We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!!!!!!”
Review of Sharm Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Ranked #80 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am just back from Sharm Plaza and again (3rdvisit) I had a great time. I normally travel with my husband but this time I travelled with my daughter & 4 year old granddaughter and must say I was a little apprehensive, incase we got any unwanted attention being an all female group, but we were treat extremely well and were well looked after by all the staff, especially Rafat. The staff worked so hard to make us feel special, and they achieved this, without a doubt.
I do agree the food in the main buffet restaurant needs some improvement, but the a la carte restaurants are fab, and yes some items are at an extra charge, but are well worth it.
I do think at lunch times the children should be able to get something like pizza & chips to eat as not a lot cater for younger children.



I will be returning January and cant wait. I ams
This hotel caters for a lot of nationalities, not just the Brits, and I think they do a tremendous job.
I for one will be returning in January next year, and cant wait. The jetty & fish are amazing, and my 4 year old granddaughter loved them, and I know she and her mum will also be returning as soon as they can.
KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK, EVERYONE,!!!!!!
Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mandy S,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write this detailed piece of information, which gives an overview to our future guests and consequently help them choose our property. It was really a pleasure having you with us.

It is the commitment from all the team to exert our utmost efforts to make your stays with us memorable and enjoyable.

Sincerely yours,
Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 3,441 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked this hotel as a last minute break and we spent a week here in early August 2014. I have been to Egypt twice before and whilst I don't go to Egypt for the food this place is pretty dire and the worst hotel I've stayed in with the exception of some of their ala Carte restaurants.
The main buffet restaurant had a very shabby feel to it and neither the tables or chairs were very clean and most of the chairs had seen better days and you were lucky not to fall through them. There was little choice on offer unless you like chicken and rice (every night) and the food was only ever luke warm and they frequently ran out of things.

We had lunch at the C-view and Shish restaurant by the beach which was just terrible unless you like cold burgers and hot dogs and soggy chips as this is basically all they offer and the waiter service is very sloppy. We even gave the C-View restaurant a go in the evening as this is one of the ala carte restaurants. I have to say it was probably the worst meal I've ever had so much so I had to send it back as the chicken and potatoes were stone cold!

We also ate at the Lebanese restaurant and the Italian restaurant and this was a totally different dining experience. Good food and great service. It's amazing the extremes this hotel has in restaurant experiences. The problem is you have to book these restaurants 24 hours in advance and there are not always spaces so you have to be prepared to suffer a buffet restaurant meal several times throughout your stay unless like we did, got a taxi into Soho Square to have a decent meal.

The rooms albeit basic, the beds were very comfortable and we both slept very well throughout our stay and the air conditioning was a dream.

Snorkelling is also very good just off the jetties.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ibram 66,

Thank you for have taken the time to share your previous holiday experience with us. We would like to say that we highly appreciate the constructive criticism you have given us. We will do our outmost to improve our standards to be able to increase the level of satisfied guests further more. We feel sorry to hear that we did not meet your holiday expectations this time, but we certainly hope that you will give us a chance to do so in the near future.
Sincerely yours,

Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I booked this last minute and were pleased with the price,when we arrived the restaurant was closed so was offered salad breads and cold meats,we found the room clean with air con and for most of the week very quiet. We enjoyed eating at various restaurants in the evening mainly Lebanese,the staff were all very polite and banter with the waiters made a relaxed and enjoyable week. The reef off the jettys was what we came for and it was amazing,we saw turtles spotted rays nepolian wrass and loads of fish and corals,wedid trips to Tiran island and ras mohammed,both are worth a day out ,the resort itself is very Clean and the grounds are well kept,overall I'd recommend this hotel,we have booked to come back in December with family :-)

Room Tip: Room 9112 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Melanie B,

Thank you for filling out a review on Trip Advisor and for recommending our hotel to the readers.

We are indeed glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words and for praising on our quality of service & food, cleanliness of your room and our overall services & facilities.
Thank you again for your time, and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Sharm Plaza & Resort in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We visited last year, we found our room to be lovely. Clean tidy and a big balcony. On arrival we missed the evening meal and was served stale bread and horrible potatoes. The Buffett restaurant isn't great, but the Lebanese a la carte & kebab were pretty good. The sea at this hotel is it's biggest plus point, amazing coral and fish. I found the staff hit and miss, some were fab others just couldn't be bothered. If you got towels in your room you where lucky, one day we called 3 times and they still didn't arrive. We witnessed 2 bar men virtually come to blows over glasses between 2 bars. We complained once about poor food, service and no towels, the manager was very pleasant and offered a fruit basket. This never arrived!!
In summary it is a lovely hotel if not a little tired, the food at the buffet is not great and the staff are hit and miss.

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank idlikemoreholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Idlikemoreholidays,

Thank you for have taken the time to share your precious and valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay in our hotel, as well as we are taking notice to your constructive criticism to help us becoming even better. We certainly wish that you will visit us soon again.
Thank you for have chosen Sharm Plaza & Resort as your holiday destination.
We wish you all the best,
Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We returned this morning from Sharm Plaza ! We have travelled to Egypt both to Cairo and neighbouring resorts such as Taba on 4 previous occasions.....
3 adults, my husband, 22 year old son and I booked an all inclusive 7 night package to the Sharm Plaza with Red Sea Holidays via QWERTY TRAVEL as a last minute deal. WE got what we paid for return flights with Monarch, transfers to and from the airport and all inc food and drink!!! The one specific request we had was that the triple room had a full bed and not a pull out sofa - this was arranged by the agent.
Many reviews moan about it not being AI, it is! you can pay for extras if you want them!! Having used numerous AI hotels around the world most like the Sharm stop serving free beverages at 11pm - what is the problem, if you want to drink longer pay for the drinks or go to a hotel that serves till midnight!
The hotels main restaurant is amusingly, organised chaos, there is plenty of food to choose from (fresh fruit, range of carbohydrates, meat dishes and vegetables/salads) there is always a chef cooking something on demand; kebabs, steaks, fish etc so if you don't like food that's been under the lights eat there! - my observation was that with the number of guests they just cannot accommodate the number of sittings and hence you will find cups, glasses and plates somewhat too efficiently whisked away! The hotel offers meals in several additional 'a la carte' restaurants - don't expect true a la carte service or food - take it for what it is an overflow from the main restaurant, however saying that we ate at the Mexican, Pizzeria, Shish and al Hawara, the last 2 being very tasty with good service. All a la carte restaurants need to be booked 24 hours in advance - TIP go at 8am to make reservations as they fill up quickly! The waiters and all staff are always courteous, smiling and eager to please, I have found that being polite and friendly will earn you the same response.
The hotel has many pools we had a room (5121) facing the Roman Pool a great location with easy access to all facilities! Towels provided on a daily basis in exchange for cards given on check-in, beds are FOC, both by pools and on man-made beach. If you want attentive service a tip goes a long way and the waiters will most definitely look after you!
The pool by the beach is where we enjoyed ourselves- close to the snorkelling and entertainment - boules, darts, yoga, aqua gym and water volleyball if you wanted to indulge all led by the entertainment team who were friendly, energetic and enthusiastic! If you want a quieter pool go elsewhere - don't moan like many did about being hit with a ball!! Watersports and diving all available with competitive prices. Snorkelling off the reef is excellent and even for those who just wont put their head in the water there is soooo much to sea with fish swimming right up to you, just knee deep in water which is crystal clear!
The hotel has approx. 144 steps from reception to beach front, we certainly worked our calf muscles and not for the unfit or those with disabilities! In 44 degrees Celsius heat a challenge at best! You have been warned.
Internet connection is available in the reception area (although very sporadic, think of it this way you are in the middle of the desert!) best signal outside on the benches!!
The hotel is clean throughout, the rooms are cleaned daily and towels changed as and when you wish - I would say that if you remember this is Egypt not the Balaerics or Spain and certainly cannot be compared with a Turkish AI hotel - you will appreciate the culture, people and food - remember for Egyptians tipping, bartering and 'hassling' is a way of life - embrace it and you may just enjoy your holiday!!! Bon voyage!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank HEFF1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear HEFF1234,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on tripadvisor.com. Its gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to deliver an impeccable holiday experience as this is what we are here for and this is what we love doing.

Thank you for your positive comments in regards to the resort's service and facilities. Our target is to satisfy our all guests’ needs and to exceed guests’ expectations whenever possible. Indeed, it was a great pleasure to know that our teams in all the departments have managed to create a truly nice holiday experience for you.

We all look forward to welcome you at Sharm Plaza & Resort as a repeater guests, please let us know if there is anything we can arrange for you or help with even before you travel again in the future.
We wish You all the best,
Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Waiters n bar staff miserable ... Entertainment team and hotel rep lazy... Rooms pools decor and setting and views wonderful... Food absolutely inedible. We ate bread and butter all week. Overall a beautiful hotel but im staaaarrrbvviiiiing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear RoyBaxter,

The entire team of the Sharm Plaza & Resort was regretful to read your perception of the resort, which did not comply with your expectations. We are sincerely sorry that we were not able to make your stay a big success as we have done with thousands of other regular guests as well as the first -time visitors.

We will continue with full power and motivation to strive for excellence - hopefully, you will notice a difference during your next stay. I hope we will have a pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort.
Sincerely yours,

Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Fab hotel and nice food. Clean rooms animation team are friendly. The pool is clean the beach is lovely everyone in the hotel are friendly. The hotel is very big and there lots of things to do lots of shops in the hotel and lots of different eating places in the hotel. And there are 6 wonderful pools what are very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daisy645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRteamsharmplaza, Guest Relations Team at Sharm Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Daisy645,

Thank you for filling out a review on Trip Advisor and for recommending our hotel to the readers.

We are indeed glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words and for praising on our quality of service & food, cleanliness of your room and our overall services & facilities.
Thank you again for your time, and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Sharm Plaza & Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sharm Plaza & Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
2 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#98 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Resort Hotel
Sharm Resort Hotel
#122 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,537 reviews
4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
#67 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,685 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sharm Grand Plaza
Sharm Grand Plaza
#17 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Plaza Hotel

Address: Pasha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly The Sharm Plaza)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#61 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting small blocks of whitewashed buildings, decorative arches, water features, secluded corners and private grottos, the Sharm Plaza evokes a typical north African village feel. The rocky coral shore is punctuated with beach terraces that offer the perfect place to soak up the sun and develop a healthy appetite to enjoy the many à la carte restaurants. It’s a perfect choice whether you seeking a quiet corner to catch up on your holiday reading or a more active adventure such as snorkelling from the jetty on to the famous Far Garden reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sharm Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sharm Plaza Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Crowne Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Crowne Plaza Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing