We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable rest!!”
Review of Cyrene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Ranked #94 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Everything was great:room,clearness.
It beach was amazing ,beautiful area and thump handed :)
I have stayed 14 days. Despite I was ill I could not enjoy my whole stay but it`s no matter I am planning my next visit here.
There were special and unique entertainments and special thanks to the animation group for making our stay enjoyable and fun!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Habet A,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and that some of our staff made your stay even more pleasant.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

No way would I rate this hotel as a 5* would be lucky to receive a 3* food is actually not cooked properly and caused us to be ill,my partner requested ibroprofen..the onsite doctor insisted he needed extra medication and charged us £185 although we had insurance,no chance to relax as staff constantly pestering to buy from them and not totally all inclusive as basics were not included...would not return even if the trip was free

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MorrowTina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

The entire team of the Meliá Sharm were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with many first -time visitors and regular guests.

We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My mum and I stayed here for a week, booked via Thomas Cook. The room was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. We had a balcony looking out onto the pool area which was nice, but if you want privacy you definitely want to be on the ground/ first floor.

We overheard a lot of other Brits complaining about the selection of food, but we really enjoyed it! You're not in Britain so the food will be different! There was a selection of fruit, vegetables and meat and fish dishes every evening. Pastries, pancakes and ice-cream were all available for pudding :) Just be prepared for meals to appear slightly differently from how we would perhaps cook them- it's still delicious!

The staff were absolutely incredible, couldn't do enough for us. We had top service in the dining room, Mina looked after us in the bar, Sharif had it covered in the salon and on the beach. Numerous other members of staff brought us refill drinks without us even having to ask while in the bar and on the beach. Absolute stars, thank-you.

Great selection of pools, lovely beach and pretty gardens surrounding the hotel!

We visited Naama Bay, but weren't very impressed. Good for a pub crawl, but intimidating for 2 women alone during the day. There was next to nothing to do and lots of male traders vying for our attention. Wouldn't bother going back. Although we had a pleasant meal at the Hard Rock Cafe.

We were here for New Year and were invited to take part in the Gala Dinner. As there were only 2 of us we did end up sat with some strangers on a table for 6. Entertainment was good, the staff really made a massive effort to decorate the room and put on a show! It was a bit chaotic to say the least to actually get to the buffet purely because of the number of people attending. Top tip: don't be a polite Brit. All the Russians skip the queue so go for it too! Pile your plate high and aim to get all your courses in one trip! It was a fun night and ideal as all local restaurants were fully booked up (as our table companions found out when they decided to leave!)

Since our visit mum has already returned once and I would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you very much for posting your review and recommendations about your holiday. We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
Thank you also for the recognition of our standards and your kind words about the efficiency and friendliness of our staff; your compliments will definitely be shared with the team.
We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to make more memorable memories.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is amazing! big grounds but well looked after. We did 11 nights at the melia sharm, and we plan to go back next year. I would definitely recommend upgrading to a sea view room as the standard rooms are quite dark and do not have such good views.
Please be aware that there are a lot of Russians.
I would rate this holiday as 8/10.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LondonUKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Aunny greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay was a memorable one.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although we did not originally book this hotel (thomas cook 'upgraded' us) we were very much looking forward to staying here...that did last long!

The hotel itself looks very impressive and grand in the lobby area and also the pool area is very nice. The pool bar is the perfect location as you are able to sit in the sun or the shade whilst having a drink.

The rooms were cleaned daily and kept to a good standard and the staff left my boyfriend a birthday cake in our room which was a lovely touch. The passage ways and corridors outside the rooms were not so clean...there were many times where we saw a plate or cup and glasses left in the corridors with left over food on them where they had been taken out of the rooms by the cleaners and left there. Not good considering there were ants and other creatures about!

The staff are wonderful here although I feel that they are very intimidated by the russians. There are a lot of russians at this hotel and the staff seem to attend to them before the english (apparently because the russians will kick up a fuss if they are not served and the english are more polite!) which meant we were sometimes stood at the bar 15mins waiting to get a drink!
Said in the restaurant looked after us wonderfully for lunch and evening meal, constantly bringing us drinks and asking if we were okay...wonderful! Said at the pool bar was also wondeful, constantly making sure we had a drink at the bar and bringing us drinks to our sunbeds...fantastic!

The food was horrendous though! The first couple of nights we were there we were thinking we were going to starve because it was awful! It did get slightly better but nothing that was really tasty! If you like roasted chicken or beef in gravy with rice then you are sorted! Both me and my boyfriend (and plenty of other people) stuck to chip buttys for 2 weeks...not what you would be expecting to eat in a '5* hotel'!!!

One evening we dined in the Italian restaurant as you receive a voucher for every week that you are there! Safe to say we didn't use our second voucher...The food was ok but nothing special! The staff that served us were also very miserable and didn't speak to us at all, he just gave us our drinks and took our order...bad customer service and nothing like the staff in the main restaurant!

The entertainment is something that we were so dissapointed in! It was very repetitive so once we saw one show and heard what the rest were we'd had enough! I have also NEVER been to a hotel where you have to pay for the entertainment...£10 for the Beach Party on a tuesday night and £17 for the BBQ! Their selling point was that the bar was all inclusive on the beach...so was the bar in the hotel and we didnt have to pay £10 for that! Also the entertainment around the pool was awful...belly dancing and aqua gym was what it consisted of and after 2 weeks I have seen enough of that to last me a life time! The music is also horrendous...every morning up until aqua gym at 11:30 they play ballads and slow relaxing music...not something you expect to hear on holiday! During aqua gym is when the more up to date and summery music comes on but after that there is no music at all!

Another downfall for the pool area was because it was sometimes quite windy we were not able to have the parasols up...even people with children were made to sit in the sun! This is not the hotels fault although we thought that they could have made some sort of alteration (maybe some bolted down umbrellas so they wouldn't blow away) so that people could sit around the pool in the shade as some days we had to go inside to find some shade!

Our rep was pretty much no where to be seen! After our welcome meeting we saw him once and that was when we came home! Even then he didnt stay around to make sure everyone got on the coach...the coach driver did it all! We also found that the rep was not informing people that if you are with thomas cook then you get 15mins free wifi every day (not that 15mins gets you anywhere!) the only way we found this out was from people that we spoke to. The rep also did not inform us that the clocks change for ramadam even though after speaking to other couples he had informed them at their meeting!

Whilst we were there we spoke with some couples who said that they had paid nearly £2000 for their stay there! All I can say is that we are glad we didn't pay that much!

We spoke with the manager whilst we were there who was Dutch...she was lovely and a credit to the hotel!

All in all we did have a great holiday but it was just the little things that don't make this hotel a 5* which everyone we spoke with, including ourselves thought they were coming too!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was lovely although we did miss not having the railings on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the time you spend to write your valuable comments regarding your recent stay in the Meliá Sharm .
For your kind information, your comments are of a great importance to us, only through it, we can aim to improve the level of services that our guests receive.
Thank you for your positive and negative comments and please note that we will do our best to avoid any negative comments as guests' satisfaction is our main goal.
It will be our great pleasure to host you soon again for another fantastic time at our resort and all our team is looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just got back and had a grate time. There all so nice there nothing was to much. The staff make the place all very nice always have a smile always say hi alway want to help you have a nice Holiday. No problem with the food if you dont no what it is just try it coz its good. Drinks tops! Beach nice always a sun bed nice bar and nice snacks. Swimming was brill. Only thing we had with problem we we had to come home. Thanks guys you are doing it just right.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having been our guests recently and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your vacation experience.

We are glad, that our staff have made your holiday such an amazing one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back at our resort for more enjoyable vacation days.

Warm greetings,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 weeks June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The scenary at the hotel is amazing and views of Tiran Island and the sea are second to none.

Good points:

- The scenary at the hotel is amazing and views of Tiran Island and the sea are second to none. The pools are large and lots to choose from. No worrying about getting up early for a sunbed, there are plenty and we never struggled to get one even when we strolled out of bed at 1pm some days.
- The rooms are large and spacious and very clean. Plenty of choice of channels on the TV and air con lovely and cold to come into after a day in the heat. We were in room 2119 and we had a beautiful sea view to wake up to every morning which we were chuffed at.
- The O'Grill - where do I even start, absolute god send at lunch time as we got sick of the food in the main buffet restaurant. Its completely free for all inclusive people at lunch time, just a shame it isn't free at night! Lovely burgers and hotdogs, proper lunch food unlike the horrible slop they serve in the main buffet which is the same as the tea time food! Osama was lovely and attentive and a pleasure to be served by!
- The private beach is lovely and peaceful with amazing clear waters, fish just swim round your feet! Snorkelling off the jetty was my favourite thing to do during the day, saw amazing colourful fish and even a stingray on one of the days (more than we saw on the paid snorkelling trip we went on) and its all right on your doorstep so haggle at the hotel shop for some snorkels and get down there!
- The staff here are an asset to the hotel, they can never do enough for you! For the measly amount the get paid they always work so hard and always with smiles on their faces! So make sure you take some dollar notes or pounds to tip the ones you like as they really do deserve it! Even just the little things of getting a bottle of water (that you get for free in the hotel anyway) and giving it to a gardener will light up their faces, it really is the simple things that please over here.

Bad Points (there aren't many but its worth pointing them out)

- The food... I know places like Egypt are notoriously bad anywhere you stay for food and seen as we stayed for two weeks we probably just got sick of it. The breakfast in the main restaurant was actually however the evening meals were just so disappointing, I ended up eating prawn crackers and chips most nights which is not good when you're supposed to be getting your moneys worth for all inc. We ordered room service a few nights which annoyingly was amazingly nice however we had to pay for it (not all inc really are you) the food must come from the same kitchen which serves the question why was the room service food 10000% better than the buffet restaurant food?
- Not 5*... I'm sorry but under no stretch of the imagination is this a 5* hotel. Its nice and its good value for the money for the amount we paid but it is not 5*. The pools need a good refurb as tiles are hanging off and are quite dangerous. The rooms need a little sproose up with a lick of paint. The food was 3* at best. I was expecting amazing luxury as the hotel name suggests, resort and 'spa' - we went searching for the spa one day and it is completely non existent I have no idea how they can still have the word in the name of their hotel.

Overall I was expecting more from the hotel in terms of food, its a huge huge let down for me.
However everything else about the hotel was lovely and I couldn't complain at all.

Clean, Pretty, Attentive Staff, Spacious Rooms, Amazing Weather, Amazing Sea Life.

Would definitely come back to Sharks Bay and would come back to Melia Sharm if they improved choice of the food. Less weird stuff and more english food please!!!!

Room Tip: High Floor Sea View Rooms are really lovely! Room 2119 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Melana11,

Thank you for choosing the Meliá Sharm for your holiday and for writing your review. We notice that there are several positive points about your holiday and we are pleased that overall, you seem to have enjoyed yourself.
However, it does seem that on a couple of occasions, specially about our food you were very dissappointed. We have to inform you that we cater for many nationalities and we have a weekly different theme night in our main buffet restaurant ( for example: oriental, Italian, seafood, bbq). Besides this we have an a la carte restaurant for lunch and an a la restaurant for dinner.
We have shared your comments with F&B Director and the management team and I assure you that we will take proper actions in the mentioned areas.

We realize that on this occasion we fell a little short of your expectations and we do hope that you will consider returning so that we can improve your experience.

Kind regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.9 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#96 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
604 reviews
6.1 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#86 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,699 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.2 mi away
Melton Beach Resort
Melton Beach Resort
#139 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrene Grand Hotel

Address: Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt (Formerly Sharm Resort & Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#90 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £40 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyrene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sinai Peninsula in the "Montazah Ras Nasrany Bay" area along the Red Sea shore, just 7 km away from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and from popular Na'ama Bay with its wide range of shops and bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cyrene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm Resort And Spa
Melia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing