We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of England in Egypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Half Crown

The Half Crown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
colchester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Slice of England in Egypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Next door to All Seasons Badawia Resort in Hadaba. Good food, imported and local spirits. BBQ on a Friday night only £2 per person for all you can eat. Food was plentiful and very tasty. Always seems busy and frequented by the ex pat community as well as holiday makers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luckilucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    14
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

excellent service, warm, friendly, welcoming place, highly recommended. Will definitely be back when visiting again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doric26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Throw back to the dark days”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This bar is situated in a very dark derelict area behind il Mercatos Main Street. We tried to find it on foot but in the end caught a cab and the driver eventually got us there after asking other cab drivers where to go.
Upon arrival it was like walking into something from a bygone era.
There was a strong smell of urine masked by the dense blanket of smoke that engulfed the whole place.
As we had made quite an effort to find the place we decided to stay and watch the football.We found a table beside the door which we wedged open in order to try to breathe some clean air.
All was well until two local expats came in and asked for the television to be turned over to watch rugby.
A very rude scottish lady (who was obviously inebriated) got the remote and turned the tv over without even asking if we were watching the football.
I am assuming she is the landlady at this point and went over to the bar to ask why she had done this.
Her reply amazed me.
" If you don't like it go somewhere else I am not bothered about your custom"
Needless to say we left and got another cab to the tavern2 which is close by where we we're treat very well by attentive friendly staff.
My final advice if you still decide to go to the half crown is to take a gas mask and don't go specifically to watch football as you may well be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mal2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

John from Leigh stayed in hadaba in December and found this great little English bar good food great staff and friendly atmosphere Lynn and Nigel were great bar staff the BBQ on Friday is great food and all for £ 2 u can watch all the sports overall a good place to visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yagsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

great pub lyn fantastic beer cheap BBQ friday a must and sunday roast will be a regular every time i go to sharm see you all soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Half Crown also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to The Half Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing