We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather disappointing :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharm Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharm Resort & Spa
Ranked #82 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just returned from here and have to say we were very disappointed! It really should not be advertised as a 5* hotel. Definitely not worth what we paid.
The bathrooms were disgusting and in really bad condition. The food was average and we struggled to find food that we liked, there was not much variety at all. The entertainment was rubbish! Once you have seen once dancer, you have seen them all!
Some of the bar staff were extremely rude and clearly did not like serving women! The restaurant staff were the complete opposite, they were so good and happy to help anytime. In particular a guy called Sherif, he was great and always happy and helpful. (Maybe they can train the bar staff!)
The swimming pools were filthy and we only saw them be cleaned once in the whole time we were there. We did not like to use them as the layer of scum on the top was vile!
We did however have an amazing couple of evenings out at Soho Square. Definitely worth a visit.
Thomas Cook should also clarify in their brochure or online about the WIFI. You only get 15 minutes per room per day free of charge. I had to pay for my daughter to have WIFI.

We would not return to this hotel :(

Room Tip: Ask for a clean bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lollypop73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lollypop73,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well as for taking time to write about your recent experience.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. I would like to assure you that guests’ remarks never fall on deaf ears; our goal is guests’ satisfaction.

We took notes of your comments and we assure you that necessary actions are being taken specially with the entertainment program.

We hope to welcome you back once again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    652
    241
    102
    85
See reviews for
476
889
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Total scam. Would never visit again even if I was paid to. If you're after a quality 5* hotel DO NOT GO HERE!
Having visited other 5*Melia hotels we paid 1500GBP for 2 people.
-Rooms were dirty with visible stains bathrooms. Rusty and moulded bathroom (see pictures which I will upload). Towels and sheets ragged, things I wouldn't even use in my home.
-Toilets in communal areas were disgusting and smelly. The toilets particularly in the Melia restaurant and pool bar area. Wet floors/overfilled sinks/fouled toilets...
- Food was shockingly inedible. Despite having all inclusive we treated ourself to the restaurant- served rotten fish they had to plead with us to order something else on the menu. Food in the main restaurant was equally disgusting and repetitive, 5* hotel? ! Definitely not! Poor quality food and tasteless. Dirty plastic cups used in most places, was handed a drink with visible floating particles. The food was so awful we found and started eating at the Baron Resort Taj Mahal restaurant (which was amazing! And hotel was Beautiful! )
No fresh juices all rubbish carton drinks! Again we ended up visiting the bar at the Baron which was entirely different class
-That is when you do get served, non attentive staff more interested in chatting with their colleagues than attending to you. I'd ask for Cola id get soda water. ... pathetic
-We never hung around for the entertainment what I noticed was aqua gym and karaoke, not our taste of entertainment.
-Of The 5 days we spent there only once did we see a lifeguard on shore.
-Dirty pools we didn't dare step in. A friend got conjunctivitis after spending most of her time in the pool...
-Hotel looks grand at first but one you get in closer you can see this is so run down, not maintained at all. I really wonder what the guests money is been spent towards

We arrived on a Thursday, on Friday we complained to our holiday rep who saidhe will pass on to hotel who will contact us - they never did. On Friday we booked early tickets back home.

ONLY GOOD THING WAS the location for snorkeling. The swimming was amazing.

Its so hard for me and the hubby to get time off work together, thank you Melia Sharm for the waste of our time and scamming us out of the money with the pretense of a 5* hotel. At least call it the 2* it is then people know what to expect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Ols22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

The entire team of the Meliá Sharm were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with thousands of other regular guests as well as the first -time visitors.

We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Melia Sharm from the 10th of July and had an incredible time! We arrived quite late and upon arrival was told our room had been upgraded for free and told we could still have our evening meal.
The Thomas rep, Mohammed, was really great and friendly and honest about some aspects of Egypt.
We did two trips, one to the Old Market and one on the VIP boat trip to Tiran. The market was great to look around but the men there are very vocal and it was uncomfortable at times - if you go to the market, cover up a little and be prepared.

The VIP boat trip was incredible and the snorkelling was amazing. The staff on board were really friendly and helpful, some one came round every 10 minutes or so with a different drink. You get dinner on board and the food is beautiful! all freshly prepared. The snorkelling was great, we took an underwater camera and saw a rare sight of a turtle. We did 3 dives and it was all brilliant! Well worth doing.

The hotel food and different variations every night although there was always some style of rice, potatoes, chicken and chips, but there is enough food to cater to each tastes. No complaints on the food.

Staff service was excellent, our rooms were clean and we always had fresh towels. My only complaint was staff seemed over worked. We appreciate that it was ramadan and so staff were clearly tired from fasting but maybe more staff would help, despite this the staff were always friendly and happy to help.
There was times I noticed I would wait at the bar for quite some time before getting served - I have no problem with waiting, but did find it frustrating that some times men would come to the bar after me and get served before me. When my partner went to the bar he would be served straight away. This isn't a complaint but I found to get quicker service, my partner should always get the drinks.
The staff did make us up some special cocktails that were delicious and presented beautifully.

All pools were kept clean, and there was many things to get involved in such as belly dancing and water gym. There were people trying to sell you trips around the pool and on the first day I felt obliged to speak to them. In the end I just ignored them when they said hello and no one bothered us again. It felt rude ignoring them but if you do they wont hassle you!

On our last night we went to the Ala Carte restaurant and the food was absolutely beautiful. The wine was also a lot better here than what was served in the main bar.

Take the time to watch the sun rise, its worth getting up for and words cannot describe how beautiful it is. Also the moonrise, often we sat outside after dinner and we would see the moon rise.


The snorkelling at the hotel alone was really great and the fish swim very close to the surface and there was lots to see there.

Would absolutely recommended this hotel. After a week we felt like we had been there long enough and were relaxed and ready to come home. if going for two weeks maybe you would need more trips.

Overall, a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kirsty_KS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and that some of our staff made your stay even more pleasant.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I absolutely loved, loved, loved this place! The hotel and it's staff are brilliant. I spent most of my holiday taking scuba diving lessons with the nearby dive club, Reef Oasis. The beach is close by and the sea is like stepping into a warm bath! We are returning this year and are looking forward to it. the food was brilliant and well presented and no job was too small for the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zara_P95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Zara


Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests in october last year. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one. The entire staff is looking forward to greet you again soon in the Meliá Sharm in the near future to make some more holiday memories.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the melia sharm in june this year the hotels entertainment is very poor and the food is very repetativ the service at the bars is very poor you spend alot of time queing it claimes its a 5* i totally disagree i would give it 2* or 3* at a push a little dissapointing as this was our honeymoon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Colleen W,

We like to thank you for the Meliá Sharm for your honeymoon, as well as for taking time to write about your recent experience.
.
Let me explain that we provide soft animation, that means that there are daily activities around the beach and pool area like waterpolo, volleyball, dancelessons etc. During the evenings we have every night a show, live-music in the lobby bar and guest-competitions.
At Meliá Sharm we offer O-Grille a La Carte Restaurant for lunch in sunny atmosphere, Sea Food a la carte menu is available for guests at the restaurant for dinner. Aqua a La Carte Restaurant is opened daily at dinner time also with Italian food options. At the Main pool we have a la carte snacks menu from 11:00am till 05:00pm. . Let us also note we try to satisfy different tastes of our international guests. Hence, we do have theme nights at the Main restaurant; such as International, Italian, European, Mexican, and Oriental. For lunch and dinner we daily provide English Food Station and Healthy Food Station in addition to buffet stations.
We are very sorry that your experience did not meet all your expectations.

We do our best to improve the hotel service in order to make our guests satisfied.
Thank you again for the feedback. We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion, and we
hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

we have just returned from a relaxing 2 week stay at Melia Sharm, where the views are outstanding & the staff were excellent and couldnt do enough for you. The rooms were are great size and very clean. Mini fridge was stocked with beer, soft drinks & water.
There was plenty to do during the day and the evening with the animation team, Carlo & Jeanette were great and always asked if you were ok during the day. The bar staff at the pool bar were fantastic and were constantly making us laugh. Ahmed, Saied, Hamanda, Mohammed and not forgetting the Manager Mr Aziz. they also made sure your glasses were never empty and were always making you cocktails to try (personal fav was the ice slush one).
The food was great, a variety of choice and all tasty.. for thomas cook customers the o grille at lunch time was free to use. Once per week you could dine at the italian for free.... they do a very tasty fillet steak!!!

Overall a fantastic holiday!!!
we will be back next year to see you all again x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Susan C,

Warm greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and for mentioning some of our staff who made your stay even more pleasant.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Melia Sharm was a lovely hotel with big clean rooms and friendly hotel staff. The food was excellent and varied throughout the week and the pools were clean and well maintained. The beach was only a short walk away and the beauty spa facilities were excellent-very good massages. This was ruined though by the over zealous nature of the 'animation/entertainment' team. It was impossible to relax by the pool or beach without being constantly bombarded with requests to join in activities. Not only this but the same requests would be asked day after day. This would have been bearable if the response had not been a bit rude when you refused to join in. Of an evening, at the bar, this did not stop either as they would try to get you to go to parties etc. If you want to relax and not be interrupted every ten minutes this is not the place to go, which is a shame as the hotel itself was lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CSIMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Sharm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Meliá Sharm for your vacation, as well for taking the time to write about your recent experience. Your feedback is very important for us.
I took notes of your comments and I assure you that necessary actions are being taken immediately with the entertainment program.but have to inform you that we total 5 pools and 2 of them are relaxpools. There you find no music and no activities.
We do take your comments seriously and commit to improve our service in order to give a memorable experience to our guests.
We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion and we hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#101 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
4.3 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#22 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#86 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Resort & Spa

Property: Sharm Resort & Spa
Address: Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sinai Peninsula in the "Montazah Ras Nasrany Bay" area along the Red Sea shore, just 7 km away from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and from popular Na'ama Bay with its wide range of shops and bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sharm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Melia Sharm Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing