We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique concept”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caligula Hot Rock

Caligula Hot Rock
Ranked #61 of 307 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Soho Square introduces a new and unique style of cuisine to Egypt The Caligula nightclub has been re-launched with a new entertainments concept. The hot rock dining and ballroom dancing! A piece of volcanic rock is heated for over several hours before being brought directly to your table. You then have the pleasure of being able to cook a dinner of your own choosing from a large and varied menu. Ancient cultures have been using this method for thousands of years, it is also very healthy as no oil or fat is used during the process, all the nutrients are sealed within. Hot rock dining is a very relaxed and sociable way to eat. There are no lengthy pauses in conversation when the plates of food are served and everybody "tucks in" as you cook the food at your own pace. This ensures that every last piece is hot and fresh. The whole method of dining becomes more leisurely and slower, where everybody tends to pause for conversation far more frequently. Only the freshet cuts of meat and fish are selected, you can choose from such sumptuous delights as Australian loin of lamb, black Angus beef ribs, Cajun salmon steaks, prawn and calamari skewers, plus much more.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique concept”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I really enjoyed this restaurant. The concept is great and the quality of the meat is up to the highest standards. We had so much fun cooking our own steaks to our liking - we ate every bite. The staff could not have been more friendly and appreciative that you entered their establishment. I finished my meal with a perfect ice cream on a frozen stone and the best irish coffee I've had in a long time while my husband had the chocolate cake. We also thought the prices were fair. This restaurant has an ancient Greek decor and an atmosphere to match. We will be back for sure next time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna294474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hot and Frozen Rocks!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We loved the idea of cooking your own steak at the table and it was a neat idea - quality of food wad great. The frozen rock with ice cream desert was a lovely and practical contrast! The service on the night we were there was OK but not as attentive as one experiences in other restaurants in Sharm - the restaurant was only open a couple of nights in the week which was a disappointment.
A definite one to return to on another visit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stevengaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A new dining experience,”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

For anybody seeking a new dining experience, try Caligula Hot Rock restaurant. Unique concept - cooking your own food on a hot stone. It has everything - a great menu, unique ambience, accommodating and friendly staff. I had their steak on a hot stone and it was great. Fresh and high quality beef that is so tender, grilled just before my eyes. Will be back for sure. It's been a while since I had steak so good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

It seems the perfect restaurant that has consistently met our expectations and satisfied all the criteria of a positive dining experience. The service is excellent! Food is outstanding! The servers are attentive, energetic, friendly, and professional. The ambiance is relaxed and cozy, great ancient Greek decor. We found a real gem and were pleasantly surprised. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlad_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A little Different”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Situated within the Savoy Hotel this place reminded us of Las Vegas. An amazing setting, a bit like a clash between a Roman Colosseum, a night club and a movie set, but in a good way. Service as alway in the Savoy first class, and not bad value with two courses, and wine for two people at about £65. The novelty is that you cook your own main course on a hot rock. Tip number 1, quickly remove the food from the stone then cutting small bits off return them to the stone a piece at the time to cook. Tip number 2, don't have desert, really disappointing, you'll regret it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TerryandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caligula Hot Rock also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Caligula Hot Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing