We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday i have ever been on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Magic Resort and Spa
Ranked #169 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The Hotel was lovely and a huge complex! The main lobby was lovely and the Dragon bar and all the resturants where great. We where staying in one of the older rooms. Not as nice as the room I expected but it was clean and was a little block of 4 rooms. Room was cleaned daily with lovely towel art on our beds each day! Room inlcuded a safe and hairdryer, balcony (complete with table and chairs) and TV which was good and was very spacious. Please note it did not include a iron or ironing board. The food was amazing and we had no problem with stomach bugs. We only ate in the View resturant mainly the staff Mohammed, Ahmed and Miltos where great and it was an outside resturant which we liked. It was mainly an Italian resturant but it served all kinds of food I always went back for seconds as the food was so good! The shopping arcade was great really nice people. Included a sports shop and a handbag shop (LOVELY) me and my partner both brought several items form these shops. The staff are amazing there and we went into the bag shop daily for a cup of tea with the owner as he was so lovely to talk to and gave us great local advice! I went for a hot stone massage in the spa which was nice and only cost about GBP35 also a pedicure which cost about GBP20 wow cheap!!
We booked several trips which included camel riding and quad biking with Abdul he was lovely. We also booked a day trip to cairo through the hotel. The Cairo trip was amazing and there was only 6 of us and a tour guide who was very very informative. We went to the Cairo musuem, Pryamids and Sphinx was truly amazing expierence and I would go back in a heart beat.
The hotel had a daily shuttle bus to namaa bay which was the town centre it cost you about £3.00 return ticket and it was about 15 minute journey.
The pool was lovely but we prefered to use the smaller pool as it was more quite.
One word of advice is to take lots of spending money as I didnt realise the shopping was so good in Egypt! If my boyfriend would let me move to Egypt I would it was truly amazing. The hotel did have alot of bad reviews when we looked at trip advisor but we did not have a bad expierence at all. If your a snob this is not the hotel for you. I would recomend this hotel to people that want a cheap holiday and the standards are not too high and they just want to relax and have a good time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123stephy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Sea Magic Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

After reading the reviews, we had mixed feelings about our holiday. It seems people must go on holiday to look for faults and moan about them. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday and don't expect to pay thousands for it, Sea Magic is the perfect resort. When we arrived, we checked in easily and were shown to our room quickly. Our luggage was delivered to our room in minutes. We gave a £2 tip for this, which was very gratefully received. Our room was spacious and clean, with all the facilities you would expect. The only downside was that we had two single beds rather than a double, but this didn't bother us too much. We had a balcony equipped with a table and chairs which overlooked the sea (we only paid for a standard garden room so were very pleased with what we had been given). The resort has seven restaurants that are free in your all inclusive package, however for the chinese and tandoori you just need to book a few days in advance. The others you can just walk in during the set hours. The food was good and there was plenty of it, its not the highest quality but then all inclusive food never is. We always found a couple of dishes that were really tasty and i'm sure that everyone could find at least something they enjoyed. In between meals, chips and hot dogs etc are served at the beach bar and pool bar, again free of charge. There are also three bars on the beach serving drinks, both alcoholic and non alcoholic, as well as the pool bar. The pool bar is open until 11pm serving all inclusive drinks and the Dragon bar (inside) is open 24 hours, although the all inclusive stops at 11pm. The drinks are cheap after this though, a local beer and a glass of rose about £2 each. The pool is fantastic, with music and activities played throughout the day and a swim up bar :-) There are plenty of sun beds and the pool staff (especially Ahmen) were all very friendly. You do have people approaching you offering massages, trips etc but once they know your face they wont bother you again. Compared to the people in Naama bay (just 10 mins down the road in a £3ish taxi ride), the people at the hotel are not pushy at all. We booked a trip through Abdou who was very friendlly and always made the effort to talk to us, even after we'd been on our trip. The trip we chose was a quad bike and camel ride through the dessert. We shared a quad bike and had a separate camel each and the cost was only £25 per person. We would definately recommend it however do wear trousers rather than shorts or a skirt as unfortunately my camel had fleas and I was stuck with itchy flea bites for the rest of the holiday. The staff at the hotel are absolutely fantastic and work so hard. Our cleaner Ahmed was always making us things out of towels, we had swans in the shape of a heart, a crocodile, a baby (with a toilet roll for a head!) and even an elephant! We tipped little and often, I think over the whole 10 days we gave him about £10. We made great friends with the pool bar staff, especially Mohammed, Youseff, Sami, Reda, Emad and Hazem and the cashier Amr. They were really helpful and couldnt do enough for you. We had drinks bought over to us as soon as they were half empty, and they would always be smiling and happy to help you. There's not much in the way of evening entertainment, there is a nightclub on the resort and the pool bar would occasionaly play music but if you wanted to see the shows etc, they were inside in the conference room. We enjoy being outside when on holiday so we didnt see any of the entertainment. If you go to the View (an outside restaurant with a fantastic view of the sea) or the Al Malwal (a Lebanese restaurant) for dinner, they do have entertainment but you cant go in unless you're having dinner there. The beach is excellent with lots of sunbeds. It's very long and has 3 differnet sections. Beach No.1 is the 'crazy beach' where they have activities (which you dont have to take part in) and music throughout the day. Beaches No. 2 & 3 are 'lazy beaches' that have a bar but that's it. All three beaches have fantasic reefs where you can snorkel or swim at your leisure. The snorkelling is amazing, there are so many fish. We bought a waterproof bag for our camera (about £14) from the shopping centre on resort and were able to take photos and videos of the fish we were swimming with.
The only downside is that there are a lot of Russians who we found to be very rude. They were rude to the staff with no please's or thank you's (even when they ordered their drinks in english) and definately dont believe in queueing. There were not many English on the resort however the ones that were there were very friendly.
Definately a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday which we will never forget. We would certainly recommend and hope to return in the future.
A couple of tips: show an interest in the Egyptian culture and try to speak in their language, even if only Hello (Marhaba) and Thank you (Shokran) as they really appreciate the effort. Definately buy'/take with you a snorkel set. Don't expect to buy tobacco pouches at the Sharm El Sheikh airport as they dont sell them but have plenty of cheap cigarettes. Take some Immodium or something in case you get an upset stomach. I did, my partner didn't but it is common, mostly down to the heat , change in food and drinking throughout the day I think. Don't drink the tap water or brush your teeth with it but there is plenty of bottled water available free of charge. DONT book transfers with Hotels4U!! Tip little and often rather than in one lump sum. They are paid very little over there so even just a couple of english pounds is a lot to them. Get a taxi from the rank just outside the resort as its much cheaper. You should be able to negotiate 30 egyptian pounds to naama bay (about £3 english).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Booked a short break (4 day) through Cosmos as it appeared to be a good deal and great use of TESCO vouchers.Afterwards checked Trip Advisor - ok ok schoolboy error did that in the wrong order.Previous reviews left me thinking that I may have GOOFED and then some.
HOWEVER ........polite and helpful staff at check-in,sent us for a drink whilst room prepped.
Room spacious,clean and functional - not enough towels but quickly rectified.
Dinner that night Al-Malawal (Lebanese at far end of resort near beach 1) absolutely fine nice location atmosphere and service.Food typically Lebananese/mid eastern,plentiful and probably the best quality in the resort.Other restaurants in main part of the resort ok for breakfasts/lunches but v-crowded for dinners until near end of serving.The beach isnt a lovely expanse of soft golden sand - actually felt like builders sand you may have got from Wickes/B&Q etc but the convenient jetty allows quick and painless access to shore/reef edge where you can swim/snorkel - loads of beautiful fish comparable to anywhere I've been in the world both snorkelling and diving.
To summarise -
Its NOT 5 star as advertised in the holiday brochure/site.
At times it doesnt compare to western european expectations ie
speed of service,
the annoying presence of flies @ the beach/poolside/the view restaurant in the morning
the annoying tenacity of shop keepers in the resort arcade who are difficult to shake off if you show a modicum of interest (look in window for 5+ seconds),
It is 3.5 star with attendant quality/consideration taken that this isnt Europe,USA or Aussie,but in fairness who hasnt had some sub standard experiences in various Greek or Spanish resort,surrounded by the football shirted masses - who can put as much of a dampener on your hols as a few rude/queue bargers from Italy,former Russian states and beyond.
Final tip If getting a taxi from the airport HAGGLE and agree price before getting in the cab.Should cost 80 - 100 LE (Egyptian pounds) If they wont haggle then walk away.
I wish I had because I got well stiffed on the price.
I 'd suggest that a week here would be the maximum length of stay here.- submitted by Duracell Bunnies Mate

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuracellBunniesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Just back from it the negative reviews are true but we did manage to have some pluses i.e.the snorkeling is out of this world,and 6 out of the 7 resturants you can eat in are free and you will allways find something to eat great choice and good staff.But back to the negatives needs updating very tired looking,full of Russians not many Brits,to noisy with planes landing every 10 mins with it being less than 2miles from airport and we both have upset stomachs and cramps for 3days and have been to our own doctors who have taken stool samples we find out our fate in 3days.p.s.we travel at least 4 holidays abroad a year.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollywoodandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Our stay in Sea magic resort was a nightmere. My son in law was attacked by one of the waiters MOHAMED who stole his golden necklace off his neck during the comotion. The duty manager at that time ISLAM was very rude, unprofessional, vulger, and threatening. The attiude of the staff is very erogant and disrespectful. We stayed a long time to take our rooms which laked towels for 2 successive days. Food was tasteles and two of our family got diarrhea and vomiting. It was a vacation in hell. If you hate sombody, recommend SEA MAGIC RESORT to him.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarimEBEID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

First time I stayed at the Sea Magic which was originally Pyramisa on 3-10 April and since then they improved a lot. Very impressive. Fantastic location, beautiful views, great coral reef, lot of fishes, nice swimming and waves pools. Sea magic is under new management and they are working very hard to up-date the hotel. This time i stayed on 23 October - 6 November and enjoyed my holidays very much. It was lovely!! Yes, there is still some work that is being done but other than that I can't see any problems with this hotel. In April they first put me to one of villas but it was to far away from sea and pool and asked to be moved to the main building and thanks to Emad Afify who gave me the room in the main building. And when i went in November he also already had room for me prepared in main building and the room was very clean, big and had beautiful view to the sea. Just been updated. Clean sheets and towels every day and clean beach/pool towels as well. Hotel complex is huge. The structure is nice with a lot of facilities, swimming pools (main swimming pool massive and very very loud all day, but smaller pool quite), restaurants, big rooms , huge hall. The service and all hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was soooo clean and they took a lot of pride in the appearance and keeping it well maintained.
.....if you want to find fault , you will, but if you want a good holiday you will, ...so do what you came to egpyt for and have a good time .. I did , and will be back next year in april.
Will recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back myself again. Really look forward my next holidays there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlesjaOlesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

The Hotel Itself is amazing - yes theres some old parts but the main block and sea front seem to be newer. The room we were first taken to wasnt the best but after explaining to the reception the issues in which we had we were taken to another room within 20 mins and were settled there for the week.

Lets start with the worst bit for us, The food, Yes there is a lot i think 6 restaurants but the food was rather the same in each, Fusion - the sandwich bar was ok for lunch and also had pasta cooked from the ingredients in which they had.... Just be careful as some of our stomachs werent good after eating the food but good news McD's isnt too far away by taxi !

The Staff... the Pool Staff Mo and Yousif are lovely always there to help the staff really made up for the food !

We had a really good time and met up with some lovely people out there :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.9 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#27 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh...
#141 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
#105 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Domina King's Lake Resort
Domina King's Lake Resort
#125 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#24 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
Domina Coral Bay Elisir Hotel
#72 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Magic Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Magic Resort and Spa

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Magic Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Magic Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing