We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Royal Retreat' - private resort within a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #81 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'Royal Retreat' - private resort within a resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This first class retreat never amazes to disappoint us, as returning guests 10+ times. All the staff and management are fantastic, very friendly and honest and a true credit to the hotel.

The rooms are spacious, very clean, comfortable and serviced remarkably.The pools are maintained well.

The food is delicious, plenty choices and always presented well in all the restaurants. The Byblos Bar offers a lovely lunch-time menu and Chef Ibrahim's food is delicious. The La Gondola restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, is never over-crowded, you can have a tasty Indian or Italian meal as an added bonus without leaving the resort and the manager Wagdy will accommodate any dietary requirements and delivers a superb service .

Having access to the facilities within the sister hotel Sonesta Beach adds value to your experience. Sonesta Beach is a lovely clean, immaculate hotel and again the staff and management are superb and work very hard.

Wherever you go in both resorts you are welcomed, nothing is too much trouble and every staff member wants to make your experience exceptional.

Please don't be put off by the media or recent reviews as a visit to Egypt is a must and I would definitely recommend this resort - we are booked for Christmas and the New Year for the 5th time that's how good it is!!

Room Tip: Ground Floor, easy access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordiejock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Your comments are always welcome as repeat guests and I am so happy that we are going to see you again for Christmas – such a magical time in Sharm.

Your descriptions are wonderful and I’m sure that if anybody was hesitating about booking this hotel, they certainly would have received quite a substantial ‘nudge’ from your review.

So thanks for trusting us with all this time your spend here and we look forward to poampoering you again soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
358
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were greated with a warm welcoming, cold towels to wipe your face and hands and a fresh cold fruit drink. Our bags were taken to our room which was spacious, clean and cosy, and the bed was soooo cozy, you didn't want to leave it behind! We were offered a complimentary light snack, as we arrived just after midnight so we were hungry and had obviously missed dinner.

The staff are friendly, warm and welcoming throughout the entire hotel; reception, grounds, bar, restaurant and private beach, they all made you feel right at home, we could ask anything without feeling like it was a burden.

The hotel grounds were exceptionally clean, well maintained and great on the eyes. Lovely gardens, watered regularly, clean and warm swimming pools and jacuzzis.

The 'all inclusive' deal meant we were able to have unlimited food and drink at all restaurants and bars throughout the hotel. This hotel has other Sonesta hotels on the same grounds, but the 'Royale' guests are more exclusive and gives the guest a choice to go anywhere, adding that extra luxury.

I had a problem with my leg and feet and managed to see the Dr which was on site, the Dr was friendly, knew exactly what he was doing and prescribed me medication to assist with ailments and my pain. The fee was reasonable and was happy to pay.

The Wifi was extremely slow but think that it is down to the countries speed availabilities and not necessarily the hotels fault.

Overall this hotel was great, a good choice for friends, couples, groups, business or someone on their own. If you like luxury, then this hotel is for you, I will definately return soon!! :-)

Room Tip: We had pool view, 2nd floor facing the pool with the Lion water fountain, beautiful view and clear v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miche-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Miche,

Many thanks for the lovely review. You clearly had a great time and were well looked after by the staff. It would appear that whatever ailment you had that was treated by the doctor did not affect the enjoyment of your holiday and hopefully there were no long-lasting ill effects.

In the UK you are blessed with lightning-fast WiFi but alas in Egypt it is not the case so we hope it was fast enough for your communication purpose.

It’s also great to hear that you enjoyed trying the different restaurants around the resort and appreciated the variety of food available.

Thank you for choosing Le Royale Sonesta for your holiday and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel last month and I would strongly advise against going.
The front of the hotel is lovely, nice pool and the room was good. However the restaurants and beach are shared with the lower star rating hotel Sonesta Beach which means these services are all to a very poor standard.
The food was boring and in many cases actually inedible, the beach looked more like a crowed tacky 2* resort and the spa was a plastic hut covered in flies.
I am not typically the person to leave bad reviews, but I would want to spare anyone else the pain of this experience. It is worth considering a hotel that would give an all round 5* service not just on the pool and rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

The Royale Sonesta is a 5* resort adjacent to its sister hotel the Sonesta Beach Resort. They do share certain sections of the resort but where Royale guests can go where they please and have full access to all the Beach resort restaurants, bars and pools, the reverse is not the case, so Royale guests have their own private ‘resort within a resort’ with specialized service and a much better standard all round.

I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion but I would like to steer you towards the many positive reviews which I am sure you checked before booking your holiday as they do tell a very different story.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week in July. Have been to sharm 8 times in different hotels over the last 7 years and this hotel is by far the best we will definitely stay here again in a couple of months time. We cannot fault this hotel in any way from the lovely friendly staff to the exceptional rooms we were very impressed !! The gondala restaurant was fantastic with a great wine list and nothing was too much trouble the private beach area was superb and the snorkeling on the house reef was the best we have experienced
5 * without question. Amazing hotel thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for this wonderful endorsement of the Royale Sonesta and I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and even more pleased that you judge us to be better than the other seven Sharm hotels you have tried.

We aim to help our guests unwind and relax so that the stresses and strains of everyday life fade away and you allow us to pamper you for the week and we look forward to the opportunity to pamper you once again. in a couple of months.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in a room with a 'step up' pool which was literally on our patio. It was shared with 3 other rooms but they were unoccupied so we had it all to ourselves !!! The room was spacious, airy, clean and beautifully maintained. The grounds are immaculate with 3 beautiful swimming pools each with a different design. There are a few restaurants on site but we tended to use the Gondola which had great food and as much as you could eat. The red wine was also very acceptable.
However we were not very impressed with the beach which was more gravel than sand and comparatively small. Also because we booked through a 3rd party, so I'm informed, we didn't get free WiFi and after complaining they did give us use of it for 30 mins !!! The neighbouring hotel which you are allowed to enter/use, the Sonesta Beach Club, is a Russian stronghold but they are not allowed into Le Royal !
It was exceptionally hot, mid 40s, when we were there at the end of June but there is plenty of shade and ways to cool off. We did a snorkelling trip which was also fantastic, 3 different dives and lunch which was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mad_Englishmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayman S, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m delighted you thought of it as a “great all inclusive deal” as we do like to offer good value for money so thanks for the confirmation.

I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the beach as we do share it with our sister hotel. However, we have some lovely pools where there is plenty of room and loads of sunbeds.

Thank you for the review and I do hope we’ll be welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ayman Saad
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Four of us Stayed for one week all inclusive at this hotel and returned this morning. Hotel very nice, lovely pool area. However the beach area is less than to be desired, you would find better sand on a Travis Perkins builders yard. The hotel is attached to the Sonesta Beach hotel, a dirty 2 star? Hotel in which you have to go into to get to the restaurants and the beach. The beach is ridiculously overcrowded and dirty. The gondola restaurant was mediocre, food bland and repetitive. Wine was only available with your dinner, I have never been on an all inclusive where this was the case! The toilets adjacent to the restaurant are so dirty they made you heave. Not 5 star at all. We have lunch at the Byblos pool bar each day, there food hygiene standards are disgusting, raw meat is left to sit out on the bar, the waiter returned from putting the rubbish out and then handled the food without washing his hands etc. There is no hand sanitiser anywhere as there is in other hotels in sharm. We paid a supplement on the second night to eat at the tandoori restaurant. After all realising our meat tasted funny we used the torch on our phone to examine it, (all meals are served outside with no lighting), the chicken was completely raw and we then all had terrible food poisoning for the remainder of the holiday. We spent more time in the pharmacy than anywhere else. We complained to reception and they didn't care they simply handed me the bill to pay for the meal! We also had a problem with the cleaner, whenever our privacy sign was on the door he would barge in, this happened on several occasions. On the last day we caught him lying on the floor peering underneath the door, again we told reception who didn't take us seriously. It made us very uncomfortable showering and getting changed etc.
This hotel needs to cut itself off from its sister hotel completely if it wants to be taken seriously as a 5 start hotel. We all looked forward to coming home we felt so ill and it has wasted a precious weeks holiday for us all.
Staff were only helpful if you tipped them when you arrived, if you didn't pay up straight away you were treated very differently from the other guests.
Will never return here and would recommend if you value basic hygiene and service to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Natalie,

It seems that this was a terrible holiday for you and yet it really flies in the face of all the other reviews on this forum. I am so sorry you had such a poor experience of our hotel but the events and issues that you describe come as a huge surprise to us and frankly cause us some concern.

The Sonesta Beach (our sister hotel next door) is a 5* hotel and is not dirty at all. It is regularly cleaned by the public area housekeeping team to a high standard and has been complimented by many on its own Tripadvisor page. The toilets adjacent to the restaurants are also cleaned and monitored on a regular basis and if they were in a mess when you visited it could only just that minute have become that way as there are regular patrols. Please note that there are hand sanitising stations at every restaurant. We apologise if you were inconvenienced.

The Byblos bar has no reason to put raw meat on the bar. It just doesn’t make sense. And the barman who emptied the dustbins may well have washed his hands somewhere else before returning to the bar. The bar also has hygienic garbage bins which means they are don’t touch them by hand. They wash their hands every 20 minutes, besides using hand sanitizer which is next to the bar sink. Another hand gel sanitizer dispenser was placed at the bar today for guest use. However, I take your point and these issues will be addressed by the F&B Manager.

The cuisine at the Tandoori restaurant has also received a lot of good comments from guests and Chef would most certainly not serve undercooked chicken. Again, as a precaution, we have passed these comments on to him.

Any allegation of our staff peering under doors and “barging in” to rooms should be taken very seriously and if you have any further information for us regarding his identity I would sincerely welcome an email from you so that we can deal with this appropriately. We shall, of course, remind every member of staff of their responsibilities and duties and that all guests should be respected by all staff at all times. Again, please accept my apologies for your discomfort in this matter.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and please be assured that we have our valued guests’ best interests at heart at all times.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

my family and I went to this hotel 2 times and everything in it is great !!
extremely friendly and lovely staff ,great rooms and well cleaned with a great balcony on a stunning view on the pools which are clean not to forget the bar on it waterbeds and clean towels and everything is managed by a really friendly staff and never turns you down for the food is lovely and delicious the hotel is extremely clean and safe my little brother can move around it at the late night and hopefully we are going to go there again next year <3

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dana_Lababidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestasharm, General Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Dana,

It is a delight to know that you felt well looked after and safe in the hotel as this is a very important part of anybody’s holiday. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed the food and the facilities of the hotel so we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

With kind regards,

Medhat Fathallah
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#31 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#57 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#58 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing