We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultan Gardens Resort
Ranked #19 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Just returned from Sultan Gardens.
Pros:
Short transfer - only 10 mins from airport but hotel not affected by flight noise, especially.
Clean - the room was alway kept spotlessly clean as was the hotel in general
Attentive, friendly staff - any issues were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Staff were very helpful. Mohammed, the guy who looked after the quiet pool, was particularly helpful - not just on the normal pool stuff but also looking after people in general. A good guy - management take note.
Room - we were really pleased with the family suite/room. Spacious and clean.
Snorkelling is good.

Neutral:
Food - It was generally fairly good, however, anyone who has experienced a Riu or similar in the Carribean will be a little dissapointed. Fresh fruit juice is extra.
Entertainment - I have never really got hotel entertainment - but that's probably just me. In the carribean its Micheal Jackson impersonators at Sultan Gardens it was ok but its generally not our bag.

AI alcohol - usual AI fare. Beer ok.

cons:
Nothing really negative. Flies are a pain and seem to get worse as the day progresses.

The beach gets pretty crowded and is a hike. However a bus service runs around the hotel which will take you to the beach.

Beach is a grit rather than a sand. Not a lot you can do about that.

Generally, we had a nice relaxing holiday. I wasn't sorry about the choice but equally wasn't blown away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TopFamilyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
Dear TopFamilyHols,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will put your feedback to good use in our ongoing efforts to continously improve our product and our services.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,133
    1,358
    408
    130
    58
See reviews for
2,226
2,485
81
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week break at Sultan Gardens hotel and it turned out to be a very relaxing enjoyable break as Sultan Gardens is a great place to stay . Firstly the location of the hotel is very good, only about 10 minutes from the airport so no long transfers which is good and has a great spot with lovely views and access to non stop snorkling down at the beach,accessed via the hotels jetty.

Food at the hotel was of a very high standard and had lots of choice, and as we are particularly fussy this is no light statement. You could have a full meal at breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main hotel restaurant and snacks where available at the hotel pool bar from 12.30 until 5ish along with ice cream from 3pm - meaning if you didnt want a full lunch you can just stay at the pool and make the most of the sun. In the all inclusive package you can also dine in the hotels italian restaurant 2 times per week which is booked with the hostess in the main restaurant and you can choose from around 5 set menus. The food was of an excellent standard and plenty choice to satisfy all. Just make sure you book early as it can get busy quickly.

The service in the hotel was top notch, requests to reception where met immediately and waiters in the main restaurant were particuarly good. The only point I would say is that the pool bar staff could have been more observant on who was due to the be served next and be a little bit more friendly but this may have been an affect of it being ramadan and them having to work in the high temperatures.

The night entertainment in the hotel was really good, particularly the main host who I believe was called coco from Tunisia - he was outstanding there wasnt anything he couldnt do and a real asset to the hotel. We didnt have any children with us but the hotel would have been great for kids, the childrens entertainer looks like she was so much fun and the childrens pool looked great also.

We had a junior suite with a sea view which was a really good size and cleaned to an excellent standard every day. The only one thing I would say about the room was that the finish of the interior wasnt of the highest standard but this didnt affect our stay and can imagine with such a large complex this can be difficult to achieve.

Couple of pointers to help during your visit to Egypt, make sure you take mosquito repellant with you or get it from the hotel pharmacy as soon as you get there - one can will last you for at least 2 weeks and so long as you spray yourself regularly, particularly at night and you should eliminate any bites - believe me for someone who is prone to bites it works wonders. Also take plenty sun cream with you, the high temperatures mean you go through a lot.

One last thing to tell you is that we did a trip to Cairo to see the pyramids, sphinx etc, this involved taking a late night bus journey and sleeping on the way as it is 6 hours away from Sharm, thought this was going to be a nightmare but turned out to be fine and well worth the trip and when in Egypt you have to go see the pyramids.

All in all really nice hotel and would recommend to all

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lifra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We are a party of 5 (3 kiddies, 9 ,9 ,and 7) and have just spent two weeks at this fabulous hotel, Flew back on the 10/09/09
The resort is massive with large pools, kidies slide, immaculate gardens and spotlessly clean public areas.
We stayed in a family room which had a view of the sea and pools 2 and 3. The room itself had a separate double bedroom for the adults, with the kiddies beds being in the main part of the room. Each room had a tv and an independent air conditioning unit. These rooms were also kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis.
I think what makes this place so special is the extremely hard working, polite and friendly staff from the cleaners, gardeners, waiters to the chefs and by no means last, the owner Basel. A little thanks by the way of a small tip goes along way but by not giving one would certainly not affect the service you are given / offered.
I would like to thank numerous people but can't remember all the names (Sorry!) except for Ahmed Bawdy (top man and i will send you the photos), mohammed Hosny, very poite and helpful, the guy around pool 1 who used to supply me with the water pipes and of course ''minnie mouse'' who runs the kids club and has the patience of a saint (our Emily, Jack and Ben will miss you very much).
The food is great with a large choice to cater for every need - we didn't have a bad meal during the whole holiday.
It is no surprise that it won the Trip Advisor award - well deserved
We enjoyed it so much will are coming back next year and are bringing others with us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shorty37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2009
Dear shorty37,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens and for posting your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

i read before i went away someones review claiming that the hotel may be writing reviews on here to bump the rating up, i think this is true. dont get me wrong it is a nice hotel but is let down massively by a great deal of things, first of all all inclusive policy is the worst i've ever been to, it runs from 10am - 12midnight. at 9.58am we were refused a coke and had to stand at the bar for 5 minutes and wait! there is also a disco which runs on after midnight, this is a rip off, you have to pay for drinks and it is much much dearer than naama bay, also you cannot take drinks in from the other bars! all inclusive mini fridge included 1, yes 1 bottle of water. you could only get ice cream from 3pm - 5pm. there are 3 restaurants, 1 of which believe it or not you have to pay for! spa is a rip off, quoting its prices in euros, when at checkout they will convert at a poor rate to egyptian pounds, main restaurant was inconsistant and we would often find ourselves scratching round for food we actually liked, you could get into the other 1 free italian restaurant max once a week. entertainment was bordering on shocking, either an egyptian singer murdering songs or some rubbish poorly put together show. i wanted to use the phone, £2.50 a minute, dearer than my mobile, internet is £4 per half hour. on the other hand if you dont mind being semi inclusive, the pools were great ( 4 of ) one of which was a quiet zone if you wanted to chill and another with music if you didnt, you could always get a lounger, rooms and complex were spotless and cleaned to a very high standard and the staff ( majority ) were very very friendly and helpful. ignore any letters about building work they are very quiet and you never hear them. its not that i was that bothered about the hotel but it definately doesnt deserve to be rated where it is, it is an average hotel same as most of the all inc hotels we visit

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
Dear boxbaby,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We are sorry that the resort was not up to your expectations.

We are also sorry that you were expecting something different with regards to the all inclusive formula. As every hotel in Sharm has its own unique AI formula you would have benefited from checking what the formula entailed before making your booking. All of our agents and partners have the formula readily available and acquiring a copy is as simple as contacting them, reading it on their websites, or emailing the resort. We firmly believe that our AI formula offers high quality and the best value for money, both on its own, and in comparison with equally priced five star resorts in Sharm.

All that being said, we wish you would have taken a moment to let us know about your disappointment while you were in house as we would have spared no effort in making you happy and making sure you enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you again for choosing the Sultan Gardens and we hope you will consider us for a future visit to Sharm.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Our fourth visit to Egypt and our second trip to Sharm. We had a fantasic holiday in this good quality family hotel. The diving was the highlight! The dive centre has been criticised in the past but we couldn't fault them. The manager, Andrea has just invested in new equipment and all the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The shore dives were very pleasant and we were lucky enough to see a hammer-head shark just 10m deep! Plenty of marine life to see (turtles, morays, tuna) without the congestion of the boat diving which unfortunately is now the norm. A big thank you to Andrea, Temo and all the staff at Shamandura for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2009
Dear SueWestSussex,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a positive experience with our diving center.

We hope to host you again soon and remain at your service.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

If this is the 4th best hotel in Sharm (according to trip advisor) i am Tony Blair! The hotel was a massive disappointment. The food was beyond awful, the service was rubbish, the hotel is dated-def not a 5 star resort more 2 star. If you do go i would also say beware of the flies! They are everywhere, combine them with the awful food and it is a total health hazard!

The hotel makes out on the website that there is a a variety of restaurants-whereas in fact there is only really one!

If you want a rubbish hotel with awful facilities, food and staff this is the place for you. I can not believe the other reviews on trip advisor-these people must of stayed at a different resort

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saffy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2009
Dear saffy23,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort for your recent holiday. Clearly you did not enjoy your stay, and we are sorry to hear this. We really wish you had simply let us know that you were disappointed as we would have spared no effort in making you happy, or even helping you find another hotel that would have been to your satisfaction as our excellent resort was obviously not the kind of property you were looking for.

Best Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed in SG resort for a week at end of Aug. It was an ok holiday but I really cant understand why this resort is rated so highly on TA. It certainly isn't european 5 star - more like a good 3 star resort.

Positives:
- Management and Staff are on the most very accommodating asd firendly. I've asked to change the room and they were only too happy to help
- None of the staff hounded us for backsheesh. This is a very welcome change from the airport.
- Good house reef, and access to them from the beech was easy
- Public area (pool, garden and lobby) were all imaculately kept
- Free shuttle transfer to airport
- Room was spacious and single bed the size of small queen sized bed. Bathroom was also clean good size. Some sea view rooms had beautiful view of the red sea, Tiran Island and sunrise!
- Beech side hut providing lunch & snack was a good idea, although the selection is limited compared to the main restaurant

Neutrals:
- AI drinks were ok, although no frsh fruit juice. They also do have limited cocktail options but frankly majority of them were disgusting. Beer (local, sakkara) was decent, but vodka and local wine were akin to paint stripper
- Food was ok - no match against some of the 5 star hotels I've stayed though. They do try and vary the meals some what but essentially all very similar. Full marks for serving home made pasta although their chefs spoil it by over cooking them a little. Sweets section was very good with many selections, but dont expect the kind of quality you get from pastriers in Paris
- Set menu italian restaurant was ok. I'd be disappointed if I paid for them but given you can eat there twice during the stay for free, I think it was ok. There is no air-con in the italian, so I'd recommend the 9pm sitting

Negatives:
- Flies, flies and flies! We were under constand barrage of attack from the flies, day or night, poolside or down the beech. This was so annoying we just couldn't relax at all and the majore down fall of the resort.
- Mosquitos/insect bites. My wife counted 62 bites on her on the day we left. I know they cant completely eliminate all insect life but this is just ridiculous.
- Beech wasn't very big and also shinglely. Most of the sun beds by the beech was taken by 9:30am, and as a result we couldn't spend as many days by the beech as we wanted.
- The resort is set on a big slope and you would have to battle many stairs to get from beech to the reception. It took good 10min walk and lots of sweats. They do provide shuttle transfer but do you really want to be limitted by this on your own resort?
- Our air-con was just about strong enough to keep the room cool enough. It often stopped working and on our last day, it didn't give any cool air from 5:30am. Consequence was a ruined day due to lack of sleep abd sticky skin!
- Water pressure in the shower was next to none. And flushing the toilet was a bit of struggle too.
- TV was old CRT affair with frizzy picture and sound often got distorted
- "Junior Suite" is essentially a family room with separate living and pull out sofa. Room itself is ok but not really worse paying, especially as none of them have good view of the sea/Tiran island
- Noise from beech penetrated the room from the pool side entertainment and on one night from the beech disco which lasted well past mid night
- No complementary service to Naama bay. Given there is no life in the walkable distance from the resort, you dont have much choice but to pay for a bus/taxi. It took about 20 min on the bus to get to Naama
- Only 1 bottle of water/room per day. The rest you'd have to buy from the bar or rehydrate as much as you can from the bar before retiring to the room. Not great in 40C heat
- No explanation of the resort from the staff. You do get a written information upon checking in but doesn't explain everything
- We did get minor food poisoning towards end of the week. Wasn't bad enough to spoil the holiday but we could have done without. I know this isn't sun sroke or dehydration as I am medically qualified.

So over all there are just too many negatives to recommend the place as a good resort for me.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RisingZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkhedr, Owner at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2009
Dear RisingZen,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We are sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and we will use your feedback to better ourselves and our services.

We would like to address your negative comments and will begin with the comment about the flies as we feel that this does not give an accurate view of our resort due to external factors beyond our control. You see August is fly season and while we do have a proffesional pest control company working around the clock we are in the unfortunate situation of having two resorts being built around us which do not have any pest control of their own, and have managed to compile large amounts of garbage on their properties, which are proving an excellent breeding ground for flies, who in turn are attracted by all the greenery and food on our property. We have complained of this several times but it seems that no resolution in forthcoming. In any case this will become a non issue in a a week or two, but we thought it important to point out that we have made every effort to solve this problem.

You mention in your review that the beach is small but it is nearly 400 meters long. Also we have more sun beds than guests and at every towel station there are signs informing guests to simply ask recreation if they need a sun bed, so there certainly is no reason why you could not get sun beds after 9:30.

The hotel is built on a slope and being a large resort, that means there is some walking involved, but any able bodied person should be able to walk the resort without difficulty and the internal shuttle bus you mentioned operates every 15 minutes so there is no inconvenience involved in waiting for it.

We are not sure what you are referring to when you mention that noise from the beach and pool side entertainment penetrated the room one night as we only have one weekly beach party and we make it a point to keep the music level at a point where it does not reach the rooms. The largeness of the resort is very helpful in this matter. In terms of evening pool side entertainment, we do have the Egyptian Folklore show and the live singer, as well as Karaoke fridays, but these are all around the pool closest to the main building and end no later than midnight.

Guests do get one bottle of water per day in their rooms as part of the AI but all the bars have water dispensers and guests are free to help themselves.

We are sorry that you encountered problems with your AC and TV and appreciate that with 520 rooms that are in constant use it is possible for such things to happen. We feel that the mark of a good resort is in how you respond to such inevitable problems and if we had been informed of these problems I am sure we would have rectified them immediately.

As for the resort comparing to a 3 star hotel in Europe, we would only say that hotels are different all over the world, and while we disagree with your conclusion, we appreciate it remains your opinion to have and would point out that our 5 star all inclusive hotel in Sharm is cheaper and offers much better value for money, than any European 3 star we are aware of.

Thank you again for choosing the Sultan Gardens and if you have further feedback please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.7 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#63 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#9 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,563 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#48 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Gardens Resort

Property: Sultan Gardens Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Sharm El Sheikh 46199, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sultan Gardens Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest resorts on the Red Sea; The multiple Award winning, certified Eco Friendly, Sultan Gardens Resort in Sharm el Sheikh is your ideal All Inclusive holiday destination in Southern Sinai. The resort boasts 220 meters of private sandy beaches, beautiful coral formations, and an unrivaled view of the stunning Tiran Island. The resort also features five large, freshwater swimming pools as well 550 guest rooms ranging from the comfortable and spacious Standard rooms, to the luxurious Premium rooms and suites feasting in room Jacuzzis, all the way to the ultimate option of holidaying in your own private beachfront villa. The Sultan Gardens Resort is not just about great rooms, gorgeous pools and an unbeatable location. Everyone involved in Sultan Gardens Resort’s success is a firm believer that dining is an integral part of any holiday and recognizes the importance of offering delicious, exciting food coupled with inspired service. Guests will be impressed with the wealth of choice on offer whether they are dining in one of our six award winning themed restaurants, enjoying themselves at one of our 9 bars, or taking advantage of 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sultan Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Gardens Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Gardens Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing