We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful setting and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rangoli

Rangoli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: "Rangoli" is the most popular Indian restaurant in town where you can enjoy delicious traditional Indian dishes Savor the creations during dinner of our Indian Chef serving tender meat and seafood directly from the hot embers of the tandoor, accompanied with soft, fresh & hot naans and rotis; all in an inviting atmosphere with panoramic view over Naama Bay
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We weren't staying at the Moevenpick but chose to eat here because of the great reviews on trip advisor. We weren't disappointed.
Lovely setting and views looking out over the bay (ask to sit outside), great for a romantic meal. Fantastic service, very polite but friendly. We emailed on a Wednesday to book for the Saturday, not sure if this was necessary but it might have been to ensure a table outside.
Food was delicious, well presented, generous portions and reasonably priced.
Only downside, non-Egyptian wine was very expensive (about £50 a bottle!) but we had Egyptian and it was fine.
Need to get a taxi if you're staying elsewhere in the resort of Naama bay as the hotel is up on a bit of a hill with a very long driveway! Taxi was only 50 Egyptian pounds (£5) from other end of Naama Bay.
Definitely recommend making a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClareC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    26
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't eat at any other restaurant while at the Moevenpick.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having just spent a week at the Moevenpick in Sharm, I was lucky enough to try the Rangoli on my first night. Fantastic! I then proceeded to eat there every night except for one when I tried a highly recommended seafood restaurant at the Old Markets. The food at the Rangoli is just divine. And, I found it to be very affordable; a curry, rice, and a couple glasses of wine only set me back about US $25. Excellent value. Service and food couldn't be faulted. The night I ate (at what was supposedly one of the best seafood restaurants) at the Old Market, I was very disappointed. As usual, the Arabs tend to over salt their food, so the squid or calamari I had arab style was salty, and unpleasant. I did try the pool restaurant at the Moevenpick a couple of times for a sandwhich / pizza but the food was average. Good for kids, with the stock standard french fries, etc. But if you want a really good meal than look no further than the Rangoli. My absolute favourite was the Chicken Tikka Marsala - Yum! Oh, and the view - it would have to be one of the best in Sharm! I travelled alone but was perfectly happy here amongst couples, and families with older children. If you are a couple looking for a romantic evening, and view, than ask for a table outside on the balcony overlooking the Red Sea and enjoy. Just divine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank niki_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent view and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

During our stay at Sharm, we visited Rangoli to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were impressed by the delicious Indian food and overall service at a reasonable price ( £35-40 for a couple with drinks). The restaurant also has an excellent view overlooking the beautiful sea and the glittering Sharm night life. Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it! If you are not a big fan of Indian food, would still recommend it for the picturesque view!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saujanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent. Beautiful setting. The best Indian food ever. Well worth the climb. The chef worked in the best restaurats in India. food was subtely spiced so the flavours really came through. Excellent service. The staff made good recomendations to us. We always visit when in Sharm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good indian- excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a chef who was from India and made awesome curries! enjoyed the starters and the mains and nothing was any trouble! even got me chips that wasnt on the menu!

the service was very good- a bit on the expesive side but well worth it as the food really is very nice!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank salmapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rangoli also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Rangoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing