We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caligula Hot Rock

Caligula Hot Rock
Ranked #61 of 307 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Soho Square introduces a new and unique style of cuisine to Egypt The Caligula nightclub has been re-launched with a new entertainments concept. The hot rock dining and ballroom dancing! A piece of volcanic rock is heated for over several hours before being brought directly to your table. You then have the pleasure of being able to cook a dinner of your own choosing from a large and varied menu. Ancient cultures have been using this method for thousands of years, it is also very healthy as no oil or fat is used during the process, all the nutrients are sealed within. Hot rock dining is a very relaxed and sociable way to eat. There are no lengthy pauses in conversation when the plates of food are served and everybody "tucks in" as you cook the food at your own pace. This ensures that every last piece is hot and fresh. The whole method of dining becomes more leisurely and slower, where everybody tends to pause for conversation far more frequently. Only the freshet cuts of meat and fish are selected, you can choose from such sumptuous delights as Australian loin of lamb, black Angus beef ribs, Cajun salmon steaks, prawn and calamari skewers, plus much more.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A little Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Situated within the Savoy Hotel this place reminded us of Las Vegas. An amazing setting, a bit like a clash between a Roman Colosseum, a night club and a movie set, but in a good way. Service as alway in the Savoy first class, and not bad value with two courses, and wine for two people at about £65. The novelty is that you cook your own main course on a hot rock. Tip number 1, quickly remove the food from the stone then cutting small bits off return them to the stone a piece at the time to cook. Tip number 2, don't have desert, really disappointing, you'll regret it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerryandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mix ups galore and bacon for a veggie, nice not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

sorry this was a major let down during our stay
got our starters wrong then had a go at us when we didnt complain
been to a lot of steak houses (use some tips for miller and carter chaps)
also my parter is a veggie and they served bacon on the salad, what a joke
goats cheese starter was bland when it came eventually
didnt wait for steaks, asked for the bill and left
wont be going back here when we stay again
very poor for me

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tractorfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The food, the service, the atmosphere, concept of the place...all perfect! Couldn't have asked for a better night. The waiter who served our table was fantastic, knowledgeable about the wine and food, polite and when we couldn't decide between menu options, his advice was really useful for us. Will definitely be going back, hats off to the restaurant management for creating an absolute peach of a restaurant!

Helpful?
5 Thank Oga_travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had high expectations for this restaurant and the evening we spent there turned out to be beyond our expectations! Everything looked amazing and tasted even better. We loved the concept of the restaurant: guests cook their food live at the table on hot stones exactly as they like it. I ordered tuna and my husband ordered meat. Wine list is impressive. We enjoyed every minute we spent in Caligula Hot Rock restaurant. It was a unique experience for us and fun thing to try. Because the food was perfect, decor was fabulous, and service was exceptional, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Caligula Hot Rock for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in sharm el shiekh in egypt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

really the best restaurant < a fabulous dinner at caligula hot rock and the best beef fillet and rib eye australian>

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raef2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caligula Hot Rock also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Caligula Hot Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing