We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our trip to the royal Oasis”
Review of Royal Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oasis Resort
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our trip to the royal Oasis”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Arriving in sham el sheik we had a car waiting for us which was nice as we haven't been to Sharm before.

When at the resort the people were very friendly and make us feel so welcome!!! The accommodation was of a good quality standard and had everything we needed, and had no problems while we were there.

I loved spending time by the pool, the food and drink were lovely, and the service was exceptional, it made me time in sharm so enjoyable.

I also loved being able to get to the local town, just by using the steps, at the back of the hotel!!!!

Overall staying at the Royal Oasis, made my holiday what it was, and I couldn't find anything to complain about

Would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank em568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    48
    22
    32
    110
See reviews for
54
97
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and I have just come back from 8 days at the Royal Oasis. I would agree with previous reviews that it's perhaps not 'luxury' accommodation as suggested on their website and although similar looking to the photos on their website, on arrival the accommodation didn't look quite as luxurious as it does on the photos. I would say it was on a par with 3 star accommodation that you would get in Spain.

We had booked an airport transfer to the accommodation through the Royal Oasis and even though our flight was delayed for four hours (we did a u-turn in the sky over Greece and stopped at Rome en route) and we had no way of contacting them, the pick up was waiting for us at the airport and this was such a relief.

On arrival at the accommodation, we were met by a member of the team, who was very friendly and helpful and made sure we were happy with everything. The accommodation was fine, as far as we were concerned. Not luxuriious, but fine for the money we paid.

The shower, okay, not the best looking of shower rooms but it did the job, always plenty of hot water available. The towels were clean and nice quality and we had enough left out for us to last our stay.

The kitchen area was fine. The fridge seemed to be overheating a bit in the cupboard when we first arrived and we had to twiddle the knob a bit to get it cold but we soon got it working and there were plenty of cupboards, pots and pans, etc. We only used the cooker twice but it was fine. Microwave available too, no oven but we didn't need it anyway.

The lounge area was lovely. A flat screen TV with approx 500 channels (only about two English speaking, but hey, if I'd been that desperate to watch Coronation Street and the X-Factor, I'd have stayed at home). We found watching the variety of foreign channels very interesting - we watched a lot of music TV too. There was a dining table and chairs, looked quite nice and did the job.

The bedroom was fine. Wardrobe with hangers, lots of cupboard space. The bed happened to be the most comfortable we have ever slept in abroad. Seemed quite new, not squeaky or appearing to be on its last legs, as are a lot of places we've stayed in the past! Nice clean bedding, no complaints about that at all.

The air conditioning was good most of the time - had a problem with it but after mentioning it to reception, they came and got it fixed almost straight away. We didn't think it was particularly noisy either. In fact, the staff there couldn't have been more helpful - they couldn't do enough for us.

The pool area - free pool towels, sun loungers. The pool was clean and we watched the pool man taking at least an hour cleaning it daily. He also would pump up a lilo for us with a bicycle pump (it kept deflating at regular intervals ! ) and would throw a ball in the pool for us. The bar man would bring any food or drinks to us on our sun loungers if we wanted any.

The apartment wasn't cleaned during the week we stayed there - but as we didn't make a mess, it wasn't a problem for us. I prefer not to have maids coming into my accommodation while I'm out anyway.

We booked a trip through reception - quad biking in the desert, really enjoyed it - good price too.

The best bit for us though was the location. Okay, as other reviewers have mentioned, there are lots of steps. There at at least 100, actually. Now, we are middle aged and unfit and we had no problem with them at all. There is even a bench to sit on half way up and hand rails. These steps are at the back of the complex, at the back of the newly finished hotel (which looked lovely, by the way) and it is literally down the steps and you are in town. No taxis to pay for, everything close to hand. We were really pleased with the location - room to town in five minutes. There was also a small supermarket and pharmacy just across the road.

The resort also had wi-fi. It didn't reach our rooms but we could sit by the pool and use it. They also offered a dongle to all guests who brought their laptops with them.

We also felt very safe while there - both in the accommodation and in Naama Bay itself.

All in all, we had a lovely trip. The staff were helpful and friendly, the accommodation was fine - not luxurious, as stated on the website and maybe that's what gets people's backs up. Should I ever return to Naama Bay, which I probably will as it is a very nice resort, then I wouldn't have any problem with stopping at the Royal Oasis again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank blackcatlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Overall I thought it was good place to stay, firstly the location is brilliant walk straight through to the back and naama bay is at the bottom of stairs which is very useful, saves spending money on taxis.
The service in the place is good, on arrival we were greeted by Amy who was very helpful explained a lot of useful information about the place.
The pool area and bar area are kept to a clean standard, and poolside service was brilliant they offer you towels if you need them and bring down food and drink at your request.
The housekeeping service was good we requested are room to be cleaned and they definitely gave it 100% (however shame they forgot to provide us with a bin bag after cleaning).
Air conditioning was good at first but then it broke, and the man didn't seem to have a clue what he was doing and made it worse, which means the room was hot.
Small parts that could be improved are the tiles round the pool, instead of fake they should be real , and the drain holes were not put back down health and safety and someone will fall over one day!
The hotel at back is still in progress, which is a shame cos I am sure on completion it will look good.
Office staff Amy and Caz both very helpful and friendly, especially for booking those much needed trips eg. buggy ride and quad biking.
Overall great place would definitely go again, just small things need improving and I think that will help them to achieve great standards!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieTaylor_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We booked to stay at Royal Oasis for 10 days, and when we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. The accommodation was clean, spacious and modern. There was some building work being carried out to the rear of the site, which was just about finished, the staff were extremely apologetic and could not do more for us. The pool and Jacuzzi that we used was very clean and relaxing. It was easy walking down to Naama Bay. We would recommend our stay at the Royal Oasis and will definitely stay at the resort again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkmiller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Stayed from 24 April 2011 - 1 May 2011

I must say that I was a bit nervous after seeing a few negative reviews about this resort but I had a wonderful time in the resort and have no complaints whatsoever. The Apartment I stayed in was clean well furnished and all amenities had been provided as per the pics on their website. Staff had been friendly helpful and thanks to Caz Cunninham and Amy, as they both were very helpful. The Resort is being extended but I was in no way impacted by the construction as it is on other side of the complex. Location is excellent as you could be in the Nama Bay in not less than 15 mins. The stairs to the Bay are reasonable and we had a old member in the family who could use the stairs with no difficulty so what to speak of youngsters. All amenities are good and offer good value for Money. I guess every traveller has a different taste but the apartments are excellent value for money.

If you want to stay away from the crowd and need a quiet time by the pool then this is the place, as it is located on a hilltop location and not on the main road.

M


I

Room Tip: Pool Facing Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitesh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

After thoroughly researching apartments in Sharm and corresponding on many occasions with the management we were shockingly distressed to discover that our apartment at the Royal Oasis was absolutely nothing like those shown on the website. The apartment size and layout is similar however the photos do not show the filth and the really bad finish and attention to detail. The kitchen units and door handles were so thick with dirt that you could not only see it but also feel it. The grouting in the shower area was thick with mould and dirt. The air conditioner (also referred to another review on this site) did indeed sound like an aircraft taking off and also continually leaked water all over the floor. The finish in these apartments is awful, plug sockets don’t work, fittings look like they were fitted by amateurs and there are none of the soft furnishings (rugs, lamps etc) as shown on the Royal Oasis website (apparently the photographs on the website are of an apartment which is privately owned). Upon arriving and immediately stating we were dissatisfied we were informed that it was not the first time the management have received complaints. Also, for a self catering apartment it would have been useful to have an oven!

Consequently we lost three days of our precious holiday arranging alternative accommodation. We also met another family there who, after complaining, were upgraded however shortly after checked into a hotel for the remainder of their stay in Sharm. We are pretty certain their review will be turning up here shortly!

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor which all seemed good – a little too good perhaps! However, upon reviewing them again upon returning home the reviews are all written in a similar style (except for the negative one) and there are no photographs attached.

The location of the apartments is good, just a short walk from Naama Bay (the steps into the town are dangerous however there is an alternative, albeit longer, route into town). The staff are indeed helpful – in fact they did everything they could to find us alternative accommodation! It is a real shame that the things that are wrong with this apartment could be changed very easily. It is basically laziness on behalf of the management and staff that the apartments are in the state that they are in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank househunt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOasis, Owner at Royal Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
The Royal Oasis would like to apologise for the unacceptable standards in our resort at the end of last year, resulting in your review. We have seriously acknowledged these complaints & have done our utmost to ensure each & every problem has been rectified so that the apartments are up to the high standard expected from future guests.
We would like to reassure anyone considering making a reservation that the very positive reviews prior to this time were genuinely posted by our guests and the standard that we promise is being met and will be maintained by our new management team. If you would like to discuss anything directly please contact us on info@royaloasissharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

East
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I'm not going to mess about padding my review. Cement dust, indifference and ingrained filth.

We arrived late 10.30ish worn out from the delays due to snow in the UK and immediately on entering the 'building site' (check it out on google earth, wish I had) it was obvious the place was filthy. The room was nothing like the images on the internet kitchen doors hanging off tiles broken in the shower a/c leaking water over the floor and clearly absolutely filthy. In utter shock I raised this with the woman showing us around who was immediately apologetic and suggested we spoke with the manager in the morning. We turned up at the managers office, he sat there impassively whilst I informed him we were not going to accept this shoddy excuse for a 'luxury apartment' where I was informed that European luxury is a 'different standard' to Arab luxury (oh well thats alright then)?. He instructed one of the several English girls working there to find us alternative accommodation, this appeared to be their full time job, We were stuck there for a further two days and one night until we found other accommodation - by our own efforts! We paid nothing by virtue of them being unable to accept credit card payments.

We spoke to several other people staying there who were of the same opinion and looking for other accommodation. Anybody who has recommended this place on here - shame on you!! It's a long way to travel and an expensive mistake to make. We made our decision based on what we read on this site, I vowed on my return to the UK to post the truth so that no one else makes the same mistake.

Oh almost forgot to mention the outdoor lunatic asylum next door, where you can listen to drunken English people using the foulest language and shrieking on a near 24hr basis. I don't want to be completely negative though, it is in a good location, if your a mountain goat who likes a challenge. High definition footage to follow!

Hell on earth - it exists here!

Brin Thorne

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holgate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalOasis, Owner at Royal Oasis Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
The Royal Oasis would like to apologise for the unacceptable standards in our resort at the end of last year, resulting in your review. We have seriously acknowledged these complaints & have done our utmost to ensure each & every problem has been rectified so that the apartments are up to the high standard expected from future guests.
We would like to reassure anyone considering making a reservation that the very positive reviews prior to this time were genuinely posted by our guests and the standard that we promise is being met and will be maintained by our new management team. If you would like to discuss anything directly please contact us on info@royaloasissharm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#61 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropitel Naama Bay
Tropitel Naama Bay
#90 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#8 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oasis Resort

Property: Royal Oasis Resort
Address: 39 Halomy Street | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oasis Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing