We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 5 star”
Review of Riva Mar

Riva Mar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riva Mar
Ranked #211 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just returned from 1 week at this awful hotel. Food poor drink also poor (not sure if there was any alchole in any of the spirits, wine was watered down. This hotel is more 2 star than 5. Cocktail bar not open, 50's diner not open and the lazy river is just dirty water. No bottled water on arrival, no hot water for 3 days. no toilet rolls, hand towels in room until the we complained to the manager. Also booked a pool view and ended up on the 2nd floor, with promises of being moved. Pool area nice and beach nice although it was 5 euros to walk on pier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel was advertised as 5 star and was more like a 2 star. It was advertised as having a lazy river, champaign bar, American diner and a seafood resturant as part of the all inclusive but they were never open. This left the food chioce as the bufet resturant which offered a limited choice and was very very very repetitive. Drinks were seved in small plastic cups the size you would use for mouth wash (which would take 4 to make half a pint). However, you could drink as much achole as you liked but no one ever got tispy strangly enough.The room was basic and most days they never left towels or loo role and for the first 3 days of our stay we never had any hot water. We have been to Eygpt 13 times now on holiday and have enjoyed lovely hotels this is the first time we have ever had to complain to the management and our holiday rep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We went there,it was nice and sweet.On a Friday it was egyption day and there were lots of egyption food .I really loved it .there was an amazing show.the breakfast wasn't good every day .the house keeping would do shapes with the towels but the same every day .people would say"there are no balconies" well there are only 2 and we were lucky to take 1 this is my first time and I loved it.the shops were not much and it never opened .the man made stream had no water .well the table tennis was nice but people would break the rackets ,it's not the hotels fault.

There is a super Market and a tennis court and also beach buggies but the tennis court and the super Market are in the end of the hotel so it's hard to spot.the beach bar and the pool bar was amazing .the juice is not fresh because it's expensive.so it's just nice not fantastic but very good

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Nada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel staff are friendly and very nice however... we arrived 8pm thursday (and checked out at 12 saturday morning) to an empty hotel. 1 choice of food in buffet restuarant 0 english ppl and a few russians. we asked staff where the bars and entertainment where and we were informed that only 1 bar in reception was open, the theatre was closed, disco closed, champagne bar closed and all a la carte restaurants were closed because the hotel wouldnt open any of it for "only 60 guests". gym was closed bowling was closed only the sol y mar club is open the other 2 hotels are closed with drained pools. hotel could be good if they offered a MUCH better choice and quality of food in buffet restuarant and opened the a la carte options. rooms were ok although air conditioning did not work in our room and no atmosphere around the pool during the day. Me and my girlfriend changed hotels to the jaz mirabel just up the road on the saturday morning and that was excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beattiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked this hotel as it was advertised as 5 star, what we found when we arrived was 1 star. Travelled with a friend on the 13 th Feb 12 arrived late afternoon to see a hotel which was nothing like what had been described.

Our room was shabby and smelly and in desperate need of some TLC, we went straight to reception where we requested another one which was basically just the same only a few doors down.

The reception area was dirty with what could only be described as a rotting river type thing flowing through the middle, there was peeling paint and rubbish floating past you.
The toilets were filthy and stinking.

Dinner the first night was terrible, very limited and tasteless food being served. Drinks were served in small plastic cups, wine terrible even the soft drinks tasted funny.

We were awake most of the night as people were outside arguing in the halls.

Stayed one night and was moved to another hotel the following day.

I am really not fussy but this hotel was bad, we visited other hotels in the area which were a thousand times better for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skipDipFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Well we did book this hotel on the last minute, however when we looked at the pictures and saw the 'five stars' we thought it was going to be lovely.........how wrong can you be! When we dropped other people off at there hotels they all looked lovely and we thought ours would too.....when we turned in the entrance gates it looked like it was derelict building some casino which was closed down.....strange and disappointing first impression. And it was more or less down hill from there......shabby rooms which needed a revamp, staff who tried to ask us for a date (we are two women traveling together) not professional at all........but all this was nothing compared to the 'food' which was on some occasions inedable and in most cases was impossible to digessed! When we asked for fresh juices they said that they just added water to powdered juice formula ......in a five star hotel!!!!!! The white wine was like vinegar....the only alchal you were safe to drink was the beer! Entertainment manager who was shouting orders at the guess and was aggressive if you didn't want to join in his beach games or karioki..............and the list goes on and on.......so do your selfs a favor and chose another hotel because Sharm el Sheikh is very nice....... Best of luck

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Boooked and paid for 5 star but we would rate it only as 3 star. First impressions in foyer are good then I'm afraid its downhill all the way. Shabby furnishings need replacing, never had a hot meal all week, continuously running out of wine which wasn't available at pool or beach bar, but spirits were, wheres the logic?. Also a glass meant about 2 mouthfulls and if you asked for more you got about a teaspoon added. Broken furniture at beach bar, chips on floor for 2 days, ice cream only available between 3 - 4p.m. and not served at meals. Bathroom had rusty shower tray, bath screen grotty, mould in corners of wardrobe, no toilet brush anywhere. Only good thing to report were the staff. We will definately not be returning and this was out third visit to Sharm so we could measure it against other excellent 4 star hotels. No balconies, no shuttlebus, no hand cleanser before entering dining room, no entertainment only if you provided it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolYMarRivaWorldGM, General Manager at Riva Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotels.

We would like to inform you that, as of 3rd October 2012, Sol Y Mar will no longer be managing the Riva World Hotels of Riva Mar, Riva Beach and Riva Club.

We look forward to welcoming you to any other of our extensive range of hotels here in Egypt, with Sol Y Mar, Iberotel or Jaz.

Thank you once again for your interest in our hotels.

Kindest Regards
Jaz Hotels, Resorts & Cruises Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.4 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#8 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
687 reviews
8.9 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,238 reviews
5.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#173 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,526 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Mar

Address: Al Salam Road | Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:5 star — Riva Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riva Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Riva Mar Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing