We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor 2* accomodation”
Review of Grand Sahara

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharm El Sheikh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Sahara
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor 2* accomodation”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Firstly this hotel is not called the Sahara grand or Creative grand sharm, this hotel is called the Grand sharm. Me and my partner found this information when we arrived at night to the resort in the reception they had certificates of excellence in service dated back to 2005 and the resort has been known as the Grand sharm. It is according to the Egyptian authorities a 3 star resort, we were sold this as a 4 star. It is not worthy of having 3 stars as the resort is being complimented with a 2 star rating from myself. When we arrived we were given the wrong room, the balcony if you could call it that, was claustrophobic. The AC was not working, the bath was broke and filthy, the fridge didn't work the lighting switched off the AC it was a shambles. We were later offered a self catering apartment, were the kitchen was coated in grease, and the bathroom was not cleaned. We later tried to get hold of a rep of Thomas Cook they too were useless after waiting 3 hours we finally saw her and that was all we saw of her in the 2 week stay. the first 2 days of our holiday was ruined due to chasing other people to do their jobs correctly. We decided we had enough, and did the cleaning all by our self's. We found maggots, cockroaches and overall a dirty resort which had a huge impact on our holiday. We found the pools was never cleaned we observed this at night. The quality of the food was poor, it was stale and the same food was provided everyday. Other than management, the staff was great. I definitely don't think this is worth the money or the hassle. Avoid staying here, we were also told this hotel was closing down in 3 months and will be taken over by a Russian firm.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

i returned from here after two weeks in what id call holiday from hell from beginning to end!
Me and my friend had booked this hotel after being sold it as a 5 * with 2 private beaches , two pools, free internet and much more when we arrived we was shown into a room in which as soon as you opened the door smelt of foist the kitchenette was all rusty and most likely not in working order straight away i refused the room as it was a double and i had booked a twin overlooking the sea!
The second room however was much better in the fact it was clean and seemed like a new build the only downside to this was that the patio doors did not lock and the safe you could lift up and walk around with.... being on the bottom floor this was a problem
We called reception who assured us they would be fixed yes the safe was checked and they seemed happy to have it screwed down with one clip . However the doors were never fixed even when we chased them up and so did the rep!
The top pool was never cleaned out flowers floated all around the pool and the grids to drain the overflow were all cracked and spliyt this was reported and took a child falling down the grid for them to fix it .
In the two weeks we lost count of how many burglaries had occoured it was ridiculous and the hotel tried covering this up .
The food was of normal standard and i could not complain as i was only bed and breakfast but many holiday makers did they stated ythe lunches and teas were always the same and overcooked.
The staff however do work hard and are pleasant enough unless you complain if your ladies on your own you will feel intimadated
Also many pepole were found to be bitten not only by mosquitoes but also fleas! my friend spent a pretty penny on her swollen legs and i have never seen anything like it .. All i can say is if your staying here i hope you paid no more than £200

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyink01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Myself and my husband had reviewed many sites to find the perfect All Inclusive for a relax and get away with hot weather at a low cost.The only thing that met our expectations was the Weather and a clean bed!!!! On arrival after a 5hr delay from the Uk we were tired and could not wait to have a shower to find no towels when we got out.Ah well! Next day and hit the pool.Very hot which was great.The first guest that we saw told us to be warned of many things if we had just arrived.Burglaries from the rooms,Mosquito bites,poor food,Ants.Where do I start.Many burglaries occured in the rooms on many occasions,one of which was within half an hour of a couple arriving and £2000 of equipment stolen.Credit cards,money,phones,sunglasses.You name it,it was taken.Some money was even taken whilst a couple sat on their balcony and waited for their room to be cleaned.Food was terrible.Could not go snorkelling due to burglary on beach also.Cleanlinesss was aweful with staff wearing white shirts with stains all over them daily.Ants around the pool and mosquitos everywhere with some people getting bitten really badly.I cant really comment anymore.As I said before the Weather was beautiful but as for relaxing etc,that clearly did not happen and we counted down the days to finally come home which is very sad.Never again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Badly need refurbishment - hotel was very shabby, pool area was nice and staff were very helpful but overall more like a 2 star.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Staff friendly and chilled, food was basic and enjoyable.
Rooms were abit dated but clean.
The club on site is fun , as the lads like to copy English dancing.
The pool was well looked after with good filtration systems.
If you fancy a nice resturant , come out on the hotel, turn right and cross the road to a modern mall with resturants, Billabong, mothercare and other shops. I advice you to eat in Onions an Itailian resturant.
Would visit again if on a budget!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAQUEL007Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Ignore all the negatives. Yes the hotel is a little tired, but give the new guys a chance. We went with our friends as it was her 40th birthday, the staff helped us celebrate into the night even when they had shut. The staff are wonderful, cheery and happy, and literally cannot do enough for you.
If you want a full english breakfast then stay in england, your on holiday go with the flo.
The food was good, omellette, pancake,pasta stations as well as a huge variety of cakes, danish, salad and there was main meals on. There was something for everyone. If you get bored go to ONIONS restaurant in EL MERCADO which is across the road, about 200yds (well worth a visit and not expensive). There is alos KFC, pizza hut and McDonalds here too. DO NOT VENTURE DIRECTLY OVER THE ROAD FOR TRIPS ETC. GO THROUGH YOUR REP.
The hotel has its own taxi driver who will take you anywhere and not rip you off.
I would definately return, its people who make your holiday not buildings.
Hope this helps

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscartia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#76 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#60 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sahara

Property: Grand Sahara
Address: hadaba street | 201 hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh 201, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
sahara grand sharm is one from sahara group hotel which have 366 day sunny beach and pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Sahara Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing