We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for food and drink”

Union Jack Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 308 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Union Jack Bar & restaurant caters for everybody's needs. Showing all Live sports and having a large varied menu we have instantly created a hotspot for ex patriots and tourists a like. Opening in November 2010, Union Jack has brought a touch of home abroad, opening from 10AM for breakfast, Followed by some lunchtime cocktails, and a light snack. Further it on, to a fillet steak with a nice glass of wine in the evening, and to top it off by dancing the night away until 2.30AM. You could literally spend all day with us. Pints of Lager just 24 LE (£2.40) and happy hours every weekday from 4PM - 6PM (All beer Half Price) we like to keep our prices competitive within our market, so come and see our specials. Many different events on, with Karaoke, Live Music, Ladies Night, Quiz Night and much more.Come pay us a visit, and meet our British & Egyptian staff, to share our knowledge of the area with you. Hope to see you soon, Enjoy.
Chesterfield Derbyshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value for food and drink”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good value food / portions and drink.
Visited during our stay, opposite the Rixos hotel.
Got very busy around 8pm with brits

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union J, Owner at Union Jack Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your review and we hope you enjoyed the entirety of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    233
    53
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing! You must visit.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, if you had told me that I would visit an English themed restaurant in Egypt I would never have believed you! However, the hotel food was so awful and our children became so poorly that we had to venture out.
The food in this restaurant is fantastic! My husband had the fillet steak one night, roast beef another night, ham egg and chips another few nights and loved them all! We had fish and chips (awesome!), toasted cheese sandwiches with baked beans, roast chicken, jacket potatoes and spaghetti bolognese, all were fantastic.
Thank you to the lovely staff for saving our health and our holiday, we ate here five times even though we were all inclusive at our hotel

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union J, Owner at Union Jack Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Julia,

Thank you for your review.

We are only too happy to help people on holiday.

We hope to see you again and don't let this bad experience put you off the whole of Sharm.

If you are visiting again just contact us via trip advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent throughout- from the polite staff and lovely food- my mother in law asked for an English tea in which she was so chuffed in getting- thanks arron! The waiters loved our 2 children, one even brought them a watch each. Great cocktails (1/2 price on a Friday-ladies night) and brilliant entertainment . I would recommend this English bar, nice owner .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union J, Owner at Union Jack Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Stacey,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great service and great food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Heard a lot about this place from a lot of people we met at hotel we where staying at just 5 min walk up road, really needed a nice fry up so tried it out.

There was 6 of us that went, when we turned up there was another table of 6 and 4 already in there after sitting there for 5 mins the guy came over and took drink order to then tell us that none of his staff had turned up at that point (1030am) just opened, so he was having to take all orders and make drinks and serve them, he was sweating and working his socks off, then luckily the staff turned up and within 20 mins food was served in this time the place had 20+ customers there, the food was great and so was the service I highly recommend trying out there food if your ever there on holiday anytime soon.

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union J, Owner at Union Jack Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Jimmy,

Thanks for your review. Thank you for your support of taking the time to write this review.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Cocktails”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'm not a fan of searching out English themed pubs when I'm abroad,but after 10 days on an All Inclusive menu,my daughter was craving a Full English and as The Union Jack was almost at the top of the drive of our hotel (Sharm Grand Plaza),we decided to try it out. Although it was more bacon grill than real bacon,she still thoroughly her meal and the staff were very friendly as well. We returned the next evening for drinks and as the cocktails were half price,we had quite a few of those.Because of the offer, prices were very good and the drinks themselves,really yummy and served with a smile.As an added bonus,there are usually camels around outside and if you're prepared to haggle,you can have cheaper ride than in other places.They'll probably ask you for LE150,but don't pay more than LE50. Try to do this before the cocktails and not after or it could get messy :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieAcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union J, Owner at Union Jack Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello There,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visits to us. Friday nights are ladies night, with half price cocktails for the ladies, disco and karaoke.

We do serve pork bacon, but as you can imagine it is hard to come by, being a predominantly Muslim country. Therefore we stock as much as we can, when we can. When we are out of stock, we switch to beef bacon, which we prepare and cure ourselves.

With regards to the camels we do urge to all of our customers that they are NOT affiliated with our establishment in any way, and to proceed with them under your own responsibility.

Nonetheless we are happy that you enjoyed your time and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Union Jack Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Union Jack Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing