We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort so far!”
Review of Cyrene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Ranked #93 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Melia Sharm was an amazing holiday! Although I had only stayed there for one week, I had missed the atmosphere, the friendliness and the beautiful scenery as soon as I arrived back in England. The staff were absolutely amazing, especially Mustafa (working at the beach bar, a favourite of mine) who would make my sister and I the most delicious Fanta cocktails and would always top up our burgers! The beach and the red sea were out of this world. The building was gorgeous and well laid out with multiple seating areas so that you could rest whenever you wanted. The pools and restaurant were so lovely especially with the bright colours of the flowers planted all over the resort. Having looked at other ratings on this sight, I strongly disagree with the reviews that are underrating the resort. In all honesty, I would recommend this to anyone who is visiting Egypt, Sharm El Sheikh. Breakfast was a definite YES and the family loved how the chefs could cook you any omelette you desired. Overall it was a chilled holiday and I would return many times. Hopefully in 2015 we'll come back again because we LOVE it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sarina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Warm and sunny greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and that some of our staff made your stay even more pleasant.
We will be happy to greet you again in the Meliá Sharm in the near future.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The first year I visited this hotel, around 2012, the service was very good. However, the service has been deteriorating since then. We had to call guest services multiple times for them to bring a housekeeper to clean our room. There is obviously a shortage of staff, and the staff is overworked. Also, some of the Egyptian guests are obnoxious. The staff, however, was very pleasant.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ramsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing opinion about your second stay at the Meliá Sharm.
Guest comments are very important for us, and are taken seriously.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the not expected experience during your stay. All the necessary improvements have been already provided, and will be constantly implemented.
We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you again at the Meliá Sharm.
Kind regards,
Inna Igonina,
Asst. Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have just returned from a two week stay with my boyfriend
We was really looking forward to our holiday which we had booked 14 months in advance and was our first holiday together.
When we arrived at our room we had twin beds we were told we would have queen size bed as standard,
we had also requested a pool/sea view we got the view of an other room opposite
The reception staff told us to have both a queen size bed and a pool/sea view we would have to pay an extra £30 a nigh!!
The food was awful, same thing all the time and not much choice
by the end of the first week me & my boyfriend were both ill which spoilt our second week.
we ended up having to eat out.
The alcohol was also to strong for me to drink
During our second week the air conditioning leaked in our room, we had to pack all our things up and move to another room this was at 12 at night which was a bit annoying.
The next day we got talking to people around the pool and we found out that the room they moved us in to also had problems with the air conditioning and that a couple had been moved out of that room the night before.
The entertainment was poor, not much for kids to do during the day.
same entertainment the second week as the first.
The animation team had no go in them (except for Carlo) he was the only one who made an effort.
The baby pool was rather dirty, had things floating on the surface and was covered in sand at the bottom.
The staff were all lovely and willing to help you in any way they can, however we did get a bit pesterd around the pool by staff asking us to have treatments.
Overall the HOTEL and the MANAGEMENT let us down and i feel something needs to be done as people work hard to pay for the holidays.
This is definately not a 5* hotel
You also have to pay for WIFI this is usually free in other hotels
I was very disapointed with my stay at this hotel as i had been so excited
i would not return to this hotel again :(

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.
In the Meliá Sharm we believe that it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers we will be able to achieve constant improvements, guest satisfaction and quality service we strive for. With this aim in mind, comments such as yours are of greatest importance and assistance for us.
Please, let me explain to you that some hotel rooms have king size beds and some have twin beds. If there is no special remark from tour operators concerning the bed preference, guests rooms are booked according to the hotel availability. Room type (with definite room view) is also provided according to the voucher paid by the guest. So, upon arrival you were provided with everything you have booked through your operator. Upgrade to a higher room category is for charge.
Concerning the Main Restaurant food we want to note that daily we serve meals for around 900 guests. Kitchen chefs constantly check and follow the necessary condition of the food served. We really try to diversify our food choice.
For kids we have Kids Club working daily for free, and mini disco provided every evening.
We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in future.
Best regards,
Inna Igonina,
Asst. Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been to melia sharm hotel on two occasions last year in April and march this year, we are going again in September.
While we were there we had no problems with this hotel found it clean and the staff very hard working. Cheerful and helpful
Was a very relaxing any enjoyable holiday and looking forward to september

Room Tip: We are both disabled and chose. A ground floor room near amenities which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazst_helens_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm and sunny greetings from the Meliá Sharm and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your holiday with us.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guests. We are glad to know that your two holidays with you spent with us were memorable and that you soon will be returning to make some more holiday memories.
The entire staff is waiting to welcome you back in the Meliá Sharm.

Best regards,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We returned last week from Sharm ,where we stayed for a week. We stayed at 5 star  Melia Sharm hotel . I have to say to all who are saved it is the purity of the very rough level. So if you want neat and clean definitely I do not recommend this hotel. As far as the staff I have only words of praise but it was all very, very dirty. As far as the swimming ... not as I excepted exept  at the pool, because the water was not possible to swim. So everyone who wants a nice beach with a nice entrance to the sea ... Sharm definitely is not for you. Only if you are a fan of diving and fish, I think you will enjoy with a coral reef and fishes that are very beautiful and colorful. . As far as the food ,we've always been disappointed by the choice, except maybe fish which was delicious. Our room was spacious and very comfortable to stay ... which is great , but also very dirty , old and decrepit. Animators are great and I would really praised Misha, a guy from Russia, his efforts are really raises the atmosphere. Guy who works at the pool named Amr was very kind and I commend him because he always found us sunbeds which sometimes was not easy. To summarize, the hotel is not for recommendation because everything is very dirty and the sea is not for swimming,, so if you want spend your holiday in Egypt, , choose Hurghada.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Guest,

The entire team of the Meliá Sharm were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with thousands of other regular guests as well as the first -time visitors.
We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Actually it was a very terrible experience, from the minute you arrives you notice the dirts in all the place (food residuals, unclean beds and sheets, Ants all over the place) and swimming pools having floating dirts.
Complaining to the inexperienced staff has no action at all, however you may receive bad words from the impudent staff.
Our reservation was on 1st of August 2014 for 4 nights, but we cancelled and left the hotel before sleeping the first night. Shame on you Melia.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank marhoumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Marhoumy,

The entire team of the Meliá Sharm were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success.
We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely yours,

Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is not a 5*hotel only stayed one night it was disgusting

Dirty rooms , dirty bed linen , plates of food left in hallway covered in ants
Dirty dining areas
We arrived at the hotel around 4.30pm didn't get a room until 9 30 pm as there weren't any that were clean enough , at that point we made do and slept in our clothes on top of the beds .
The final straw was finding the public toilets by the pool covered in poo first thing in the morning it was obvious they hadn't been cleaned from the day before
All sorts of things floating in pool
Staff at the hotel were miserable and un-helpful .
Ended up moving to the Baron Resort which is a proper 5* Hotel

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S, Manager at Cyrene Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,

The entire team of the Meliá Sharm were regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with thousands of other regular guests as well as first time visitors.

We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence and hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
Nicolette Bergenhenegouwen
Guest Experience Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
6.1 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#84 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#94 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
604 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.2 mi away
Melton Beach Resort
Melton Beach Resort
#140 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrene Grand Hotel

Address: Montazah, Ras Nusrani Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt (Formerly Sharm Resort & Spa)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#89 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyrene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sinai Peninsula in the "Montazah Ras Nasrany Bay" area along the Red Sea shore, just 7 km away from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and from popular Na'ama Bay with its wide range of shops and bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cyrene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm Resort And Spa
Melia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing