We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday and hotel since our honeymoon 15 years ago. I'm not sure we shouldn't have had our honeymoon here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #88 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best holiday and hotel since our honeymoon 15 years ago. I'm not sure we shouldn't have had our honeymoon here!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Well it is difficult to describe how good this place really is. It could be the superb rooms, lovely pools or incredible cleanliness! All of which exist as you would expect. A number of things set this Hotel apart from all the other Hotels including many 5 star hotels we have stayed at in our one or two holidays a year since our honeymoon. We wanted a small peaceful boutique hotel and that is what this is. Dedicated entirely to personal service the management seem to have developed a level of service ethos that permeates from top to bottom. After a few days it became apparent that every member of staff was dedicated to delivering an excellent level of service. Not for tips either but you felt yourself tipping them anyway to make them as happy as they were making us. A mention goes out to Mohammed on reception. Mohammed the porter. The pool service guy who made sure our towels and sun beds were ready every day and the pool area immaculate. A special mention goes out to Mohammed the bar tender who was entertaining throughout and of course Mr Taha who is by far the best front of house manager I have ever come across in my life.

It seems they have solved the food issue with the opening of la Gondola exclusive for Royale guests on 1st October. Yes you have to walk about 200 metres into sonesta main resort but I have never stayed anywhere where you don't have to walk to the hotel restaurant. If you are a moaning idiot with no life and don't want to walk 200m then have one of Abdel's steak sandwiches at the bar they are to die for!

If you want a large herd mentality 5 star impersonal cattle market then don't stay here. If you want the best small boutique hotel that is different from all the rest then this is for you! Enjoy.

Guys! We know you will either read this or be told about it. Big up and respect to you all and see you soon. Jeremy and Debbie.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jezdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
359
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a seven night stay at Le Royale. We loved it. The staff are by and large charming and helpful at all times. The room was lovely and big with efficient air con (not too noisy). We had our own terrace and steps down into a swimming pool. We were looking for peace and quiet without hordes of people everywhere and that is exactly what we got. We were able to relax and recharge the batteries! The gardens and general high standard of the fixtures and fittings made it a very appealing place to be. I agree with one or two other reviewers that the piped music was a bit irritating at times and yes both my wife and I got stomach upsets which meant we had to miss a planned snorkelling trip. Food in the adjoining Sonesta resort was quite good on the whole. The beer everywhere was pretty revolting. Snorkelling from the beach is great particularly if you are prepared to cover some distance and dodge all the glass bottomed boats. The sea is so warm and there is no great current to worry about.
Overall, all the plusses far outweigh the minusses. We had a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trigger530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

No words can describe this hotel,me and my partner have been here twice now same time both years and the hotel,service,cleanliness,staff,pool,bar,rooms are all fanominal. If there was 1 criticism it was that u had to walk to the sister hotel sonesta beach for your main meal on the evening but as from 1st October they made a 5 star restraunt only for le royal sonesta customers and it is over the moon. 5 star dining and defiantly 5 star service. Everyone at this hotel makes you welcome and If there is anything at all u need they do not hesitate to help u. As I said this is our second stay here and I would recommend this 5 star luxury hotel to anyone. It was extra special for us this year as my boyfriend proposed to me,I said yes of course. All the staff were to hand with anything that we wanted,very romantic couldn't of asked for a better setting. The front of house manger is so friendly and polite anything u need he will sort,he came and sat and had drinks with us and a chat he was a real nice,genuine man. The list is endless I could go on and on about this hotel u really need to try it out for yourself u will not be disappointed. Each year we have gone there we have met great life long friends and the staff that work there are just brilliant and remember us Everytime.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights before our return flight home. I booked the hotel for its 'luxury' aspect and yes we did receive this however, we did feel the hotel lacked atmosphere and guests, it was just a little too quiet for us.
Obviously, Naama bay is on your door step if that's your thing.

Chef Abdul served up the best breakfast and lunch during our stay and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Another member of staff who we think deserves a mention but we are unsure of his name is the gentleman on Concierge who wears glasses, he was the one of the most helpful chaps we've met helping us changing our money and getting us a taxi.

Our room was very nice with excellent fixtures and fixings, a great sized tv with excellent choice of English speaking channels. Excellent quality bedding too. The housekeeping was also great and even offered a proper turndown service early evening. Our room 5054 had a lovely double sunbed on our patio with direct access to the beautiful pool.

The one and only reason why we wouldn't stay at this hotel again is because the extortionate rate they charge for WiFi which was 120le per 24hrs which equated to about £13!! I realise not everyone needs/wants wifi on their holidays but this is 2012 and is how people keep in contact with the world. We were told because the hotel gets charged for the WiFi that charge is passed on to the customer which I personally don't feel is good business.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nichola5818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

From check in to check out we were made to feel so special . All has been said in previous reviews we have stayed in 16 hotels in sharm this hotel is on par with the four seasons for service and staff I actually prefer it because it was more personal . Thank you all so much

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bevplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Bevplug,

Thank you for this beautiful review , it is our honor that you found our resort the best and we hope to always satisfy your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Me and my husband stayed here nov 2011.
We had a swim out room-beautifull pay the little extra and treat yourself!
The weather was absolutly perfect-bit cooler in the evening but this made it comfortable,take a cardy in the winter.
We had all inclusive and ate at the sister hotel sonesta beach,its so nice when you walk back to the 5* you really appreciate the quality of the royal but having said that the sonesta beach is fine,suppose as its older its dated but food was plentifull and edable we didnt get sick.
(a tip,dont go near the water when cleaning your teeth and dont touch your mouth after handling the money and you should be sure not to get the guts ache!)
We did notice lots of flies around the hotel but they were doing all they could and im not being funny you cant expect there not to be flies in a hot country,dont let them put you off!
massage and dive school/hire both available at the sonesta beach.
Walk to namma bay(or take a camel ride) along beach prominade takes half hour ish but a nice walk with bars,restaurants and shops along the way,very modern resort namma bay.
Private part of the beach for royal customers with rattan loungers and cream cussions,loads of space elevated above the rest!
Towel man will jump to assist in putting towels on the loungers 1 for feet,1 for body and a rolled up one for your head-they also do this around the pool.
Cocktails inside le royal fab in a nice tall glass,sit at the bar all night take a creamy coffee back to the room.
You can get a limited breakfast the the royal-they have a small lunch menu also which is the same everyday but really nice we ate there every lunch it was fish chips & salad,burger chips and salad and chicken burger and salad but chiabatta bread,real meat,fresh saled,cooked to order,nice!
Some people moaned that you ate in a 4 star and stayed in a 5* but i dont believe that 5* all inclusive exists and that the reason the hotel is soooooo beautifull is because its actually a b&b!
We ordered room service on our last morning and it was £8 total,we had breads,jams,pastries,egg on toast,sausage,toast coffee and fresh orange.
Maybe a larger restaurant offering guests a choice to dine in would help but we really enjoyed it staff friendly,rooms clean with seperate bath and shower,double sinks,grand double doors to enter the bathroom,tea and coffee making facilities,bath robes and slippers,double lounger on the terrace,direct pool access,beautifully heated pools,cant fault it! its just like it looks on the web.
If it wasnt for the horrible airport check-in process and 5 hour flight we would without a doubt go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £12 pppn for a swim out room-for more privacy. If not ask for a ground floor pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear rachel t

Thank you for your very detailed review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our resort and liked the swim up rooms there , you are lucky November is a great weather in Sharm . We hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I loved the Royle. It was our first experience of Egypt and we were very impressed.

We came around Easter time and the weather was perfect for us- hot enough to make you want to swim. And the swimming is incredible here. The water is clear enough to see all sorts of beautifully coloured fish and coral up to 4 metres down. Bring your snorkels if you have any. Otherwise you can hire them for a small price. If you are part of the Royale there is a special reserved elevated area of the beach where the beach attendants are very attentive. They lay out towels for you and position your sunbeds where you desire. One saw us going into the water without foot protection and he went to find some waterproof shoes for us to wear.

I notice some people have marked the Royale down for food because it is necessary to go to the 4* Beach Resort for evening and lunch meals if you have the all-inclusive deal (Get it with Travel Republic). But this does not detract from the experience at all for 3 reasons: 1) You can walk to the Beach Resort in a few minutes without leaving the hotel grounds; 2) the grounds are stunningly immaculately maintained gardens which are ideal for a post-supper constitutional anyway; 3) The food is really good and there are a number of restaurants to choose from. There is boring Western food if you want that. And there is also an wide selection of Middle Eastern starters, fish, flavoured rices, and an exquisite selection of dessert which always includes Baklava. We also went to the Beast Resort for breakfast to get pancakes and freshly squeezed mango and strawberry juices (only available for Royale guests). Royale guests can also order wines and beers without additional charge at lunch and supper. Or at the Royale you could just order French patisserie breakfast room service all-inclusive.

Finally, I would mention that the decor of the Royale is more tasteful than most of the other hotels we saw. It looks a bit like a Saudi embassy with fine black polish furniture and marble floors. Yes. Go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#115 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
#78 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#60 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#33 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing