.Crick@TiranIslandHotelSharm.com if you have any special requests for your next visit.
With best regards,
Coralie Crick
Asst. Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is awful due to a number of reasons when you arrive at the hotel you are given just 1 bottle of water per room per stay additional bottles are at an extra cost. It took 6 complaints to stop the bathroom form leaking. It also took 6 complaints to get a toilet that stayed on the floor (in the end they siliconed it to the floor)

As for the food out of 24 meals not including breakfast) on no less than 19 occasions the food was cold, and repetitive unless you like burgers and rice every day sometimes twice daily all be it in different shapes sometimes long sometimes round but still a burger. on the six occasions i checked the fish that was on the menu it was still frozen on the inside i.e. not cooked properly this is potentially dangerous and non edible but the pasta was nice as long as you don't mind not having a choice of what you want in it but a least it was warm.

As an AI hotel please note the bar does not open till 11am so anyone sat around the pool early had hours to wait for a cold drink till then. Also the other restaurants on site are also charged at additional costs and not part of the AI.

The good news however is that the entertainment staff try hard and deserve recognition especially AMY, and so do the ground staff.

We were told that this was a good hotel as late as just 1 year ago but how it could decline so quickly is any ones guess!! Any one going GOOD LUCK!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davros112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is awful due to a number of reasons
A -when you arrive at the hotel you are given just 1 bottle of water per room per stay additional bottles are now at an extra cost?
B- It took me 6 complaints to stop the bathroom toilet form leaking
C- It also took 6 complaints to get a toilet that stayed on the floor (in the end they siliconed it to the floor)
D- The food was cold (out of 24 meals not including breakfast) on no less than 19 occasions
E- The food was repetitive burgers and rice every day sometimes twice daily all be it in different shapes sometimes long sometimes round.
F- The bar does not open till 11am so anyone sat around the pool early had hours to wait for a cold drink
G- on the six occasions i checked the fish that was on the menu it was still frozen on the inside i.e not cooked properly (this is potentially dangerous and non edible)!
H- other restaurants on site were also at additional costs and not AI

Now for the good bits, the grounds are really nice as are the animation team especially Amy, but i am afraid the bad now out way the good and believe me i am not even going to talk about the Russians...
I was told by numerous people that the hotel was hugely better even a year ago but now terrible

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davros112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie C, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us and thank you for your nice comments about the landscaping and the animation team. With regard to the one bottle of water on arrival and the fact that the a la carte restaurants are extra charge this should have beeen made clear to you on booking. I apologise if you had any problems with maintenance in the room but I will investigate this thoroughly to ensure that this comment is not repeated. The buffet temperatures are checked every meal time and during your stay I checked the fish personally and it was not frozen but it has a natural pink colour. Indeed, we have monthly unannounced food safety audits and receive consistently high scores. I am disappointed that you feel your holiday did not live up to your expectations but once again we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
With best regards,
Coralie Crick
Asst. Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just back UK yesterday this holiday was 2nd trip in Egypt but really disappointed food side, no have variety, you eat morning to evening almost the same food, the food almost every time uncooked no taste, not much choice, no Egyptian or indian cuisine, just bad continental copy !
we try to complain but nothing change,
We have 6 times problem with the water and twice electric problem, we need to remind lots of time the front desk to repair the problem's
Overall the hotel is like any 4 stars Egypt hotels, huge lovely swimming pool (unheated, not really clean), nice beach, the hotel got some really nice staff Mohamed sp. bar 2 Mohammed's lobby and Aimee animation team,
manager's looks have enough skills but the staff need some training!
i think so if they can change some thing food side this hotel is not bad and will be a nice holiday.

Room Tip: Please careful room number 1228!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralie C, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your nice comments about the staff. I am disappointed that the hotel did not live up to your expectations and would like to mention that we tried to satisfy your requirements regarding the food and sent a special meal to your table for you. If we provided only Egyptian food this would not please the majority of our other guests so as I am sure you can appreciate it is difficult to satisfy everyone's tastes. However, we are very happy to receive your feedback as it is the best way to improve our services and standards in the future so thank you once again for your comments.

With best regards,
Coralie Crick
Asst. Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Sinai
Melia Sinai
#124 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#87 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
#130 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#72 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#14 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Property: Tiran Island Hotel
Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiran Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing