We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH A VISIT”

The Heavenly Cathedral
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WORTH A VISIT”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friends and I were told to have a look at the cathedral by an Egyptian man we met and it was the best decision of the holiday. We walked into the church grounds weary but as soon as we got in, it was the most beautiful church Ive ever seen. A church guide greeted us and gave us a tour and I was so overwhelmed, I cried. Absolutely amazing, Ive never seen a church like it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NikolijaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    24
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“July 2014”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

As someone who is not particularly religious, I never thought I would find this as interesting as I did.

Visited during a discover Sharm trip, this was an impressive building.
The building is full of hand painted images, telling the story of the bible, and is truly breathtaking.
There are some amazing stained glass works on show also.

The guide inside on our visit was a bilingual fellow, who was full of information and very into his subject matter, I was very impressed.
Definitely worth a look in.
They do have some dodgy models of Jesus on sale in the shop on site, which were somewhat odd!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lukeleptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christian Church”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful example of an Egyptian Christian church, actually two churches as another in the basement. Fabulous stained glass and painted ceiling. Excellent guide who was extremely knowledgeable and happy to share.

Note the facilities are basic, so take your own toilet tissue

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CrownJulesOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids will love this”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Several attractions to see here from dinosaurs to illuminated characters. Beautiful gardens - looks great at night - kids will love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was a brilliant experience to go there in Easter with my friend. Awesome architecture and paintings. Bible lecterns are brilliant. If you're an architecture geek, you have to visit this awesome place, if you're looking for getting brilliant photos, you have to go there :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahaa_Shaaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heavenly Cathedral also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to The Heavenly Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing