We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible! (staff are excellent)... changed hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riva Mar

Riva Mar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riva Mar
Ranked #209 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible! (staff are excellent)... changed hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel staff are friendly and very nice however... we arrived 8pm thursday (and checked out at 12 saturday morning) to an empty hotel. 1 choice of food in buffet restuarant 0 english ppl and a few russians. we asked staff where the bars and entertainment where and we were informed that only 1 bar in reception was open, the theatre was closed, disco closed, champagne bar closed and all a la carte restaurants were closed because the hotel wouldnt open any of it for "only 60 guests". gym was closed bowling was closed only the sol y mar club is open the other 2 hotels are closed with drained pools. hotel could be good if they offered a MUCH better choice and quality of food in buffet restuarant and opened the a la carte options. rooms were ok although air conditioning did not work in our room and no atmosphere around the pool during the day. Me and my girlfriend changed hotels to the jaz mirabel just up the road on the saturday morning and that was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beattiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    6
    8
    20
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked this hotel as it was advertised as 5 star, what we found when we arrived was 1 star. Travelled with a friend on the 13 th Feb 12 arrived late afternoon to see a hotel which was nothing like what had been described.

Our room was shabby and smelly and in desperate need of some TLC, we went straight to reception where we requested another one which was basically just the same only a few doors down.

The reception area was dirty with what could only be described as a rotting river type thing flowing through the middle, there was peeling paint and rubbish floating past you.
The toilets were filthy and stinking.

Dinner the first night was terrible, very limited and tasteless food being served. Drinks were served in small plastic cups, wine terrible even the soft drinks tasted funny.

We were awake most of the night as people were outside arguing in the halls.

Stayed one night and was moved to another hotel the following day.

I am really not fussy but this hotel was bad, we visited other hotels in the area which were a thousand times better for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skipDipFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Well we did book this hotel on the last minute, however when we looked at the pictures and saw the 'five stars' we thought it was going to be lovely.........how wrong can you be! When we dropped other people off at there hotels they all looked lovely and we thought ours would too.....when we turned in the entrance gates it looked like it was derelict building some casino which was closed down.....strange and disappointing first impression. And it was more or less down hill from there......shabby rooms which needed a revamp, staff who tried to ask us for a date (we are two women traveling together) not professional at all........but all this was nothing compared to the 'food' which was on some occasions inedable and in most cases was impossible to digessed! When we asked for fresh juices they said that they just added water to powdered juice formula ......in a five star hotel!!!!!! The white wine was like vinegar....the only alchal you were safe to drink was the beer! Entertainment manager who was shouting orders at the guess and was aggressive if you didn't want to join in his beach games or karioki..............and the list goes on and on.......so do your selfs a favor and chose another hotel because Sharm el Sheikh is very nice....... Best of luck

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Boooked and paid for 5 star but we would rate it only as 3 star. First impressions in foyer are good then I'm afraid its downhill all the way. Shabby furnishings need replacing, never had a hot meal all week, continuously running out of wine which wasn't available at pool or beach bar, but spirits were, wheres the logic?. Also a glass meant about 2 mouthfulls and if you asked for more you got about a teaspoon added. Broken furniture at beach bar, chips on floor for 2 days, ice cream only available between 3 - 4p.m. and not served at meals. Bathroom had rusty shower tray, bath screen grotty, mould in corners of wardrobe, no toilet brush anywhere. Only good thing to report were the staff. We will definately not be returning and this was out third visit to Sharm so we could measure it against other excellent 4 star hotels. No balconies, no shuttlebus, no hand cleanser before entering dining room, no entertainment only if you provided it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I’m normally quite sceptical of some reviews on here but in the case of Sol Y Mar they turned out to be true. I spent a week here at the end of February and wasn’t expecting too much in the way of luxury as it obviously isn’t the most expensive hotel in the area but the building itself was fine. It’s a bit tired and in need of some TLC but the rooms are a good size, generally clean and for the price one can’t really complain.

The staff, service, atmosphere, food, entertainment and overall experience however, are terrible! The main bar and the only all inclusive restaurant are in the main atrium and as there was no background music and the hotel was quite quiet it felt like we were eating in reception. The drinks available the bars were very basic and the bar staff seemed either inexperienced or incredibly unhelpful. Other than beer, and the most vile wine/vinegar I have ever tasted, they were only able to make two generic “cocktails” which were rather unpleasant. We gave up asking for any variations in the end as it seemed to throw them into a panic and should you want to take a drink away from the bar area it has to be in a small plastic cup which I thought was a bit over the top. There was only one restaurant included as part of the all inclusive package which was a very basic buffet with limited choice and anything leftover from dinner was recycled for breakfast and lunch. It was also very difficult to identify what each dish was. The one redeeming feature of the restaurant though was our waiter who was the only professional member of staff we came across during our stay and he would do anything he could to help; the rest of the staff were very unprofessional.

The entertainment, which was definitely geared towards the large number of Russians, was very poor and consisted of darts and a few dancing lessons round the pool. For me, this wouldn’t be bad on its own but the staff were incredibly pushy and turned down right rude when we said we didn’t want to take part in the activities and remained so all week. The staff selling excursions were also pushy and insulting when they didn’t make a sale. (I would recommend Sharm Club for any trips. We used them for a two day trip to Luxor and Cairo as well as a glass bottom boat trip and they were fantastic). The member of staff who disappointed me most though was our cleaner. He did a very basic job and didn’t make any effort with towel creations (simple things but I was really disappointed we didn’t get any!) yet he was very aggressive over being tipped and on the last day even accosted us in the corridor demanding to know when we were leaving so that he didn’t miss his tip. On top of all this we had several items go missing from the room. A safe is provided but we didn’t think it would be necessary to put makeup in there yet we later realised three pieces had gone missing between arriving and leaving! As the makeup bag didn’t leave the room and we searched the room thoroughly we can only assume they were taken. A very odd thing to take but still incredibly annoying.

Overall I would avoid this hotel, there are plenty more to choose from. I will certainly never be returning to Sol Y Mar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank po1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Rooms tired.Limited food selection.Lovely swimming pool but freezing (sea warmer).Entertainment like Butlins.Other 2 hotels on site closed.Casino closed.Champagne bar closed.American diner closed.Food average.No tonic water in bar for whole week.More of 2/3 star.Only real plus were the staff whom were fantastic.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hclose999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

myself & my family have just arrived home from staying here, was worried about staying at this hotel after reading a number of bad reveiws put me off going there. I was supprised at how lovely & helpful all the staff were here they couldnt do enough for you. The food was fantastic & had plenty to choose from, The room was nice an clean an was very happy with it i found no bad points at all with this hotel & look forward to returning here in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#100 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#144 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viking Club
Viking Club
#206 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#154 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#78 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#9 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Mar

Property: Riva Mar
Address: Al Salam Road | Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:5 star — Riva Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Riva Mar Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing